Re: 9/12 Klinger AMPS 204; +2 263 +4.5 439
Hi Marcy,
Joanna pm'ed me to come take a look at Klinger's ss because I have a high dose kitty (with a condition called acromegaly). I use to have Cody on Prozinc and post on PZI frequently, but have been elsewhere lately. I haven't read every post you made, so feel free to fill me in on some missing details.
As many have told you , it is best to start low and increase slowly with insulin BUT
I did notice that Klinger went for over 2 months on Prozinc doses up over 6 units, and that he did respond with a "curve" to those doses. This is a fairly big dose for a normal diabetic cat, and when cats increase slowly and reach doses over 5-6 units, its time to consider WHY... so if you don't mind sharing a bit about your sweet fella...
1) I noticed after about the 3rd week of 7u he suddenly went low. Was he possibly sick at that time? Being sick can lower insulin needs because infection, inflammation, pancreatiitis etc can eat up the sugar, so suddenly the numbers drop.
2) Can you describe his size, appearance, age, weight changes, and appetite ? Does he have a large belly, like he's pregnant?
3) Does he have any other medical conditions that you know about? Has he ever had an US? Any diagnosis of pancreatitis, or urine infection? Do you test for ketones?
4) Does he have anything unusual about his breathing, purring or voice? Does he snore?
5) Are you using a human or animal glucometer? readings from human glucometers tend to give lower numbers I think.
6) any behavior changes you have noticed? hiding, avoiding light, sitting in odd postures?
7) tell us briefly about your vet
8) and I'm assuming others have covered the food issues- were these doses on low carb canned food? I noticed the WD, at one point- Pretty sure that's a high fiber, high carb food (that might be appropriate for a CANINE diabetic lol)
You may notice that the FDMB has a special insulin support group for kitties that require higher doses. Heres the link
viewforum.php?f=12
If it turns out that Klinger does best on the higher doses, please feel free to post there. Over about 5u is usually considered high dose, depending on the size of the cat. There are GREAT informational stickies there, and you can ask any questions you may have, and folks can give you the "low down" if you decide that getting him tested, is something you are interested in.
Many of us have felt the frustration of not being able to get out kitties regulated on less than 5u, and it turns out to be a relief to find out WHY, so that we know we can safely give the doses of insulin needed to keep our cats alive and happy.
WELCOME!
