Shannon & Chewy
Member Since 2022
Hello all. I've been lurking around for a few weeks trying to get my bearings as a new mom to a diabetic orange tabby, Chewy. My baby had been healthy up until this past year. I adopted him 6 yrs ago when he was ~8 yrs old. Late last year he was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. A few months later he showed signs of kidney disease and at the end of July was diagnosed with diabetes.
I have been searching for the right diet for Chewy. I tried all of the kidney diets (which I know are not great for diabetics) and the only one he will eat is Blue Buffalo. I've since learned that is a terrible choice and will start him on Weruva. Chewy will eat about 1/2 can of wet food a day and the rest is dry food. Over the time I've had him, he will eat can food pretty good and then all of sudden will refuse to eat it. My other two orange tabbies are equally fussy.
My current vet does not seem to know how to properly dose my cat. He started Chewy at 2 units and then moved him to 3 units when his nadir was 326. I know I need to have slower dose changes and test more frequently. It's nice to have a place where I can talk with other pet owners and feel more confident about how to take care of Chewy on his next big adventure.
Btw - anyone know how to change your profile name. I see no one else is using their full name.
I have been searching for the right diet for Chewy. I tried all of the kidney diets (which I know are not great for diabetics) and the only one he will eat is Blue Buffalo. I've since learned that is a terrible choice and will start him on Weruva. Chewy will eat about 1/2 can of wet food a day and the rest is dry food. Over the time I've had him, he will eat can food pretty good and then all of sudden will refuse to eat it. My other two orange tabbies are equally fussy.
My current vet does not seem to know how to properly dose my cat. He started Chewy at 2 units and then moved him to 3 units when his nadir was 326. I know I need to have slower dose changes and test more frequently. It's nice to have a place where I can talk with other pet owners and feel more confident about how to take care of Chewy on his next big adventure.
Btw - anyone know how to change your profile name. I see no one else is using their full name.