9/10 Zeke - PMPS=217 (AT); +6=175; +10=221

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Well, I guess if his highest BGs continue to exceed 200, will need to increase on 9/13? is that correct? Assuming no <80 of course.

Here's yesterday's condo:
9/9 Zeke
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355. Dose increrase due?

This AMPS is likely a bounce. Patience, grasshopper! Let's see how things go at this dose before anticipating the increase.
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355. Dose increrase due?

I agree with Sienne on waiting to see how this plays out. It may take him another day or 2 to settle down with this current dose. Hang in there... You're both doing wonderfully. :-D
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355. Dose increase due?

I see greens yesterday and given you are using an AT, you dont have a lot of room for him to drop lower which a dose increase may cause. Today is likely a bounce. Let the bounce clear and see where you are at. Thats why the protocol says 3-5 days... it allows for these things. Reminder...

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355; +3=243; TESTING QUESTION

Just wondering what your thoughts are on testing Zeke while in a bounce. I happen to be home today so I could test him hourly. However, is there much to be gained by testing when he has such high numbers? Is it better just to give him a break? Or should I do the normal, nadir and +10, +11 readings only?

Thoughts?

Another question. I'm seriously considering switching to the ReliOn Micro glucometer and using it exclusively. When might be a good time to make the switch? The next time we make a dosing adjustment?
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355; +3=243; TESTING QUESTION

A bounce is usually a good time to give him (and you) a bit of a break from testing.
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355; +3=243; TESTING QUESTION

Good Morning! (...barely...)

Meter question...you can change at any time. Your numbers will look a bit different than with the AT but your pocketbook will LOVE it! Your new low will be 50. I think I've already seen this explained in your condo but my brain has gray hairs growing into it today... :roll: I use the ReliOn Confirm altho' I think I'd change to the micro just because of it's smaller size...strips are the same for both.

BIG HUGS!!!
 
Re: 9/10 Zeke - AMPS=355; +3=243; TESTING QUESTION

Yep you can test less during a bounce, but you need to start testing again when he drops. Since he is dropping though you could probably wait 2 hours now before another test

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top