9/11 Kirby need help dosing.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Also, can you tell me whether Kirby has ever tested positive for ketones or has had any history of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA).

Also, how well is Kirby eating?


Mogs
.
The vet only told me he has sugar in his urine. I do have a copy this was in may. He hasn’t had any medical problems no. He’s just diet changed and hasn’t had dry food in a couple days
 
Factors considered:

* Kirby eating well.

* Not much data yet.

* FDMB 'no-shoot' limit is 200 for cats who don't yet have much data [ETA: human meter reading].

* Mid-cycle BGs available are in a good, safe range - a little bit above top of normal reference range. [ETA: Normal feline BG reference range on human meter is: 50-120mg/dL.]

* No reports from vets of ketones.

* No episodes of DKA (Kirby would have had to have hospital treatment for this, so you'd definitely know if he had had this).

* 121 at PM+10 of last cycle, after dose of 1.0IU dose. Result was late in the cycle.

* AMPS: 190, 2 hours after previous feed.

* Chrissy out at work all day today.

Choices:

If you had been able to monitor today you'd probably have been OK to give 1 unit. HOWEVER, Given that you're out all day today and not able to monitor, and considering the points listed above, I'd suggest skipping the dose this AM cycle because the AMPS is under 200. You could then post for further help this evening.

If you do want to give some insulin, I'd suggest a token dose of no more than 0.25 units but only if you're really confident that Kirby will eat OK and that you can leave food out for him to eat while you're at work.

If it was my cat, I'd skip.

Can you confirm straight away what you are going to do please, Chrissy, because I've got to leave now.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Factors considered:

* Kirby eating well.

* Not much data yet.

* FDMB 'no-shoot' limit is 200 for cats who don't yet have much data.

* Mid-cycle BGs available are in a good, safe range - a little bit above top of normal reference range.

* No reports from vets of ketones.

* No episodes of DKA (Kirby would have had to have hospital treatment for this, so you'd definitely know if he had had this).

* 121 at PM+10 of last cycle, after dose of 1.0IU dose. Result was late in the cycle.

* AMPS: 190, 2 hours after previous feed.

* Chrissy out at work all day today.

Choices:

If you had been able to monitor today you'd probably have been OK to give 1 unit. HOWEVER, Given that you're out all day today and not able to monitor, and considering the points listed above, I'd suggest skipping the dose this AM cycle because the AMPS is under 200. You could then post for further help this evening.

If you do want to give some insulin, I'd suggest a token dose of no more than 0.25 units but only if you're really confident that Kirby will eat OK and that you can leave food out for him to eat while you're at work.

If it was my cat, I'd skip.

Can you confirm straight away what you are going to do please, Chrissy, because I've got to leave now.


Mogs
.
I will skip or else 25%. Most likely skip. Can I follow back with you when I get home. Although it will be 6 pm in the states. Ty.
 
I might not be online that late, Chrissy, but Elise and Red are in closer time zones so they will keep an eye on the two of you. When I am online I will pop in to see how ye are getting on. :)

Hope you have a grand day. :)


Mogs
.
 
I might not be online that late, Chrissy, but Elise and Red are in closer time zones so they will keep an eye on the two of you. When I am online I will pop in to see how ye are getting on. :)

Hope you have a grand day. :)


Mogs
.
I might not be online that late, Chrissy, but Elise and Red are in closer time zones so they will keep an eye on the two of you. When I am online I will pop in to see how ye are getting on. :)

Hope you have a grand day. :)


Mogs
.
I’ll follow up with you and tiff max. Ty.
 
Hi. I’m glad Mogs has helped you this morning. When you get home from work please start a new thread. This one is very long. Link this one to the new one. If you don’t know how, just copy and paste the url or I will when I see it. Have a good day at work.
 
Hi. I’m glad Mogs has helped you this morning. When you get home from work please start a new thread. This one is very long. Link this one to the new one. If you don’t know how, just copy and paste the url or I will when I see it. Have a good day at work.
ok i will try. i will message you when i get home and after testing my cat. thanks about 6.5 hours ill be home
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top