9/1 Tibby AMPS 140. Should I shoot?

Amy&Tibby

Member Since 2020
He's definitely in a pattern on a low number after raising the dose. I'm stalling for now before I decide to shoot, but I'll have to go to work this morning.

His AT test strips also got delayed in the mail, so I may have to go get a Relion meter finally.
 
Since you don't know what he'll do if you shoot a low blue, and you have to go to work, you can either skip or shoot a reduced dose and leave some food out for him if he will eat it.
 
I'm a bit worried about any dose with me at work. I stalled and tested again, and it was 138. I just fed him, and he ate some boiled chicken and half a can of pate. I think I'll test him again right below I leave for work. If it has come up, maybe the reduced dose?
 
His number will be food influenced since you fed. It depends on how comfortable you are shooting and leaving and if he'll eat any food you leave out.
 
He'll probably eat the food, but I'm worried about leaving him. When this happened two times before he bounced big time. The second time I fed him and gave him the shot two hours later. Not so big a bounce. But I only have those two examples.

If his number comes up from the food, does that mean that if I gave him the full dose, he could go hypo anyway?
 
Sorry to see that you skipped the dose. I don't see any previous days/nights where Tibby came even close to a hypo.

Maybe next time you'll catch Tibby when you can be home.

btw, I'm happy to see that you're going to get a human meter :) The dosing methods here were written using human meters...just a better experience all around IMHO.
 
He hasn't gone into a hypo range, but his readings before his shot have been in that questionable range listed in the sticky sheet. If I were home, it wouldn't be a worry, but I'm at work now. I would have worried all day.
 
If his number comes up from the food, does that mean that if I gave him the full dose, he could go hypo anyway?
If his number is food influenced you're not shooting the real number. If you stall, you're not supposed to feed because it can inflate the number. It's hard to know what to do when you haven't shot a number that low and you can't stay home to monitor. Eventually you'll get the chance when you can monitor.
 
Back
Top