9/11 Casey PMPS 149, +3.6 39, +4.5 56, +5 64, +6.5 120-gnite

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Hi everyone,

Sorry I haven't really been around today. Hope everyone had a wonderful Sunday!

As we reflect the 10yr anniversary of 9-11, my heart goes out to any and all that were effected on that day. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50

Wow, Casey....great BG#!! Time for you to eat to slow you down a bit...(4% carb). Was about to go to bed, but I guess I need to stay up a little longer.

Thanks Binks bean, I am proud of her too!
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50

might be a good idea to get a +3.5 here. :mrgreen:
you can also feed about a teaspoon of lc to see if you can get casey surfing just a little bit higher...
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50

Jill, she did eat, however it was a bit more than a teaspon. It was probably between .5 - 1oz (4% carb) before I...interupted her indugence; was feeding both cats and wanted to pick up the civie's food dish first, and by the time I got to Casey, she had eaten most of the 1/4 - 1/3 pre-test prepared food. It has now been about 1/2 hr after she ate and am going to test her now.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.5 39

nailbite_smile Ok....going to give her a little higher carb food.....and test again ??+4?? or sooner?

Edit: Gave her about a teaspoon of 7%, she has been carb sensitive and is not showing any hypo signs, so I when on the air of caution. I did not want to spike her at this point.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.5 39

go ahead and feed some hc (mostly gravy) to that 39, ok?
please retest in 20 minutes...
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, +3.7 164, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.5 39

please give her some gravy from high carb food and test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.6 39, +4 53

She only picked at the 7% carb, but gobbled up the tsp HC (FF Delights w/gravy - chix & chedder...she loves cheese).

She is currently at 53 @ +4, her nadirs has been previously around +4.5. Do I give her more HC at this point? Or just wait and see?
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.6 39, +4 53

I'd err on the side of a small amount of gravy. Chances are that numbers will wobble around. In addition, you've already earned the dose reduction. There's nothing left to prove tonight.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.6 39, +4 53

Ok, Sienne, I will give her some more HC in small amounts. I also brought out the pen-light to incourage play, in addition to help watch/spot for hypo signs. I am please she was able to follow it without any problems. :mrgreen:

As for the reduction for tomorrow, last time she had a reduction to 1u, it did not stick/work...her #'s kept rising. So...Should I reduse her dose to a "fat 1u" or reduse by the full .25u? I figured that if she stays below 100 at AMPS tomorrow, I would definitely give no more than 1u.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.6 39, +4 53

That was a pretty significant drop by +3. Generally, with a drop into the 30s, we encourage taking the full reduction. However, if you can be home to monitor, it's up to you how much of a reduction to take. Also, keep in mind that there you will still have the possibility of some left over shed action tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3 50, +3.6 39, +4 53

Sienne and Gabby said:
That was a pretty significant drop by +3. Generally, with a drop into the 30s, we encourage taking the full reduction. However, if you can be home to monitor, it's up to you how much of a reduction to take. Also, keep in mind that there you will still have the possibility of some left over shed action tomorrow.
Good points re: availability to monitor and left over shed! I am quite tired and was not thinking along those lines, thank you!!
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3.6 39, +4 53, +4.5 56

Casey is now at 64 @ +5, and I have aready given her 2 teaspoons of HC. She is now eating some hc/7% carb mix, and I at least need a nap. With some hc on board and it being past her usual nadirs, I figured I could take about an hour nap...any thoughts? Would I need it to be less, could it be more??
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3.6 39, +4.5 56, +5 64

usually the idea is that you want to see 2 rising numbers before you assume all is ok. personally, i'd want to see another one over 64 before going to sleep. then maybe one hour nap and recheck her. alternatively, if you're falling over ready to pass out from needing to sleep (all of us have been there) i'd give more food, or at least set food out and sleep for a bit and recheck her.

don't think there's an exact answer - you know her patterns and responses best.

cell phone alarms can really be a life-saver in this kind of situation!

eta - i just got what you were asking with the less/more - punkin's nadir isn't usually til +6ish, so i tend to think that direction, so i would say don't leave her for more than an hour without checking at this stage. that would make me nervous.
 
Re: 9/11 Casey AMPS 275, PMPS 149, +3.6 39, +4.5 56, +5 64

Julie, I think you had the question answered the first time, I re-read what I wrote and even I got confused. :oops: I think I was asking how long of a nap could/should I take...I pretty much was "need sleep now..." I already had food set out and was so tired I delirious.

Just tested her @ +6.5 w/BG 120 and is eating some more of the food I had out for her, so I am going to head back to sleep.

I will remember the "at least 2 rising tests (over 60) before going to sleep.

Thank you everyone for your help and advice!! I greatly appreciated it! Good night, or good morning depending when you read this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top