9/10 Butch AMPS 378 +2 216, +3 Vet visit, +7 136 PMPS 91, +1 196, +2 234, +3 249 Libre

Madeline528

Member Since 2015
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...58-7-5-322-pmps-310-3-299-7-330-libre.293844/

Good afternoon,

Butch broke his bounce today; it was so nice to see blue even after a vet visit today. I hope he surfs the blues and greens. No more pinks!

Today's vet visit, the vet said his teeth look good, but I pointed out redness on the gum area and explained all the pawing, chatting, and grinding noise when eating. Vet suggested oral antibiotic and do another exam in a week, but I am not able to administer the oral antibiotic, so the antibiotic Convenia injection was given. If no improvement, x-rays and dental will be done.

Recheck next week, Paws crossed for Butch.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful day and safe surfing :cat:

Butch PMPS 91 - Fed 6% carb, ate 3/4 can and tilapia w/shoot.
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...58-7-5-322-pmps-310-3-299-7-330-libre.293844/

Good afternoon,

Butch broke his bounce today; it was so nice to see blue even after a vet visit today. I hope he surfs the blues and greens. No more pinks!

Today's vet visit, the vet said his teeth look good, but I pointed out redness on the gum area and explained all the pawing, chatting, and grinding noise when eating. Vet suggested oral antibiotic and do another exam in a week, but I am not able to administer the oral antibiotic, so the antibiotic Convenia injection was given. If no improvement, x-rays and dental will be done.

Recheck next week, Paws crossed for Butch.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful day and safe surfing :cat:

Hi Madeline,

I keep my fingers crossed, the antibiotics do their job and Butch is fine afterwards! So nice, he is seeing blue numbers again!

Have a wonderful day too and all the best for Butch! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...58-7-5-322-pmps-310-3-299-7-330-libre.293844/

Good afternoon,

Butch broke his bounce today; it was so nice to see blue even after a vet visit today. I hope he surfs the blues and greens. No more pinks!

Today's vet visit, the vet said his teeth look good, but I pointed out redness on the gum area and explained all the pawing, chatting, and grinding noise when eating. Vet suggested oral antibiotic and do another exam in a week, but I am not able to administer the oral antibiotic, so the antibiotic Convenia injection was given. If no improvement, x-rays and dental will be done.

Recheck next week, Paws crossed for Butch.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful day and safe surfing :cat:
Hi Madeline, I’m glad you saw the vet. Now let’s hope the antibiotics help what he’s got going on.
Glad to see he broke his bounce and is seeing nice blues today.

Paws crossed he continues to eat well and will feel better. Safe surfing, Butch and Madeline :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Madeline,

I keep my fingers crossed, the antibiotics do their job and Butch is fine afterwards! So nice, he is seeing blue numbers again!

Have a wonderful day too and all the best for Butch! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Heike. Thank you so much for the well wishes! :bighug:

Yes, it's so nice seeing him the blues again :cool: Those pinks are a real downer :mad::(
I hope that you and Binie had a wonderful day too. Safe surfing, Binie! :cat: :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Madeline, I’m glad you saw the vet. Now let’s hope the antibiotics help what he’s got going on.
Glad to see he broke his bounce and is seeing nice blues today.

Paws crossed he continues to eat well and will feel better. Safe surfing, Butch and Madeline :bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci. Thank you so much for the well wishes! :bighug: I am really hoping the antibiotics help, dental surgery/anesthesia freaks me out :nailbiting:
Yes, it was so nice seeing that blue again :cool: I really hope he continues to surf in the blue green, and this doesn't cause another bounce.
Paws crossed :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. Thank you so much for the well wishes! :bighug: I am really hoping the antibiotics help, dental surgery/anesthesia freaks me out :nailbiting:
Yes, it was so nice seeing that blue again :cool: I really hope he continues to surf in the blue green, and this doesn't cause another bounce.
Paws crossed :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Crossing all we can for Butch to not need any dental surgery. Let’s hope the antibiotics do the trick.
I hope he safes nice and flat and no bouncing :cool::D, Madeline.
Wishing you both a calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Crossing all we can for Butch to not need any dental surgery. Let’s hope the antibiotics do the trick.
I hope he safes nice and flat and no bouncing :cool::D, Madeline.
Wishing you both a calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci. Thank you! :bighug:
Quick question - Butch PMPS 68 - I don't know what to do...
I tagged a few to support me. I am just waiting :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, on the Libre. I don't think I can do a test on the handheld monitor tonight
Have you shot that low before?
How does the Libre usually compare to a handheld for Butch, is it close or not so close?
For me a 68 Libre would be well over 100 on a handheld. But I would then be watching him like a hawk and maybe feed some 9% carbs. (That’s what I do with Ivy).
 
Have you shot that low before?
How does the Libre usually compare to a handheld for Butch, is it close or not so close?
For me a 68 Libre would be well over 100 on a handheld. But I would then be watching him like a hawk and maybe feed some 9% carbs. (That’s what I do with Ivy).
I have only tested on the handheld when he is high on the Libre and the Libre was 35 points lower then the handheld.
I was thinking of given him a higher carb. I am so nervous on what to do. I am not sure if its the antibiotic that could be lowering the bg
 
I have only tested on the handheld when he is high on the Libre and the Libre was 35 points lower then the handheld.
I was thinking of given him a higher carb. I am so nervous on what to do. I am not sure if its the antibiotic that could be lowering the bg
Got it.
Well you are doing TR, right? And with TR you can shoot lower.
Are you ok with that? 93 Libre isn’t that low.
But he could drop.
And you have the Libre to watch him. And you have carbs I assume if you need to give them??
 
Got it.
Well you are doing TR, right? And with TR you can shoot lower.
Are you ok with that? 93 Libre isn’t that low.
But he could drop.
And you have the Libre to watch him. And you have carbs I assume if you need to give them??
Yes, I have 12% carb % 20% carb. Yes I am doing TR. He just been given me a hard time with some of his lc flavors lately
 
91 Libre
I won't be able to syringe feed
Should I feed him now? If so, should I do 12%? How long after feeding do I test & shoot? I think Butch is pretty carb sensitive.
It’s up to you. If you want to give his shot (I assume he’s due now?) and then keep watching his Libre to see if he’s rising or dropping. Watch him every 1/2 hour.

I don’t think you need to raise his bg to shoot. He’s safe at 91 with TR.
If you feed 12% and he’s carb sensitive he may jump up.
You can feed lower than that if you like.
 
It’s up to you. If you want to give his shot (I assume he’s due now?) and then keep watching his Libre to see if he’s rising or dropping. Watch him every 1/2 hour.

I don’t think you need to raise his bg to shoot. He’s safe at 91 with TR.
If you feed 12% and he’s carb sensitive he may jump up.
You can feed lower than that if you like.
I am feeding him now. He is having such a hard time with his mouth. I am giving him a 6%. I hope he can finish it.
 
Poor baby.
is 6% his regular food or do you feed lower carbs??
Staci, thank you so much. I really appreciate your support.
I usually feed 1% to 4%, and I would give the 6% snack to keep him flat when he drops.

He ate most of it and left little more than a 1/4 of the 3oz can. He also ate some tilapia with his shoot.
 
Staci, thank you so much. I really appreciate your support.
I usually feed 1% to 4%, and I would give the 6% snack to keep him flat when he drops.

He ate most of it and left little more than a 1/4 of the 3oz can. He also ate some tilapia with his shoot.
Ok good so he had a little higher carb. That should be high enough for him.
So glad he ate ok!
I hope we did ok with our plan.

I wish more trained eyes had been available to guide you since I don’t feel able to do that job ;)

I know you will watch him closely. Hoping that 6% will hold him steady.
Keep me posted. You did great!

Sending you both very safe surfing wishes tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok good so he had a little higher carb. That should be high enough for him.
So glad he ate ok!
I hope we did ok with our plan.

I wish more trained eyes had been available to guide you since I don’t feel able to do that job ;)

I know you will watch him closely. Hoping that 6% will hold him steady.
Keep me posted. You did great!

Sending you both very safe surfing wishes tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Staci, thank you for the well wishes.
Thank you, I couldn't have done it without you! I'll keep you posted.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok then. He sounds like he’s safe so far. Does he usually drop at +3 or so at onset?
He usually drops at +2, +3, +4 (nadir) but there has been a few times recently he dropped lower after the +4 that the Libre alarm alerted me

PMPS +2 234 - Looks like he might continue to rise tonight.
 
Last edited:
Hi Madeline,
wow, what a challenge! And you managed so well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

So glad you had Staci on your side!

Hope you have a calmer day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike,
Thank you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes, me too. I couldn't have done it without Staci!
Today has been calm day, thank you. Butch was pink this morning but slid into the yellows with a flat curve.
Hope you and Binie both had a calm wonderful day too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top