9/11 Jessica AMPS 411

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have you considered increasing by 0.5 units every 3-5 days now given she is on a high dose? I would like others thoughts too..
 
Frankie

It might be time to start thinking about having Jessica checked for IAA and acro. If you PM Wendy/Neko, she is a great resource about acro.
 
Frankie, as Marje suggested, it might be time to think about testing Jessica for acromegaly and IAA. My Neko has both. There is a very quiet High Dose Forum here. It doesn't see much traffic, but there is a lot of information there. A couple of good posts to read are acromegaly basics and overview of high dose conditions.

On FDMB, we recommend that people get their cat tested for these conditions when they get over 6 units of insulin. The two tests are IGF-1 test for acromegaly and IAA test. The tests are only performed at Michigan State University. Your vet will have to get blood samples to be send there. If you talk to your vet about these conditions, be prepared that vets were originally trained that these conditions were very rare and might think it's a waste of time. Recent research has shown it's more common. My vet thought I should wait until Neko got to 10 units before we did the test, we never got that high. Her colleague called them "exotic tests". I knew he though I was wasting my money. They were both more surprised than I was when the tests came back positive. Now my vet has recognized another acromegalic cat in her practice.

If Jessica has one or both of these conditions, the most important thing you can do is to manage her blood glucose like you have been doing. And I agree with the Wendy&Tiggy that it might be time to start thinking about .5 unit increases. At this point a .25 unit increase is a relatively smaller percentage of the dose. If you start seeing a lot of green, then increases can be slowed down to .25 again. Both IAA and acromegaly are resistant to insulin, and you have to be a bit more aggressive to get ahead of that resistance. I wouldn't hold the dose for more than 3-5 days if you aren't seeing progress.

The reason that we suggest getting these tests is because acromegaly has some possible side effects to be aware of. For example, growth of soft tissue in the throat can mean that smaller tubes should be used if the cat is under anesthetic. Acrocats also can have growth in their organs and get a type of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM). My Neko has a slight heart murmur and we had a echocardiogram (heart ultrasound). It turns out the murmur was not from HCM, but now we have a baseline image should the murmur change and we know to monitor it. HCM is often considered a silent killer because there may be no warning signs. However, once diagnosed, it can be treated with medications. I lost a previous kitty to HCM. He had a severe stroke literally days before his echocardiogram was scheduled.

I realize this is a lot to absorb and there is a lot of material to read. Please feel free to PM me if you have questions. I know I had a ton of questions at this stage.
 
Hi all,

Thank you very much for all your concerns and very sorry I didn't response to your emails on time for I'm terribly busy in the office and at home.
The reasons why I delay the dose increase because I saw some progress on Jessica BG level. Please take a look on Jessica BG chart. On 9/12 and 9/13, she got a lot of green starting at +5 up to +9. Just for your information, I’m still feeding her with timed feeder at PM +5, +7 & +10, so the nadir may be much lower than 68. I can sense that 6U to 6.25U may be breaking point for her.
I know that I should not feed her when the impacts of insulin start to diminish. However, I can’t afford not to feed her just in case her BG drops much lower than expected, since I am not available or unable to take the test more frequently.
Wendy, I will definitely PM your concerning IGF-1 and IAA test. My Vet is very old school and probably will think I’m wasting time and money. He may not even know what those test are. So I may need your help to give me more info on how I sure prepare for these tests.
Now, I have some problem with the injection of insulin. The insulin came right out when I injected at the site no. 7, 8 and below. I think because the dosage comparatively large and easing to spill out. (Please refer to my injection site link on my signature links). Now, I have to choose the injection site around the shoulder and the scruff area, which has more loose skin. I’ve try Marje’s roll method but it seems make no difference.
Wendy, I really want to be more aggressive on dose increase but I’m still worry she may has a sudden drop in BG and I’m not available at home to help her. So, please excuse me. Thank you very much for your encouragement to post the question on Tight Regulation Forum and received a lot valuable advices.
Hope everything will get better.

Thank you and have nice weekend.

Frankie
 
Frankie

Great injection site map! Wow...that makes it very clear.

I wonder if you are injecting too close to her spine? I shoot Gracie right behind her front paws in the loose skin, along her side, and right in front of her back legs. But it's definitely more to the side...about 3-4 inches down from the spine.
 
ftsang & Jessica said:
...My Vet is very old school and probably will think I’m wasting time and money. He may not even know what those test are. So I may need your help to give me more info on how I sure prepare for these tests...
Hi Frankie, My heart goes out to you, your wonderful wife and Jessica. Have you considered making an appointment with one of the awesome vets at Bluepearl?
 
Dear Marje, you are 100% right. Yes, I only inject 1 to 1 1/2" away from her spine. Thank you for reminding me. So I will choose an area at least 3" from the spine.

Dear Kate, yes, I'm planning to make a appointment with my Vet Bluepreal in the near future if Jessica BG level cannot sustain in a better range and will arrange to test for acromegaly and IAA that Marje and Wendy recommended.
Thank you very much for your concern.

Frankie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top