9/10 Herman amps 92 +4 126 +7 92

The other thing you might check is anal glands. I’ve had a few in my crew overgroom or get cranky with another cat when they have impacted/full/infected glands.
 
The other thing you might check is anal glands. I’ve had a few in my crew overgroom or get cranky with another cat when they have impacted/full/infected glands.
I’m hoping I can get him to vet tomorrow, calling first thing in morning, I’ll make sure they check his glands. I can’t believe how quickly he’s decimating his poor tail. He’s definitely not happy. Poor little guy. I don’t really think it’s Ralf upsetting him, Herman loves him and is very comfortable around him. I also can’t imagine him being stressed to the point of tearing out his tail and raising bg’s so quickly!
 
Continuing on answers from yesterday:
Are S. boullardi and Visbiome 2 different things, and they are to be given two hours apart? I have Proviable DC capsules, would they be an option?

Changing to a novel protein will take a bit of effort but I’ll start moving on that. Herman does so well on FF and will be hard to keep foods consistently separate.

Is it your option to skip the Leukeran altogether?

I’ll ask my vet about a clean catch, not certain I’d be able to do it though! I’ll try today. If by chance I’m successful , how long is the specimen viable? If I got some today and kept in jar in fridge, would I be able to give to vet Monday if she is ok with it? Or is it something that must be done same day,
Yes, Proviable is an option, a much better one than Fortiflora. You can finish that off first. Visbiome is better though once you are out. By the way, the Proviable paste (not capsules) has kaolin in it which is better for diarrhea.

S. boullardi is a completely different thing, it's a strain of probiotic that is particularly helpful for stopping diarrhea. I gave you a link yesterday to a page on the IBDkitties website that talks about it and dosing. There is an emergency stop dose, plus ongoing. At least in BC, almost all the stores have Florastor, which is one brand. A bit pricey, you might be able to get another brand too, I just never looked.

Unfortunately a lot of the FF have fish in them, even more so now for the cans made in Canada. Just saying that as it's a common allergen, along with beef and chicken. There are a lot of low carb novel proteins out there, they'll just be more expensive. Take a look at the proteins in the foods he's eating now and try eliminating one protein at a time. That's not as effective as making a hard switch to a novel protein, and slowly adding back proteins, but might work in the short term.

I have heard of Leukeran to help really bad cases of IBD, just have never heard of the once every week protocol. Personally I'd try the other approaches first.

As for clean catch, should be fine stored in the fridge overnight. You need to get a sterile container to store it in. When I've had to do it, I got a container from the vet.
 
Back
Top