? 9/12/25 WATSON Dosing ? AMPS 254L/222M; +1-328L; +2-289L; +3-282L; +4-262L; +5-254L

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
It's been quite a while since I've posted so hope I remember to do everything right.
I have a DOSAGE question: Watson was increased to 3.75 on August 25th. There have been a few times I've thought about increasing him because he is still mainly in the 200's, BUT, I've also had him go so low before shots that I had to lower his dose 8 times during that period of time. I now have 2 days where I should be around for 24 hours - should I try to increase?
Ugh, dropping just before shot time at 168 at +11

149 at PMPS - I guess I skip tonight’s shot ???
Rosie & Watson

Watson's Diabetes Info
 
Last edited:
It's been quite a while since I've posted so hope I remember to do everything right.
I have a DOSAGE question: Watson was increased to 3.75 on August 25th. There have been a few times I've thought about increasing him because he is still mainly in the 200's, BUT, I've also had him go so low before shots that I had to lower his dose 8 times during that period of time. I now have 2 days where I should be around for 24 hours - should I try to increase?
Ugh, dropping just before shot time at 168 at +11

149 at PMPS - I guess I skip tonight’s shot ???
Rosie & Watson

Watson's Diabetes Info
Hi Rosie, nice to see you and Watson.
I’m glad you gave him something tonight for his shot!
Since he was 149 on your meter and higher on the Libre, he was high enough to give his shot.
With SLGS, you are well above 90 so safe to shoot insulin as long as you can monitor him safely and have higher carbs if needed.

I hope you are both doing well 💝🏄‍♂️
 
Thanks for the Watson post. How is he doing other than his BG numbers? We like to hear how the cat is doing too.

As Staci said, no need to give a reduced dose if under 200. The guidance for under 200 is for brand new people, and that's no longer you. Lantus is great at giving you flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. Try giving the full dose when you are around to keep an eye on him.
 
Hi Rosie, nice to see you and Watson.
I’m glad you gave him something tonight for his shot!
Since he was 149 on your meter and higher on the Libre, he was high enough to give his shot.
With SLGS, you are well above 90 so safe to shoot insulin as long as you can monitor him safely and have higher carbs if needed.

I hope you are both doing well 💝🏄‍♂️
Thanks Staci!
 
Thanks for the Watson post. How is he doing other than his BG numbers? We like to hear how the cat is doing too.

As Staci said, no need to give a reduced dose if under 200. The guidance for under 200 is for brand new people, and that's no longer you. Lantus is great at giving you flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. Try giving the full dose when you are around to keep an eye on him.
 
Thanks Staci!
Hi Rosie, nice to see you and Watson.
I’m glad you gave him something tonight for his shot!
Since he was 149 on your meter and higher on the Libre, he was high enough to give his shot.
With SLGS, you are well above 90 so safe to shoot insulin as long as you can monitor him safely and have higher carbs if needed.

I hope you are both doing well 💝🏄‍♂️

Thanks for the Watson post. How is he doing other than his BG numbers? We like to hear how the cat is doing too.

As Staci said, no need to give a reduced dose if under 200. The guidance for under 200 is for brand new people, and that's no longer you. Lantus is great at giving you flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. Try giving the full dose when you are around to keep an eye on him.
Thanks @Wendy&Neko. Watson is doing well. He get a chemo pill every other week and a liquid steroid daily and he tolerates both very well, although they haven’t made a big difference in the consistency of his stool.
I had been following the rule that said below 50 no insulin and between 150 and 200 a reduced dose or nothing. So since we are more seasoned, I assume it’s no insulin below 90 and a regular doses if it’s above 90 unless I won’t be present to keep an eye on him?
 
Back
Top