9/10 Danny AMPS 205, +5 77, +7 76, PMPS 195

Holly and Danny

Member Since 2022
Previous Thread

Danny seems to be doing so much better these days. I think Lantus is really helping him so much. He looks like he's gained some weight finally, his back isn't as bony and his sides are filling out a little more. He sleeps in Happy Cat Loaf pose instead of the dead-animal-on-its-side pose. (He's actually in Cat Loaf Pose as I type this.) Last night we got our first ever green reading (97!!) and I was doing the happy dance in the kitchen lol.

I am concerned that 1u twice per day may be too much for him though since his numbers are declining SO fast. I just checked BG at AMPS +8 which was 76, and his PMPS will be soon. I know we're supposed to hold at 1 dose for a week but I'm afraid it's too much.

Also re: yesterday's post... Hi @Wendy&Neko thank you for the warm welcome. I feel like all I've done since Danny's diagnosis is binge read forums on this website lol there's so much to learn! Just wish there were more hours in the day!! I'm not sure if I should be responding to your comment in this thread or my last one (still trying to learn "the ways" around here) hopefully I'm doing this correct. I appreciate everyone's guidance on here! I have been reading other threads and SS's which I find to be very informative. So grateful for this community. :cat:
 
Hi Holly since you are following SLGS here is what it says
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
So Danny has dropped below 90 he has earned a reduction , your new dose would be 0.75 units for the next dose
Congrats on the reduction
Did you pick up any of the medium and high carb FF Gravy Lovers I gave you in one of your previous posts in case you need to bring his BG up if it really drops too low

@Holly and Danny
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the info @Diane Tyler's Mom

I just did his PMPS which was 195. Since he's earned a reduction can I go ahead and shoot .75u or do I have to wait 30 mins with no food and test again? And yes I picked up the FF gravy lovers to have on hand.

Also, I'm not sure whether or not he should be SLGS or TR. I'm still learning the difference. Our vet didn't really suggest one or the other.
 
I fed him his regular PM meal and gave him a .75u dose instead of the full 1u. Will be checking his BG throughout the night...
 
You can go ahead and shoot that 195. It's close enough to 200 to be within meter variance. Plus I suspect he might bounce. And if you retested again now, looks like 10 minutes since you posted, he's probably above 200 now. The guidance on 200 is for brand new people, over time and with experience you can lower than no shoot number.
 
Back
Top