9/11 Frodo BG - 55

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

Here's the link to your post from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=125064. I'm just providing it so others can click on it if they want to see what happened yesterday. (I'll also put the link to this new post in your old one. That way, people who go to your old post to see how you guys are doing will be able to "find" you.)

What a wonderful start to the day! That number is perfect for kitties who are not on insulin. Frodo may still have some insulin left in his body from the depot, but you haven't given a shot for almost 24 hours, so the Lantus is slowly working it's way out of his body.

*Edited to add correct link.
 
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

Excellent news! Smiles all around here. We were hoping for a good report. Thanks!
And Thanks for the links and redirect to this post. I would have never known how to do that.
And just wet food today.
 
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

Hi! Frodo's looking great! that little rise to the 130's yesterday was either a mini-bounce or the effects of the dry food earlier. In any case, I want to give you our "off the juice" instructions. Sometimes people disappear, and it's important you know how to care for him after this.

Someone earlier said that cats who've had very low numbers, like Frodo, can be extremely sensitive to insulin afterwards. Keep that in mind if you ever need to give him insulin again. Smaller doses do more.

For now, I'd continue to withhold shots. Let's call this a "trial" and see how he does for the next little while.

Test Frodo twice a day for the next 2 weeks. If he is under 100 at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "shot" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is between 100-200, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

You don't need to post every day, but if you see blood sugar numbers that concern you, do post so we can see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of 100's in the first few days after stopping insulin. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.

Good luck, Ann Meade! You've dodged a bullet and might be one of the lucky families whose cats remain diet-controlled. I surely hope so, for both of your sakes. :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

Thank you for instructions for this test period. When you say normal test times -- what exactly do you mean.
New test: 73 at 10:45.
 
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

I was in the middle of a post to you this morning when we lost power at work. :YMSIGH: Glad to see Julie was able to give you some OTJ instructions, though.

When you say normal test times -- what exactly do you mean.

That would be at the times when you would have given the insulin - 10:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. Just check around those times each day (the times don't have to be exact) for the next couple of weeks.

If you'll keep posting updates of the numbers here, we'll be able to help you if there are any concerns (like the numbers trending up). Please do keep checking in with us, at least every now and then. We definitely want to know how Frodo is doing.
 
Re: 9/11 Frodo BG#

Wow! What a day yesterday! Great job everyone - I love the people here! Hope Frodo continues to show you good numbers without the joos. You're doing a fantastic job with him!

If you go back to your very first post and click on edit, you can add that first awesome 55 to the subject line
 
Yesterday was quite the day. Unbelievable team with lots of warmth -- and I never really understood the importance of telling people "good job" -- it really provided a comfort and it really stood out when I read the posts. A lesson that I will always remember from the people on this board.

I am absolutely not going to disappear and will be posting his tests during this "trial" period. The vet said to test at 9 (before food), and then pull food at 10, and then test at 10:30. And then to repeat this in the evening and then to do a midday test. So i think we will do this until Monday and then go to twice a day. WHAT RANGE SHOULD WE BE HOPING FOR?
 
there is no longer any reason to pull his food. you can test at 9am/pm, and then if he's over 100, feed him a bit and retest in 3 hrs. you're looking for the test 3 hrs later to hopefully return back under 100.

Normal numbers for a cat not on insulin is anywhere from 40ish to 120ish. On insulin, we keep cats above 50 so there is a safety margin, but i've seen cats test in the upper 30's, even, when they are off of insulin (OTJ.) As long as you're seeing mostly everything under 100, Frodo's doing fine. :-D

You did do a good job yesterday - kept your cool, listened to advice and kept coming back to give us updates. well done! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top