9/10 Rufus AMBG 78... AMPS 126, + 1 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

What the... er... I'm not shooting that. At any dose. I'll test again at +12.25, just in case it's a fluke number, but unless it's over 130... forget about it, Roo!

I need to feed him, too.
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107

I didn't shoot, and I can't find him right now. :oops: He's not in any of his favorite hiding spots. I should have shot a reduced dose, but I get really nervous about low numbers when I'm home alone (... and I don't drive... and all the neighbors are working). I usually shoot at 7am, so it's way too late for that - isn't it? I'm going to search for him again.
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Alright, 126 at +15... or so the meter said. I had a hard time seeing whether or not it filled all the way. It was difficult to keep him still long enough. :roll:
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

I noticed on 8/12 he was +12=74 and you did not shoot then either. by PMPS time he was 424. Wondering if this will be a repeat of that day...so be prepared for a high number later on I guess.
Maybe next time you will consider giving a reduced dose when he gets a lower AMPS....what would you think about that? I know everyone talks about consistency of the dosing AM/PM and that would allow some insulin in his system at least.
You can always guide the numbers with HC gravy if need be so maybe that is something that we could talk about...what are your thoughts about that?
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

I would shoot IF you can manage being 3 hours off schedule.

One thing to consider. You saw a substantial rise between your AMBG test and your +13. Providing you hadn't fed Rufus (you don't feed if you're stalling), that's a substantial rise in numbers. It tells you that he's heading back up and it's OK to shoot (all things being equal). What you're seeing is that 3 hours after your shot time, Rufus is still heading up. That's very good information for you.

Ideally, you want to try to shoot your usual dose at the usual time. The more experience you get with shooting lower numbers, the easier this will be. the 78 may have been outside of your comfort zone but the 126 is fine to shoot. Next time, you can consider shooting lower than the 130.
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

I'd be fine with a reduced dose - I just don't know by how much to reduce it. He'll have a very high PMBG without it, I know, and it may take a while to get him back on track after that. I did feed, so it looks like he held pretty steady for that 107 at +13. I could shoot now (especially since he's downstairs and relaxed!) and not have a panic attack about it ( :roll: ) I might offer up a snack at about 1pm, since it's in the middle of the feed schedule. I'm pretty good at wiggling my way back into the right timing (if you discount that one time I "woke up stupid").
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Can you shoot this late tonight and tomorrow morning then? You will be able to move it back slowly over the next few days ...
if that schedule is good for you, then I would go ahead and shoot now. Move your PMPS time back the necessary hours...12 hours from when you shoot, okay?
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Sure thing. That feels a lot better than opening up to a 400+ PMBG. Thanks for the backup. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Any time Bee! We will help you all the time...just post any lowish numbers and someone will walk you though it. It is unnerving at first but you will get used to it. Rufus is really trying very hard to get better. I am so glad you are going to shoot....
Now your PMPS will be 12 hours from when you shoot, right?
And if you can get a +1 too and do tests during the day, it would be great data for you on his SS. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Maybe you can change your SS...put that +12 in yesterday's +11 box...and then the other numbers in the notes area for yesterday.
That way you can put the new AMPS for today in the box for today's numbers. Know what I mean?
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

Lol - oh god, playing with the SS! But yes, I do know what you mean. That's easier. (I tend to complicate things unnecessarily for myself :lol: ).

Now... we'll just see if all this "trying to get a dose reduction" business sticks once we bring John-Finn home. (I'm predicting this: angry(2)_cat )
 
Re: 9/10 Rufus AMBG 78, +13 107, +15 126

We have LOTS of beans here with multiple cat homes and have had to introduce a new kitty. And, you can always ask on the Community Board, as well. It's one of the great things about this board -- there's a place for every question and lots of people willing to brainstorm with you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top