9/1 Rusty PMPS 238, +4.5 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51205

Good Morning Everyone,

We decided to take Rusty to the vet today to try to see what is causing this rise in his numbers. This morning I gave him 1/2 teasp. of hairball remedy, just as precaution. No fur shot this morning. I shot a "skinny" fat 1.00 (I think). Good breakfast. Rusty went outside briefly, Shadow was there immediately. They touched noses. Shadow ran off and Rusty chased briefly and then wanted to come inside. We had a brushing and now he is relaxing in his test spot!!

I've printed out Rusty's spreadsheet for the new vet and will be sure to tell her to put "no Metacam" and "no Convenia" in his file. Now I have to get together all his records from Phoebe and Claudia, his vaccination certificates, etc.

Back later,

Healing thoughts and prayers continue for Tarragon and for other kitties, too, who need them.

Back later with a report. We see the vet at 2:30 Eastern Daylight Time.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Hi guys .. I'm glad to hear no fur shot this morning, and hoping the hairball meds work on him .. Good luck at the vets today .. and since I won't be around this weekend, have a great holiday weekend!
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Good luck at the Vetty today for Rusty. Will be waiting for an update.

Rusty, you have to see the Vetty. I'm sending you some calming vines. I'm sure Mannie will be rounding up the crew to come see you later and get that awful Vetty smell removed. See ya later, Mags
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Good luck at vet ....will be watching for an update!

Rusty....sorry about having to go to the vetty bean.....I'll be by later with the KTSS crew. ~Zoe
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Hi Ella. Sending lots of good thoughts, for Rusty's vet visit today. I too, will be back for the update.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Rusty Moonie & I wish you a good calm vetty visit so your bean can see what's what!
Maybe he caught something from the outside cat? a bite?
Hope it is easily fixed--You know we are Praying for Rusty's good Health--We lubs you & Ed & Rusty so much!
Please update when you can--Paws & fingers crossed for a easy remedy! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Ella,

Rusty was always good at the vet office down here. Hope the visit goes well, and you get an answer to the puzzle of higher BGs.

Waiting for an update. Will watch this board later today.

Good luck,

Claudia
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: More good wishes for the vet visit. I hope it is something easily fixable and Rusty gets back to his old self soon.

Rusty, we're going fishing! in a river! We'll come and get you after you are back from the vetty! We'll get that smell off really quick! Hmmmmmmm, maybe we should go visit Tarragon first, fresh fish are even better than Fancy Feast! Then back to the river, 'cause we'll all have that smell by then! -- Tess
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218. vet visit this afternoon

Hi Ella, I've been thinking a lot about you and Rusty and comparing his spreadsheet to Jesse's. Jesse's numbers had been going up too and I decided it was because he was getting too much insulin. This happened the last time he was on his way to the Falls and I brought his numbers down by reducing his dose. So I thought I'd give it a try again.

I waited to post this idea to you because I wanted to see Jesse's results first. He was at 1.25u and got as high as 188. I took him down to 1u and his numbers came down. But I didn't hold the 1u long enough and dropped it to .75u (bad momma bean) which he showed was not enough. So I'm holding him at 1u for now to see what happens.

I sure hope the vet doesn't find anything wrong with Rusty and I wish I would've posted this alternate opinion sooner, but Marje did mention this is yesterday's condo. I think that Rusty is getting too much insulin and that the last good dose was the f.5u in the middle of March. If it was me, I would start down the dosing ladder. Just my humble opinion of course! :-D
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Hi Everyone,
Thanks for all your good wishes and concerns. We're back from the new vet. I liked her a lot, and so did Rusty. He didn't struggle or put up a fuss and only meowed when they trimmed his nails. She took urine via cytocentesis and sent it out for analysis. She also took the samples for the bloodwork (Feline CBC/ CHEM 15/ LYTES; T4 TOTAL SNAP) and is doing them "in house" this afternoon. We'll know the results later. Rusty was no trouble at all!! (I think he was afraid of our old vet.). She examined his mouth and he definitely needs a dental, even though he hasn't many teeth left. We will schedule that soon. His heart and lungs were fine. She thinks his congestion/ sneezing could be a polyp and will look closer when she does the dental. It might also be asthma, or a chronic URI from his past on the street and in the shelter. We talked about the Fructosamine and she agreed that with home testing Rusty would not need this test(!). We also discussed his bg numbers (I gave her a printout of Rusty's SS); she thinks Green is too low!! I chose not to go into the matter. I gave her a copy of the Roop-Rand Lantus study and told her that Levemir was similar to Lantus in use. She has other diabetic patients, but none who home test. Now that she can no longer get PZI Vet or Vetsulin, she prescribes Humulin N. She will, however, write me a prescription for Lev. (I forgot to get it today; but will be in the neighborhood tomorrow). She was interested in reading about Levemir (I printed out the 'Levemir 101 Sticky from the Levemir forum for her).

All in all it was a good visit. I hope that Rusty doesn't have anything serious and that a dental-- or an antibiotic if it is a urinary thing--will do the trick. (Of course, she would like to see Rusty in blue, not green!). We discussed Metacam (she knew about the black box warnings and does not use it) and Convenia (she didn't know that it had caused bad allergic reactions, but doesn't use it at all in her practice because it has a short shelf life).

So now we wait to see what is what. Interesting that Rusty came down from his yellow AMPS to 124 at +5.5, and when I tested him at +9, just after we got back from the vet, he was 120. Also interesting that his weight was 16 lb. 11 oz. on her scale and on my new scale it is 16 lb., 10 oz. She doesn't think he needs to lose weight, but I'm still going to try to get him down a bit (he was 15 lb. 8 oz. in February).

Be back later,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. our old vet thought Rusty was only about 5 years old. (That seemed impossible to me, since he already had diabetes in the fall of 2008, when he was found on the street.) This new vet thinks he is 12 or 13 (which would be consistent with the evaluation of the shelter vets in 2008).

p.p.s. to Carolyn. I've been wondering about this too, but the protocol specifies that the kitty has to earn a reduction in dose.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Hope all the tests come back good for Rusty sounds like overall she is a good vet to work with :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Hi Ella, sounds like a wonderful and thorough Vet, and Rusty likes her, so she's a real keeper. If he needs a dental, do you think possibly a bad tooth could cause the higher bg's? Great she's open to Levimir and learning more about it. Overall a really good check-up for Rusty.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Ella,

Here's a copy of Phase 4 of the protocol:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

So, our kitties can earn a decrease is two ways: dropping below 40-50, or holding healing numbers for a week.

Hope Rusty gets a clean bill of health!
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Hi Ella. I was wondering too, if a tooth could be raising his bg, since vet said he needs a dental. I know that when Checkers was first diagnosed, it was a couple of FORLS, that had his bg elevated. His numbers came down, after the nasty teeth were removed.
Of course, that wasn't the final answer, as he did eventually need insulin.
Keeping fingers crossed for good test results.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

Ella,

Glad to hear the visit went well, and that Rusty liked the vet.

All the paws in my house are crossed that his bloodwork comes back fine. Hope it is either a tooth or a UTI that is treatable. Want the boy to be heathy and happy, right???

Claudia
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

p.p.s. to Carolyn. I've been wondering about this too, but the protocol specifies that the kitty has to earn a reduction in dose.

There have been several cats who kept getting increases and numbers kept rising. Granted it is usually cats new to the board who haven't been following the protocol, but it is not unheard of to drop the dose and start over to see if it was too much insulin. That's why I suggested you ask Jill or Libby to take a look at Rusty's SS the other day too.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 (on return from vet

glad rusty did well at his vet visit - hope you get some answers and his numbers come on down.
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 , PMPS 238

Thanks, Ann, I'll do that later tonight or tomorrow.
The vet didn't get back to us yet, and we have to go to an art opening now, so I'll be back later this evening, hopefully with some news. PMPS bounced right back up, but maybe the stress of the vet visit/trip to the vet has played a role.

Ella
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 , PMPS 238

Great news about the vetty visit! Sounds very much like our vet visit today too, looks like our kitties will be getting dentals in the next little while.

Rusty, when can we get this vetty smell off us????
 
Re: 9/1 Rusty AMPS 218, +5.5 124, +9 120 , PMPS 238

Hi again,
I didn't hear about Rusty's test results tonight so I'll probably hear tomorrow. In the meantime he's resting comfortably. Hardly any vetty smell.

Ella

Hi Kitties, I got poked and prodded today and my toenails got clipped. I gave blood. I gave pee. I'm tired tonight. But I hardly smell of the vet. I liked Vettybean. I'm all ready to go to Attie's fishing party tomorrow. Gigantic catfish!! Can't wait. See you all there.
Rusty
 
Hi Ella - So so sorry to be so late in visiting... I so need to clone me!

I am sorry for Rusty's Numbers. I hope that the vet visit, labs etc can give you a reason. It is interesting what Ann wrote about too much insulin... It might be worth it to have one of the guru's look at his SS. I dunno....

have a great evening. I am glad that Rusty feels fine. and that Shadow came to visit! :-D

RUSTY! dude! Dental for you too??? and Leo??? ME TOO! what is up with THAT!?!?!?!?!?! Well, KTSS or you, and for LEO and Tarragon tonight. see you soon... I am so stoked about Attie's party! fish! REALLY BIG FISH! ~~ Mannie
 
Any infection, inflammation can cause BG's to rise, especially with a bad tooth.
Hope this will all clear up really soon--Dont like our Rusty Boy to be feeling bad!
We lubs you Rusty!!
Think Rusty got scared blue today! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hope he'll be down to his usual great numbers soon!--Giantic Hugs from us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top