9/1**Harley PMPS 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
It turned out to be a decent night after all. Harley slept most of the night except for the usual 2:30 snack. He did not even wake me up for his shot. I cannot believe it is Sept 1 already.

PMPS 403
+2 341
+4 319
+7 192
AMPS 271
I hope the AMPS does not mean he is climbing to the sky again. Have a good day.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23756
 
Re: 9/1**Harley AMPS 271

Morning....lovely AMPS for Harley this morning.
Did you give any thought to what Jill posted to you last night Pattie?
Just wondering what your thoughts are about that.... ???
Any questions or anything to add?

And you promised a new vial/pen today too, right? ((Pattie)) don't worry...
Harley will be okay...you'll see. Eventually he will get his act together. And it is best to
rule out any other issues, KWIM? :YMHUG:
 
Not too bad of a day.
AMPS 271
+3 356
+7.5 380
PMPS 311

Began discussion with vet about testing for acro. Her response was that Harley really is not a high dose cat. They would consider him high dose after hitting 1 unit per #, which puts Harley at between 10-12 units. She is going on long weekend for Labor Day and we will continue discussion next week.

If she is unwilling to test, I will take Harley to U of MN.

Pattie
 
Ech. Sounds like that conversation wasn't very helpful. If it was me, I would be done with that vet. You know better obviously, I just get a real bee in my bonnet when I get brick-wall/blow off responses like that. And those are often the responses I get from vets which is why I've been through so many. I've really only had one great vet, but then she moved away 4 years ago. Still think longingly of her.

You've had such a tough time lately, I really sympathize and wish you all the best.

Amanda
 
Not too bad...wondering about the insulin...did you get a new vial?
Sorry about the response from your vet. Glad to hear you are going to go it alone. There will be others here with more ideas I'm sure...
how is Harley today?
 
Harley seems fine. Hiding in the catnip, waiting for his brother to walk by so he can pounce. He did cry tonight for dinner but other than that..he is ok.

Pattie
 
the words "humor me" got the testing done for Jazzy. My vet wanted to test for pancreatitis, Cushings, and something else before testing for acro and IAA. I asked her to humor me and send the tests in anyway. Boy was she surprised at the positive result!

There are lots of reasons Harley could be needing a higher dose. There might not even be a reason - we've had a couple of cats here who have gone up to around 7 units and eventually gone OTJ. Acro and IAA are only two possibilities, but they are easy and relatively inexpensive to test for (a lot less than the other things she wanted to do). They are also a lot more common than many vets think. I decided I would feel better if I knew, because then I would know whether there was a reason her dose was higher, or if Jazzy was just being a stubborn Siamese. ;-) If the tests had been negative, then at least I would know that those two common causes had been ruled out before I started thinking about the more expensive tests the vet suggested.

I was actually relieved to get the positive result, because then I felt like I knew what direction I should take and could help Jazzy feel better. She has come SOOOO far in the 3 months I have had her, from a miserable kitty who vomited several times a day and had liquipoo daily and wasn't grooming, to a kitty who usually has normal stools, has vomited only once in the last week, does an ok job of grooming (arthritis doesn't help), and is sassy and a little bit playful. Having the dx told me that it was ok to be aggressive with her dose increases, so I could get her onto a dose that worked for her. Don't feel that any of this is hopeless. ((((Pattie))))
 
I know that the U of MN vets did a test (don't know what it was called) to detect high level of growth hormones which they felt might be causing Harley to need more insulin. That came back negative. Is that not the same as acro testing. I do not know about the Iaa test - that I am sure was not done.

pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top