9/11-Shakespeare - CAN someone help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok I am raelly starting to go crazy, maybe over analyze....but I think he is getting too much insulin
and not cause his numbers..I think I am keeoing him on 3.1 but I am starting to think that 3.1 and m,aybe 3 is too much....

ok so I gave him 3.1 on Friday night. his numbers was 271 and at +5 he was109....
I unfortunatley fell asleep and his amps was 346!!! crap! guess he went too low.
so he ate all day, kinda like an insulin hangover....when shakes body dumps sugar
he eats a lot the next day.....so I expected his numbers to stay high and really didnt test
a +4 was 222 so I wasnt worried.
today he was 333 at amps....so I shot 3 units....he started eating like a mad man at +2.5 and +3
and I had to go out today so at +4 I checked(figuring he would be high from all the eating)
but he was at 164......and that was after almost a full can of FF...
I have a feeling his body all of a sudden is becoming very sensitive to the insulin
I was thinking of shootting 2.8 tonight.....any input would be greatly appreciated!!
Densie and Shakes
 
Well, your spreadsheet looks like you never hit any greens until you were up over a 3 unit dose.

But, you won’t really know this answer until you try I think. If you are going to reduce, just make sure you are testing for ketones, not that you aren’t already.

We tried reducing and I was more nervous trying that than increasing. But you have to know, so go for it. If you get higher numbers, go back up.
 
Hi Denise,

My opinion, for what it is worth, is that he is doing okay at 3-3.1. His nadirs are lower than he has had at times. But they are still safe numbers. Even the 73 - 84 you got earlier - those are good numbers, not scary ones. You want those kind of nadir numbers.

Is it that you are nervous seeing numbers under 100? I know that can be a little nerve wracking when he has been sitting in higher numbers.

If you can continue to watch and check, I would stick with your dose until you get some lower nadirs, and then just lower by a little.

Hope that someone else is around and can chime in too.
 
thanks guys,
his nadirs are at +8 which is why I am firguring he went too low the other night
the other night with the 73 and 84 I gave him a higher carb food becuase I know his nadirs
are at +8 and he would have gone way too low..
I guess I will give a lower dose a try tongiht and see what happens
thanks
 
Denise. Those numbers look great to me. What is it you don't like specifically? I'll type more later but I would stick with the 3.1
Carl
 
Denise,
You said above that shake's nadir is at +8? Okay, well when I look back at earlier data, there are a few times where his nadir seemed late. But I don't see evidence of that recently. Maybe it's because you haven't gotten a lot of +8 readings, but here's what I'm thinking. In the past, his nadir may have been "late", but not on a consistent basis. Recent tests show a nadir around +6 I think. Maybe in the past there were things going on inside him that caused him to nadir late. I'm thinking that his pancreas is perhaps partly healed, and it is producing insulin "earlier" than it used to.
I guess I'm advising that you don't make assumptions on his current condition without the test data to verify that he still nadirs later than normal. If you run a few tests after +6 and you're still showing that, then you should adjust accordingly.
I think his curve lately looks better. Of course everyone wants and loves to see greens, but today was probably a 75% drop, which is super! I think the only way to bring him down to green nadirs would be to keep with 3.1 and let him heal more, or actually raise (rather than lower) his dose slightly.
He isn't seeing the inverse curves or flatness that would indicate the dose it too high, IMO.
When he climbs, it just seems to be liver panic. Lowering his dose might calm down his liver, but I think you would end up seeing a smaller curve and not necessarily a lower number at PS or at nadir.
Also, don't feel the urgency of "feeding the low" unless you can't avoid doing so. If you see numbers like 50, then of course, you'll be concerned. But 50 is pretty much where you want him to be as often and as long as possible, providing he doesn't go lower. But if you see a green at +5, I'd try to test and hold off to see what happens. I know that can be extremely scary and stressful, but I think it is much more so on "us" than it is on the sugarkitties.

Just my take, everyone feel free to chime in!

Carl
 
Thanks for your input Carl,
here is my thinkin,
I stopped takin +8's cause I know he rides or goes a little lower and I am trying
to cut down my testing...which is why you dont see any +8 lately.
Here is my concern...and it might sound a little crazy, but I have learned that food
means a lot to Shakes...
like today...he was eating like crazy at +2.5 and 3, and I took his blood at +4 and he was 164..
so..with all the food intake one hour prior to me testing...how low did he really go at +2 or +3...
for him to be 164 so quickly....and I believe his amps was333....so that is 50%
drop in 4 hours with a ton of food in him....
he has also been bouncing real high ...which he really has not done since we first started
PZI..he has surfed many blues and greens and has not shot up like he has the last 2 weeks...
he just seems to =be takin in so much food and I just have a funny feeling that it could be because
he is going to low...could be wrong, but I shot 2.9 tonight to see what happens...his pmps was 359
which is just too high for him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top