9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51943

Good morning ~O) ~O) ~O) Not much sleep last night but not much testing. The fire alarm went off after 10pm test. By the time we got back into the building Ollie was a mess. He hates the alarm and it takes everything I have to get him into the carrier and out of the building once he hears it. I won't leave him even if I don't smell smoke. Alarm was due to a fool who decided to light the fireplace and didn't know what they were doing. grr_red grr_red

Today is another day and not sure it involves green for Ollie. I increased to 5.25 units this am. Not sure if he's bouncing from lows yesterday, needs to go to liver training school, or if the fire alarm freaked him out. Time will tell.

Thanks Julie...I had really thought I had the perfect dose with 5 units. :? Vet is calling me tomorrow about the acro tests. I hope we get them done this week.
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373

I believe this may be the first time we've visited your condo :-D

alarms??? omg...binks would jump out of his skin, and then be doomed to walk the earth nekkid!

hope this dose helps Ollie!

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, +3 335, +4 326

Thanks for stopping by Celi, nice to meet you and Binks :-D

Ollie hates the fire alarms more than anything else!

So sorry Binks is back on the juice....may it be only for a short time!
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, +3 335, +4 326

Hello there!

Not sure if We've been around to visit before. Looks like Ollie is a bit of a big gulper. Did your vet test for IAA (Insulin Auto Antibodies) as well as acro?
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, +3 335, +4 326

Sandy...I was hopeing you would stop by! Welcome to our condo. I know Black Kitty was a big gulper too. Any words of experience will be received with gratitude. I like to think I am ok with this but honestly I don't think I am.

Ollie is due to get tested for acro & iaa...hope this week. We had a full vet check up last thursday.

I have heard about Black Kitty and even looked at your spreadsheet. You did a great job getting off the juice! We have floundered. Ollie looks and seems to feel well but we don't seem to get numbers down. Lately I think it's me but not sure what I am doing wrong. We did a dose increase today after what I thought was a perfect day yesterday. High numbers again today. Getting the tests done will help know what we are dealing with.

Have a great day and please don't be a stranger!
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, +3 335, +4 326

Patsy:

I do think there's a possibility that this is a bounce. Just an FYI, you don't want to increase the dose if it's a bounce. A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. If you increase on a bounce, you don't know whether you'll be giving too much insulin once the bounce clears.

Basically, as you see those pinks clearing out, just monitor carefully.

That said, I want to encourage you to not hold on to your doses for overly long. According to the protocol:

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 9/11 Ollie AMPS 373, +3 335, +4 326

Sienne....since I already did (and seem to have a knack for wrong doing lately nailbite_smile ) increase the dose to 5.25 this morning....I should hold it at 5.25 tonight? Even if it is a bounce...hold the 5.25 for 6 to 10 cycles after I see the bounce clear? I should start counting cycles from bounce clears vs start of increase...right? :? :?

:-D Thanks for stopping by....I feel like instead of "getting this" I am losing my mind. @-)
 
nice PMPS. :smile:

Since you're holding this dose, just test, test, test until you see what it can do. It looks like you are usually able to test during the day, which is great. Be sure to get those bedtime tests too. Now that Ollie's numbers are getting more interesting, it's even more important to test so you'll always know what is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top