9/10 Catcat AMPS 308,+2=206,+5=186,+9=73, PMPS 99

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...269-6-249-8-276-10-290-pmps-222-3-149.219146/

so we got a nice blue last night at bedtime -- back to the pink AMPS -- but that doesn't mean yellow all day, often he will dip back down to better numbers, we'll see

Maybe I'm right, maybe I'm wrong
Maybe I'm weak, maybe I'm strong
But nevertheless I'm in love with you
Maybe I'll win, maybe I'll lose
And maybe I'm in for crying the blues
But nevertheless I'm in love with you
 
+2 = 206

food spike kicking in, Lantus onset working, going in the right direction at least, and given "meter variance" it's ALMOST blue

will see how it goes, he usually hits nadir #1 between +4 and +6.5, then often has another dip late in the afternoon around +9 to +11

woozy this morning at AMPS and shot time, Catcat woke me up only 5 minutes before usual schedule .. call it AM-W-- morning wonkiness
pretty sure I got the right dose in, was being as careful as possible

night food was the lowest carb food I have -- on Dr Lisa's list it shows as 0% carb -- so possibly he went out to the lagoon as I slept, which might make that AMPS a bouncy result -- hard to tell, though

too bad the Freestyle Libre is so expensive, too bad Catcat scratches off anything applied (except for weed seeds, they really stick in his fur), wish we had some sort of way to track the BG overnight without having a pj party
 
Hi Candy!
Is there any way you could set an alarm, but then go back to bed right after the test?
There was a time that was working for me, but most times I'll stay up until PMPS +5, or wake up and get online or something sleep deprivingly dumb.
 
Hi Candy!
Is there any way you could set an alarm, but then go back to bed right after the test?
There was a time that was working for me, but most times I'll stay up until PMPS +5, or wake up and get online or something sleep deprivingly dumb.

most nights I do have to get up for a potty break, but so much adrenaline flows when I'm handling sharp things -- needle phobia since early childhood, I know why but that doesn't stop the reaction -- that if I tried to test I'd never make it back to sleep -- and I'm chronically sleep deprived as is, getting maybe 5 hours a night when my body wants ten -- if it's more than 3 hours before AMPS I do manage to drop some food in his bowl but that's pushing it as it is

good suggestion if I were, say, 20 years younger than I am now
 
I'm so sorry about that phobia. Forty years ago, I was sitting with a nurse, with him waiting on me to give my first shot to myself. I play lots of mind games! But I also understand anxiety and PTSD and how, you can't just talk yourself into or out of things.
You must take better care of your own sleeping. I know it is easy to SAY!!
Hugs and strength to you:bighug::bighug:
 
it's a "power" thing -- started with my perfectionist and psychotic dad and my grandmother (his mother) and a clumsy nurse at the doctor's office -- then since I was an Rh baby (my twin died in utero) I was sick a lot in early childhood so my mother had to chase me through the house to give me a "cold shot" -- it's not the pain, it's the refusal to submit -- I can stick myself for blood tests, but if someone ELSE tries to do it, I need to be sedated or I fight; have broken bones of "helpers" in the past -- and the whole needle puncture thing frightens and upsets me -- therapy, regressions, and posthypnotic suggestions have helped but not much

that's one thing that's preventing some of my sleeping, the test at bedtime (9:30-10 pm) gets my adrenaline going, and it takes a couple of hours before I can sleep -- so it's midnight til 5 AM or so when Catcat usually starts bugging me for food, this may change, it was still dark at 6:15 when Catcat clawed me awake today
 
Last edited:
okay, here's a definite blue, and it may still be before true nadir ..some food influence may still be in the mix

+5 = 186
 
You are an amazing woman for getting so uncomfortable to help your cat, Candy. I'm sorry I missed your answer earlier. When I was a young kid, my mom would always tell me what a good girl I was, after a healthy report from the doctor. When in DKA, dehydrated and skinny as a rail at age 18, I thought about that - no longer a good girl. Silly, but makes sense in a way.
I really do get what you described. At least you understand yourself.
I have a second cousin named Candy!!! Always loved her. Hugs my dear!
 
not a typo

+9 = 73 :D:D:D

told ya so ! :p

he gets a big pinch of bonito flakes and a few chunks of freeze-dried whitefish for that ! :joyful::joyful::joyful:

okay, now listening to the experts -- hold the dose tonight? (3 hours from now) or reduce due to the dive? :cool::D

-- no I don't think an increase is in the works ...

with the test he got a couple of tablespoons of whitefish-with-tuna .. P&C Kitchen Selects, a FF knockoff

by PMPS that all will have worn off (been metabolized)

sometimes the late cycle dip continues to PMPS, sometimes BG goes back up again
 
:D:D:D:D!!!!!!

He's earned his reduction under SLGS, and I think I'd take it tonight, even if he's starting to bounce at pre-shot.

Go Catcat!
 
expected mini bounce -- +3 = 221

little game of confuse-a-cat tonight, I dumped a small freezer container's worth of frozen home stewed chicken in Catcat's big bowl
(think it was originally intended either as a shallow goldfish bowl, or a centerpiece bowl for floating flowers or candles)

he tried licking it but -- frozen is not friendly to cat tongues
then he swatted it back and forth within the bowl, using his front paws alternately

gave me a classic Stink-Eye

it will defrost over several hours and he'll get his midnight snack

Why can't I free your doubtful mind
And melt your cold cold heart

(actually they are thighs and drumsticks but who cares?)
 
Back
Top