9/1 Checkers pmps HI +2/597

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103407

Checks was verysick, last night
He started off the day, feeling unwell. He ate very little during the day, but spent lots of time in tub; I assumed he was drinking, after I turned the drip on.

Preshot, he didn't want to eat supper....not unusal. He'll eat in a bit, so I shot at a 133. Perfectly fine...except the he wouldn't eat for the rest of the night.

Hour later, he had risen to 155...still fine. Still he won't eat or drink..kept staring at food and water, like he wanted it, but something stopped him. I did not recognize that as signs of nausea. He looked like he couldn't see or smell the food. I even tried zero carb dry.
+2.5~ 127...He just kept dropping. I had a row of open cans of everything imaginable on the counter.
Couple more drops and now he's a 57. I syringed gravy with karo. Gave milk....he accepted that.

.+5.5.....drop to 61 syringed sweet gravy
+6~31....karo on finger in mouth....sweet gravy

Kept up syringing sweet gravy, until rising
=7..78 syringe
7.5..114 syringe
8....86 syringe.
+9.5...155
+11 this morning....147.....still won't eat or drink.....decided to skip shot.
9:00 AM....236....licked FF gravy, and bit of tuna juice.....not eating


10: AM Susan arrives to give fluids.. She walks in the room and says "kidneys".....Checkers reeks of urine! She knew the smell...I didn't.

She says it's coming from his breath, as well as his skin.
She gives fluids and about an hour later, he was looking for food and water.
I had no 'nausea' meds, so gave him a fourth of a Pepcid AC

Why was I worried about those nice numbers? Because he was acting bizarre, and would not eat anything to counteract the insulin injection. He acted like he didn't recognise it as food or water, just sat in front of it.

I didn't know that was signs of nausea.
Any other time I would be delighted with those blues and greens.
He just ate a nice amount of gravy/food, not good for his bg, but it's food.

In an effort to shorten this, I left out tons of scary details.
I'm sure it was confusing in places....sorry.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers ambg 147+7/413

Oh Barb, I am so sorry Checks isn't feeling well and that you had such a scary time. We are sending a ton and a half of prayers your way. Please keep us posted...we're here for you.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers ambg 147+7/413

((Hugs)) I'm sorry you guys had such a rough night .. I hope that checkers is feeling better and eating for you today .. And please keep us updated ..
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers ambg 147+7/413

(((Barb))) What a scary night for you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Please get better soon Checkers and eat your fuds, it'll make you feel good.

Sending tons of healing vines your way. And thanks to Susan for recognizing what needed to be done.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers ambg 147+7/413

His injection is in 2 hours. He just ate more, and I wouldn't be worried if last night hadn't happened.
I'm not sure I know how much food is enough, to safely give shot.

Any advice would be welcomed.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers ambg 147+7/413

Hey Barb - maybe use the question mark icon and edit your subject line.

I'm glad he's eating more tonight....
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

I shot 15 minutes early. He gobbled up his pre shot FF Turkey & Giblets, supper, like he hadn't been fed in a week. WHEW!

I also reduced, due to last night's 31. From F .5 to sk.5
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Keep eating Checks! Paws crossed you get some sleep tonight Barb, you must be exhausted.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

((((Barb)))) Poor Checkers and poor you! Sending tons of vines for your guy to feel better and have better numbers.
Liz
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Barb I'm sorry you and Checkers had to go through that last night. That must have been very scary. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I'm glad the fluids helped and he's eating now. I hope he surfs safely and you can get some sleep tonight.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Barb

The odor on his breath worries me. Susan said it smells like urine? Like ammonia? If so, I would definitely call Dr. Dave tomorrow if he's in. Susan is right if it smells like urine or ammonia; this would be associated with his kidneys and he probably needs to see Dr. Dave.

I feel certain that it's probably not like acetone because you are aware of ketones and that an acetone smelling breath (like nail polish) is indicative of ketones. You've been checking them?

I'm glad he's better tonight. I hope you both have a restful night and he eats.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Marje....he smelled like urine. I didn't smell is breath. I smelled it when he was near me. Susan was next to him and said it was his breath, and his body. We assumed it was his kidneys.

I was trying not to sound like a doomsayer in the condo, but I was scared he wouldn't make it through the night. He is not a well kitty.
It was not ketone breath. I know that. My husband was diabetic. I knew it before he did..
I absolutely will let Dr Dave know everything that went on last night.
He gave me the supplies to do fluids, but Susan took them home, cuz I was nervous and she just said, "I'll take them!" :-D

Thank you everybody for good wishes. I'm exhausted and gonna plop in the recliner....after shutting all the windows.
A nice thunderstorm just came up. Love it!
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Barb, you are not a doomsayer in your condos .. We need to know how checkers is doing but most of all we WANT to know how checkers is doing .. We all care about you and checkers, your whole gang we care about because we are family in LL and that is just what family does ((hugs)) Go enjoy the thunderstorm and enjoy time with your boys ..
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

(((Barb)))
I am so sorry Checkers was not well last night, and that you had such a rough night.
I'm so glad that sub-q fluids made him feel better.
It always perks up Lucy too.
I used to get much more nervous about ear pokes than sub-q fluids, and I'm sure it will get easy in no time for you.
I'm also glad that he ate for you tonight. Great news!
I know it's very hard when our kitties are sick....
Sending tons of healing vines to Checkers and a huge hug to you.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

I figured you were staying on top of the ketones. But the urine smell from his breath and his coat tells me also that it's kidneys.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Sending healing vines.
 
Re: 9/1 Checkers pmps HI

Oh ((((Barb)))), I am so sorry that you had such a distressing night last night. I hope Checkers will continue to eat for you this evening and am sending all of the healing vines I can muster to him. I also hope that you'll be able to get in touch with Dr. Dave tomorrow. It is very scary when something is wrong and it is a holiday weekend and you don't know what to do.
You have many friends here in LL who know about Checkers' condition and know how to help. Do not ever hesitate to post the "full" picture. As Devon said: the family sticks together.

Many :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s for you,

Scritches for your boy,

Ella & Rusty
 
Mega healing vines and feel better vines and eating vines coming to Checkers.

He'll come down from the bounce.
 
Hi Barb. I'm so sorry that you had such a scary time last night. I'm glad the fluids you and Susan gave him helped. We're sending tons of healing vines to Checkers. Hope you can get him in to see Dr. Dave tomorrow.

Have a great evening Barb. We have you and Checkers in our Prayers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top