9/11 Dexter M OTJ Day 1 AMBG 93 PMBG 103

If you don't shoot, the AMPS or preshot, becomes AMBG (blood glucose).

The link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-10-dexter-m-amps-88-6-63-pmps-101-3-87-4-84-6-83.252763/

Since you are trying a trial, here are the instructions:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!
 
If you don't shoot, the AMPS or preshot, becomes AMBG (blood glucose).

Good luck with the trial!!!

Thank you so much! I know it's earlier than a week of greens, but, I have to try.

Good to know, I thought you were supposed to test more than twice a day! :) His ears & his demeanor towards me should change! On an upside, I figured out how to get a good blood drop each time by moving the spring on the lancet from 4 to 5. I figured it might (doubtful) have a negligible impact on pain but considering it's one and done it'll be worth it to him and me. :) We've been having a bad time getting his ears to bleed lately on 3/4 as we usually use.
 
PMBG 103 - Will retest at 11. Here's hoping he drops into the '80s as usual. Might need to start feeding a snack later than 2:15 PM. He goes ~6 hours without any food.
 
Who is Sofia? Lol

6F6M0aq
Sofi is our other cat, haha. PM +3 89! Maybe I do need to give him a snack ~3 hours before PMBG from now on.

Edit: Unfortunately the image isn't working:

https://imgur.com/a/6F6M0aq
pinTuzs
 
Yes at the bottom :p She is adorable

So, funny story, Sofi is actually a he.

When my fiancé got him before we got together, they took him to the vet and the vet somehow misdiagnosed him as a her. (Obviously, didn't visit that vet anymore haha.)

So Sofi was her name until she went to get spayed, and the surgeon called confused after the procedure and said " The surgery went great, everything's ready, by the way Sofi is a he... "

At this point, he came to Sofi so his "Official" name is Mr. Sofi. :D
 
So, funny story, Sofi is actually a he.

When my fiancé got him before we got together, they took him to the vet and the vet somehow misdiagnosed him as a her. (Obviously, didn't visit that vet anymore haha.)

So Sofi was her name until she went to get spayed, and the surgeon called confused after the procedure and said " The surgery went great, everything's ready, by the way Sofi is a male... "

At this point, he came to Sofi so his "Official" name is Mr. Sofi. :D
Oh yes I remember reading about this in one of your posts, that must have been a shocker
 
Back
Top