9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 +1 67 +3 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva and Achilles

Member Since 2010
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24622

Good morning and happy Saturday!

Achilles seems mellow today. He's eaten his breakfast, but not much else to report.

I suspect he may start flirting with some lower numbers today. This is only the 5th cycle at this .5 dose and I'd like to keep him here a bit longer before reducing. Is it advisable to feed him 18% wet food (I'm assuming that's considered HC) to keep him at this dose or shall I stick to below 10% and see what happens, even if it means he goes below 50?
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72

Great amps I cannot give you food advice since I do not know how he responds to carbs Do Lou would sky rocket on me with HC but ECID and I am sure some it helps to surf I am sure someone will come along with better advice for you
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72

If your goal is to keep Achilles surfing and not earn a decrease, you can use whatever level of carb food you want to encourage the surf. I added some gravy to Gabby's food last night with a low pre-shot for just that reason. I also think Lisa's point is well taken -- adjust either the amount or the carb level (e.g., I mix gravy with LC to get more of a MC) to do the job you want based on how your kitty responds to carbs.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116

I'd like to keep him at the dose for at least 10 cycles. This moring's cycle was the 5th, so we are half way there. He loves when I mix the gravy with the LC food, so I think that's the way to go for the time being. As always, thanks for the advice. I need to leave for a bit at his +2, which is when he tends to go low, so HC gravy with LC food it is!
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116

Beautiful numbers for Achilles--I have been out for a few days & he still looks great! Great job!--MC also gives less of a bounce..Good job!
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116 +4 64

Yikes! :o

I left for a few hours and could not get a +2 or +3 and I come home to a 64 at +4!!!

I did leave some HC gravy with the LC food so I'm hoping he didn't go too low while I was out. I suppose this is what he does when I'm at work all day.

This cat is going to drive me nuts.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116 +4 64 +6 68 +11 51 DO I SHOOT?

Achilles hasn't had such a low +11. :o :o

We're scheduled to shoot in 45 minutes. He seems fine and he is waiting for food, but I will not feed until I make a decision about shooting.

What does the protocol call for in such a situation? DO I SHOOT? Or, do I wait and see if he goes up? If so, does that throw off his schedule for his morning shot?

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116 +4 64 +6 68 +11 51 DO I SHOOT?

get the +12 and we'll see whether he is rising.

He had MC at AMPS, LC at +1, and LC/HC mix at +2 and +3, correct? And LC at +6 and +8.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +1 116 +4 64 +6 68 +11 51 DO I SHOOT?

Yes. Plus freeze dried chicken treats at testing time.

I will take the +12 and post.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 DO I SHOOT?

74 at +12. He's on his way up.

I have strips, HC food and I'm in for the evening to test.

Shoot the .5U??????????????
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 DO I SHOOT?

He's on his way up, you shot it this am and he hasn't earned a reduction - so I'd be shooting. Glad you will be home to monitor and you might want to make sure you get a +1 or +2 to make sure food spiking.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 DO I SHOOT?

You shot this this am and had a great surf. I'd be shooting. I'd also be getting a +1-+2 to make sure getting his food spike. Happy testing tonight.

Sorry about the double post - thought the first got zapped. Don't forget you can also control the drop like you did this am with adding some MC or Hc early in cycle if you need
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 DO I SHOOT?

if you're well stocked and can monitor tonight (starting with +1) then I would shoot. I do think Achilles will be earning a reduction soon, so stay on top of the testing.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 DO I SHOOT?

Thanks Joyce.

We've been feeding him a little HC gravy with his LC food at +1, +2 and +3 to keep him from earning a reduction too soon. Unfortunately, Achilles generally does not get a food spike at +2. On the contrary, that seems to be when he drops his lowest.

DH is out of town so I will be doing all the testing tonight. Better put some ~O) on.
 
Re: 9/11 Achilles AMPS 72 +11 51 PMPS 74 +1 67

Heading slightly south at +1. Just gave him some LC food with HC gravy.

Come on buddy, please surf for me tonight.
 
59 at +3.

He's not interested in the LC food, so I gave him a tsp of hc food at +3.

I may have to stick to the MC food to keep him at this dose.

I'll try to get a +4, but he's giving me a hard time now. He wants nothing to do with the testing today despite repeated temptations with his favorite treats.
 
keep trying, you really do have to test when he's in the 50's (especially at +3).

You know, you don't HAVE to hold doses for any certain length of time before reducing. If you're having to fight that hard to keep the numbers up, then maybe you should reduce. Achilles was probably less than 50 today, or at least he would have been without all the high carb food. And he almost certainly will be tonight.
 
Don't forget that sometimes all you need is the gravy from the HC - that's where most of the carbs are anyways. Plus you dont want to get him too full on food if you have to keep feeding.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top