9/1 Charlie PMPS 376 +2 315 +4 265 +7 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Just out of one bounce & back in another. Ended up waking up to test last night at +9. Set my alarm to test at +6 as well since in the end, the bounce seemed to stop after PMPS and I really wanted to have data on how the 1.5 units are playing out. Slept through the +6 (UGH!) but got the +9. Maybe she went low between +3 and +9 as all the food in her bowl was gone (I left a lot out) and when I came in the living room at +9 Charlie was sitting in her spot where she gets her blood tests, waiting for me. It was really weird. Maybe she's starting to know that what we're doing is to help her? I don't know.

In any case, either she's bouncing this morning because her system still isn't used to it. Or she's bouncing because she went low. We'll need to wait until this bounce clears to try and catch the data to figure this out.

Today will be a day of lounging for Charlie, and another restaurant week lunch for us at a Michelin starred restaurant in a little cute town with canals nearby called Monnickedam. We will come back after lunch to check on her, but testing may not be so important today as this girl is heading towards red I think. We will test once in 15 minutes to see what direction she's going in and see from there.

Have a great day guys!
Jill
 

Attachments

  • twisted sister small.jpg
    twisted sister small.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 498
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 back in another bounc

That's one decent thing about a bounce, when you have a good idea from a cat's history when a bounce is happening/going to happen. I will have some "free time" today too - I did a fur shot last night and blew Leo's chill out from his last bounce. 489 at +11. The last time he missed a dose (when I decided not to shoot low numbers) he blasted over 500) It's frustrating, isn't it?

I can't answer what's happening, Leo's had both types of bounces - too low, and not used to it. But the big dose increase on 8/28 caused that dip like we had with a similar (too large) increase. Then we backed down to stabilize, and had a less-terrible bounce and he started to settle down. But we're starting a HUGE bounce because I fur shot last night :sad: Hopefully Charlie will settle, so I'd say stick it out. He's new to 1.5u dose so be patient about how he settles into it. But let the experts comment.

Adorable picture! Have a good day!
Lisa
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 back in another bounc

The bouncing could be from the vomiting the day before. It happens with Blackie sometimes, too. Hopefully it'll clear for you in the next day or 2. Hang in there. You're doing great!
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 back in another bounc

It does seem to take a few days at a new dose to settle.
I think any kind of health issues play a huge role and make it even harder to figure out.
It's even harder to not focus on each number as you get them.

Enjoy your day out.
Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 back in another bounc

Jill, Charlie looks pretty level today even with a bounce, hope she eases down for you. How handy that she was waiting for her test, I am sure these cats know much more than they let on. Have fun at your lunch and have a great day!
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 back in another bounc

Hope Charlie comes down for you soon and you can see how she is doing on the 1.5 units. Bounces can be frustrating, especially when you don't know what caused it. Hang it there. You're doing a good job. Enjoy your lunch.
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376

Just weighed Charlie and she is now 4.8 kilos. She lost 200 grams in just 7 days! The first vet told us she should end up between 4.5 and 5 kilos (in order to have the best chances of getting off the juice). Still, I'm worried that she is losing weight NOT because we are not feeding her a lot. We ARE feeding her frequently and I am sure we are feeding at least 200 grams a day. We also feed her sometimes during the night or during the day if she seems hungry. Plus the tuna treats are not tiny. Maybe it is because she is always in the high numbers and her system cannot absorb the calories it needs?

Is this a bad sign, guys?
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 WEIGH

This is a formula for figuring out how many calories per day Charlie needs. Note that you'll need to convert her desired weight into pounds.
equired calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​

It looks to me like Charlie is bouncing off of the blue numbers from last night.
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 WEIGH

I don't know what to tell you. I Googled 200 grams, and it equals a little more than 7 ounces.

I know J.D. can go up and down 7 ounces in a week. He can go up and down 3 ounces in a day, depending on how full his tummy is.

But 7 ounces is close to half a pound. Maybe weigh her again in two or three days and see how she's doing, and post that number. You could also try to feed her more, if you're concerned, and see how she does. She is right within that range your vet mentioned.
 
9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 +4 265

She is definitely in the range my vet mentioned, and if I do the math that Sienne posted, we are feeding accordingly. In a way, Charlie has also started peeing and drinking more lately too. I haven't monitored this tightly every single day, but I can say that she seemed better before on a lower dose (from a peeing/drinking perspective). She seemed worse when she had no insulin in the beginning.
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 WEIGH

Sending healthy vines to Charlie! I just can't get over how stinkin' cute she is! And that picture...oh my goodness!!! SO ADORABLE!!!!!

Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 +4 26

She is cute. We love her very much. Here's another one from earlier today. That Shasta of yours sure is adorable as well! :smile:
 

Attachments

  • little paws up small.jpg
    little paws up small.jpg
    9.2 KB · Views: 434
Re: 9/1 Charlie AMPS 349 +3 376 +5 378 PMPS 376 +2 315 +4 26

When Furball was first diagnosed with diabetes, I weighed her every day. It worried me if her weight changed just a little bit from day to day. Then I realized I was driving myself crazy and started weighing her once a week. I learned that if she is still in the healthy weight range not to worry about a change of a few ounces. It is easy to worry about every little thing when we just want our furbabies to be healthy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top