9/12/10 Korbel amps 276-higher than normal PMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

jennifer & korbel (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday
worktrip

Well, for whatever reason she's high this am. That is on the new meter also, so the accucheck would probably be up around 310 or so. Not sure what this is about. It was actually closer to +13 for the am shot-but that shouldn't give that much of a bounce? How much play is there in this shed? On the weekends I tend to be about 1 hour or so later than on the weekdays, I try to adjust the nighttime dose also to keep it as close to 12hrs as possible. Is that really enough to mess with the bg?

amps 276 1 unit + 3oz wellness
+2 269
+8 190
pmps 201 1 unit + 3oz wellness
 
Re: 9/12/10 Korbel amps 276-higher than normal

Yup. An hour is enough to effect the numbers. If you are shooting an hour late, it's like a dose reduction during the cycle plus you are at the very end of Lantus' duration so numbers are going up. It also means that when you go back to your work week schedule tomorrow, you're shooting an hour early. An early shot acts like a dose increase.

The prevailing wisdom is that Lantus likes consistency. As much as I truly hate to be up at 6:00 AM on the weekends, that's my shot schedule and it doesn't change for the weekends.
 
Re: 9/12/10 Korbel amps 276-higher than normal

with my first cat, when I was shooting for OTJ, I was really strict about shot times. It does make a difference for most cats. For some cats it seems to make a lot of difference.

With Jazzy, I know she will not go OTJ so I give myself more slack. I probably shouldn't admit that here! I can tell it makes a difference, though. The last 2 weeks I have been much more inconsistent than usual with shot times due to work, guests, illness, etc., and she hasn't had much blue at all. I know I need to work on that, but I hate mornings!
 
Re: 9/12/10 Korbel amps 276-higher than normal

Okay, I guess I'll have to work on that....That really sucks though. When I so much as move, the dogs both decide it's time to wake up and start the day. :twisted:
 
Re: 9/12/10 Korbel amps 276-higher than normal +2 269, +8 190

Interestingly enough, even with the high amps, her +8 is right where it was yesterday?
 
here's my take on the schedule thing... Korbel is a long-term diabetic and probably isn't headed OTJ (though you never know, anything is possible). I think that with a 10 year diabetic, you have to figure out how to manage the diabetes and still have a life. I like to sleep in on weekends too. Maybe there would be less impact on the shed if instead of shooting at +13, +11, +13, +11, you just do +13, +12, +12, +11 (or even better, do two +11.5's at the end).

My schedule this weekend was this (I'm sure somebody will give me noodles for admitting this, everybody do as I say and not as I do!):

Sat. AMPS +13 (8:30)
Sat. PMPS +12 (8:30)
Sun. AMPS +12 (8:30) (it would have been better to do +11.5, but I didn't want to get up yet)
Sun. PMPS +11.5 (8:00)
Mon. AMPS +11.5 (7:30)

When the cat is tightly regulated, you can run into problems doing two +11.5's in a row, but with Jazzy I can get away with it because she is so flat and not very low.

Just a suggestion. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top