9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99; +10 125; PMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=edit&f=9&p=844719

Yesterday
AMPS 138
+2 125
+3 110
+4 94 Left some FF T&G + Wellness Tirkey
+8 131
PMPS 116
+2 107
+4 94
+9 126

Morning ~O) ~O) I wonder what Michelle has on tap for us today! :-D
Maggie seems well, although a little subdued this morning. She reached the Green Lagoon last night and was very vocal thru the night. After the +4, I don't know how low she went, as I fell asleep. She ate all her overnight food, so that was good to see that she eats when running low. I'm not so much interested in seeing her reach a below 50 right now to earn a dosecrease, as she doesn't seem to feel good when getting those low numbers. With the megacolon diagnosis and trying to keep her regular, if I could keep her in the low to mid blues, it might be best for Mags. Any thoughts on my theory? She didn't have a poo last night, so this is the 2nd day. I need to make a trip to the Vet's office to pick up some flavored liver Lactulose for Mags, and I'll let the Vet on duty today know what's happening, as it's a three day weekend. Wishing all of you a nice day. Healing vines for all kitties needing them.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O) Happy caturday!

A very nice start for Maggie today. I personally don't see anything wrong with keeping her in the low blues. We don't always need to see greens. I like the low blues: they are safe, below renal threshold, and if it suits Mags and she feels good there, then why not? With the new DX it night just be the way to go for while until you are certain the the Megacolon is under control. Good luck with it all. WOW on the liver flavored lactulose... I remember you saying that it came flavored. Kinda cool, hope Mags likes this flavor.

Enjoy your day today. Walk on the agenda?
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120

I agree.
I wouldn't be pushing hard. You've got a great start today and with some luck, you'll get a nice
green surf.
Wish they could talk and tell us if the lower greens feel different.
Marge told me they don't know the difference when they are at 100 or 50.
But Maggie does seem to be a sensitive girl.

Happy Caturday!
~O)
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

+3 129
Nice surfing. She's had two mini Wellness Turkey meals, so hope she keeps surfing. I'd like ti run up to Vetty's office and Walmart before it gets too hot and busy, too!

Hi Michelle, thanks on your thoughts. Yes, I'm interested in seeing her feel well. Yes, the Vet who took care of Maggie on Tuesday suggested this flavor for Maggie. We'll see how she likes it. She just tolerates the other green yucky flavored one!

Thanks so much Rhiannon and Shadow for your thoughts. I think some cats like Moonie and Checkers( I think it was Checkers), feel punky and lethargic at low numbers and then others don't seem to notice. Yes, for sure Maggie is a very sensitive girl. We all know she's sensitive where she did her poo after spending those two spa days at the Vetty. Even the Vet said Maggie will choose her place to have the magical poo, and it definitely wan't in front of all the Vet Techs! :lol:
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

Good Morning Ann
I would be more than happy with those blue numbers for Checkers. Yes, he does feel crummy on low green. He lays around, has no energy, and tells me when he's low, so I know that he feels uncomfortable.

Obviously not all cats are like that.....Devon's Mocha, stays so low naturally, that her vet complains about it, but it's where her body feels good.
If Mags feels good, then that's where she should be. (Don't quote me on that, I don't have a medical licence) :lol:

Have a great day, Ann :smile:
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

Awww...Ann, I am sorry to know of Maggie's dx on megacolon but it's a manageable medical problem. Yes, definitely a low blue bg is a regulated range for our DM kitties. Same as Rosy, she is more quiet & tired when on green. Guess it is the low sugar level within her that caused it.
Trust your understanding on Maggie's physical & daily behavior to know what's best for her.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

Maggie looks pretty in her blue dress:) If that is where you feel comfortable keeping her than that's what you should aim to do, if it's possible. Hope she presents with something in the lb soon. Sounds like you might have to wait a while if it's megacolon but it will come:)
Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

Looking lovely in the blues this morning, Maggie!

I have noticed that Shasta is most energetic and talkative and friendly and playful when she's in the upper 100's and low/mid 200's. When she is in the low 100's or double digits, she is usually very quiet or grumpy or sleepy, etc. That is just what I have observed for the short period of time I've been monitoring. That doesn't mean that she doesn't have lovey moments in the blues/greens, etc. Blues = comfort zone. :razz:

Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

As we work toward hopefully getting our kitties OTJ, I think it's important to find a range they feel comfortable in. Some kitties may not reach OTJ and this is the best range for them. Also, as issues such as the megacolon come up, keeping them in their comfortable range will help manage that. If blue is where Maggie feels comfortable, I don't see a problem with keeping her there for the time being. Hope you get a prezzie today.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129

Hi Ann,

If your aim is not remission because you feel Maggie is too long-term and has other health problems making it unlikely, or remission is not the most important priority at the moment, which it isn't because her megacolon has to be regulated now, then there really is no reason to worry about the greens, as long as she is below the threshold where damage is done to her organs. At least that is how it seems to me. I would keep her where she is comfortable while you are trying to regulate her movements. Low blues are great.

Racci seems to like low numbers but not too low. She seems to feel really good when she's around 70-100. Her appetite is best and she's most playful then.

Have a great day!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99

+6 99
Well, I guess Maggie will go wherever she pleases today and exchanging he blue dress for the green! :mrgreen: This is her Nadir, so I don't expect it to go lower unless Mags decides! I picked up her chicken flavored Lactulose. It's compounded by the pharmacy, so much different than the other and most likely better tasting. I asked and learned I can still give Maggie Miralax, along with the other two meds. I just sneaked some into a spoonful of Beechnut chicken & broth bf!
Thanks for all the visits and support. You guys are the best. I was feeling a little down but now feel much better.

Barb & Checkers, I remember you saying Checkers feels crummy on the greens and just wants to lay around.
You do, too, have a medical license, "Checkers's Caregiver"! :-D

Thanks Helen, yes, from what I've been reading, it is manageable vs many years ago. So much more information on it. Welcome back, by the way, too!

Hi Tamara, she just changed to the green dress. I guess I will need to be more patient, as she won't be as reguar as she was before this diagnosis.

Deborah, very interesting with Shasta, too, with not as talkative, energetic when getting low. It helps to know when a lot of the kitties feel this way as I always worried Mags was getting sick with the lethargic mood.

Hi Carla, thanks so much for your thoughts, and it sure makes a lot of sense. Maggie is long term diabetic, and although she's gotten close a couple times, I don't see it happening in the near future.

Hi Melanie, thanks so much also for your thoughts. I've been very lucky as Maggie has been an easy cat as far as no dives or surprises. I'm usually able to predict her and be gone a few hours and know she's okay. I don't even think I got the full dose in her this mornng, and she's doing quite well.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99

Hi Ann and Maggie! You`re getting great advice from people who know :razz: We just came to say hello, and wish you the best finding the right spot for Maggie where she feels happiest! dancing_cat

Have a Happy Caturday!

Alexa & Reuben
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99

Hi, Ann!

Maggies' looking good, too! I don't have time to visit any more condos. We are going to try to go to grandma's today, and see a friend who is down from the Bay Area (Calif.), too. I have to get ready and watch out for Max, and get the laundry washed, and, and, and . . . entropy reigns; I can't keep up with it. My poor husband wishes I would try harder, I'm sure. He certainly wishes I would stay off this darn board a little more often! :lol: Going to have to do that I'm afraid. Hurricane Emma hit the family room yesterday. Declaring a disaster area complete with water invasion of the floor outside the cat fountain! Sigh. Got the water cleaned up right away, but the rest of the chaos going to have to stay that way at least until tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99

Thanks Alexa and Reuben so much for your good thoughts in Maggie finding a good spot. I should be testing her about now, but she's just eaten some Wellness Turkey and earlier had some Beechnut bf (and I mixed Miralax in it), sneaky Bean! :roll:

Going to have to do that I'm afraid. Hurricane Emma hit the family room yesterday. Declaring a disaster area complete with water invasion of the floor outside the cat fountain! Sigh
Dale, I had to read that twice with the Hurricane Emma! :lol: For a minute I thought you meant Hurricane Isaac, and I thought....wait a minute. Oh no sorry about the water disaster with Emma and the water fountain. I don't know how you keep up with it all, as I have a hard time with a little apartment. :? Have a great time today with Emma's Grandma and visiting you,r friend and Max, please surf nicely for your Bean.
 
Re: 9/1 Maggie AMPS 120; +3 129; +6 99

Oh, by the way, Max acts lethargic in the mid-Greens, too. Marje told me the same thing, Rhiannon. She's probably right as she really, really knows her stuff, but it does seem that with Maggie's poo issue, it would seem that there is no reason for Ann to run herself ragged chasing after the BG when Maggie hits mid-Greens if Maggie seems to feel best in the low Blues. Maybe Marje will chime in, and let us know what she thinks about it all. If it is hard to keep Maggie below renal threshold at pre-shot without some Greens then the Greens are preferable, of course. Hope that's not the case.

Have a wonderful day, Ann!
 
PMPS 118

Maggie stayed within a nice range today and even dipped her toes into the Green Lagoon, barely! :mrgreen: She didn't give me any magical poo yet though, so any poo vines are appreciated. She's now on her second day of Cisapride, also chicken flavored Lactulose compounded special for her and also Miralax.

Thanks so much Dale for your thoughts. Maggie's numbers have greatly improved since her two days at the Vetty. It's almost a flat day for her. I'm glad you made it out the door! :lol: I just checked and nice of Max to allow you.
 
AWESOME day for Maggie! I SEE GREEN! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: All around a very nice cycle for Maggie. I love it that she feels good -after all that is what really matters. I hope you are feeling OK too - there has been alot for you to deal with over the past few days. I am sure you ave been worried, stressed and now with a new DX, it just gets overwhelming. You've done great with Mags, and I have no doubt that you will continue to do so. :-D :-D :-D

for the evening hours, in case needed ----> ~O) ~O)
 
Gorgeous surf for Mags today! Poo vines coming your way!!! We want the poo, we want the poo!!!

Have a great night, Ann!!
 
Great day for Mags today! I agree with the others. You have some other issues you are dealing with right now. I would just keep her in the 100's like she does anyway. Hope you got out and got your errands run today. Hugs!!
 
Hey, Ann -

Look at Miss Maggie, all pretty in BLUE and even some GREEN!! Your reasoning sounds sound to me; keep her in numbers that are healthy and make her feel good. Nothing wrong with that!

Uhm...liver flavored Lactulose...well, that sounds...yummy? (blech!)

Wishing you a peaceful night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top