9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+4-60,+6-61,PMPS-167

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103926

Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=104002

I haven't had time to really digest all the answers from Sienne and Marje. And here we are at 85 at +2, lower than I would like to be even at nadir. At least it is in the daytime and I am not sleep deprived. But it is a workday (I work from home at least).

He wasn't interested in eating in the middle of the night. He did eat well at AMPS (two hours ago).

I gave him a token dose night before last and then reduced his dose to 3.75 yesterday morning.

My inclination is to feed him to get him up a bit. But maybe he needs a dose reduction. So maybe I should keep testing and see what happens in the next few hours. Please advise on how to proceed.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

I would test again in an hour.. He might do what he did on the night of the 6th. Let's see where he is then. I will be here. I work from home too.

I don't think you need to feed yet to bring him up. U have strips and HC just in case though right.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

Thanks, Wendy.

I have all the supplies I need. I know I can bring him up if he goes too low. But I feel stuck between wanting to see how low he goes and if he needs a dose reduction and not wanting a severe bounce. On the night of the 6th I fed him to boost his numbers. I started as soon as he hit 78. He probably would have gone below 50 had I not done that. And I did reduce his dose from 4 to 3.75.

I plan to NOT feed him high carb food due to the gluten in it but instead to feed him his own food and add some sugar syrup (my homemade hummingbird food). He seems to be allergic to grains.

thanks for being there.
donaleen
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

Great.

You gotta think though - if he drops too low he gets another decrease. so what if he bounces . maybe then he drops low again.. another decrease.. repeat.... Keeps that up and eventually there is no more room for decreases and he bounces into remission! Happens quite a lot to cats. paws crossed.

Syrup and LC food sounds fine

Wendy
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

donaleen

With such a big drop, I'd probably add a little honey to his LC to slow him down. Just a drop. The goal is not to prevent him from earning a reduction but to slow the drop as the fast drops can cause the hard bounces.

I'd also retest in 30 after you feed him to see if he's slowing down.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

Okay. That's what I will do. Nice to know you have my back.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

I just happened to pop on. Perhaps you were sending out random thoughts that floated my way :lol:
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72 urgent

More like desperate thoughts, Marje. Thanks for being here.

I gave him a little bit of bacon (a favorite treat) with a drop of maple syrup. And he did go back to his food and he is eating now. It is normal for him to eat at this time of day.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

No. Maybe I would like to be?

I didn't have any honey. We don't use it much and it always gets hard and crystallized and I think we threw out what we had in a big kitchen cleanup a month or two ago.

Sugar is sugar.

Bacon has become his special treat when he is having a hard time with injections or testing. He goes crazy for the smell. I give him just a tiny scrap. John holds it in his hand to keep him interested while I do the poking thing.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

Looks like you got him slowed down. Great job.

I'd probably get a +3 and see where he is and then space out the tests if you need to. The only reason I suggest that is sometimes they fool us. We think we've got them stopped early in the cycle and then ....not.

I have to sign off but you are doing a great job. Mill try to look at his SS today and see if I can think of anything else. I'm sure Sienne has it covered but you never know. ;-)
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72 urgent.

Yes, I want to sit down and digest all I was told. I know I am still confused about interpreting +2 readings... need to formulate my questions.

I will definitely keep testing today.

thanks again Marje and Wendy.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72 urgent.

Any kind of syrup + LC (or a treat) works. I give Gabby a teaspoon of LC plus a couple of drops (literally) of honey or corn syrup. The gluten in HC food upsets her GI track. Re-test in 30 min.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60

I didn't have any honey. We don't use it much and it always gets hard and crystallized and I think we threw out what we had in a big kitchen cleanup a month or two ago.


Glad you had the syrup - but FYI, honey never goes bad - just pop in the microwave and it comes right back.
Regardless of preservation, honey may crystallize over time. The crystals can be dissolved by heating the honey.[


My neighbors son is a beekeeper! Hope Ozy & you have a great day!

Bern
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Well if he is going below 50 I would rather he did it in his AM cycle when I am not wanting to sleep.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Looks like he is surfing. I dont see him dropping below 50 this time. You never know though.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85 urgent. dropping too fast.

Besides having experts to encourage me, this is the most valuable tip I got today

Marje and Gracie said:
With such a big drop, I'd probably add a little honey to his LC to slow him down. Just a drop. The goal is not to prevent him from earning a reduction but to slow the drop as the fast drops can cause the hard bounces.

The last two times he got this low I overdid the feeding with HC and such and muddied the waters so that one could not tell how low his body wanted to go and whether he needed a reduction.

I am feeling that he must be close to the right dose. I hope he doesn't drop too low tonight. It is just so much harder at night. I am less able to deal then.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

That is a beautiful surf and beautiful work today! Yes, it does look like you're getting close to a good dose, that's for sure! I have admit, the maple bacon made me giggle a bit. I do know/understand that Ozy has sensitivities...but his treat is just so darned cute!
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Thanks, Amy. Being green today has been much easier with some support, more understanding and not being exhausted and half asleep. So thank you everyone.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Great job Donaleen!

Right before all the excitement today I was about to suggest in your other thread that whatever you end up doing for dose or protocol, you ought to do it up here with the knowledgeable ladies in Lantus Land! They won't do you wrong and you should never have to feel ignored! :-D

Marje can even set up her phone to notify her when you email for help even if she's not on the forum!

With the expert guidance, tips and tricks, it won't be long until you will do it all yourself on auto pilot. If Ozy is even on the juice that long. ;-)
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Nice surf for Ozy today. You've done a great job helping him surf safely. I love the bacon and maple syrup treat.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

Thanks Carla and Dale. I am never sure about replying to everyone. I don't want to bury the great comments from everyone with what **I** say.

So, I am girding my loins for tonight. I better look up what that actually means. It sounds good, though. I checked, it is EXACTLY what I mean.... preparing myself for action, especially when half asleep.

I've had some good advice on looking at the +2 and what it tells me about how the cycle will be. Today I saw a huge drop at +2. I usually go to bed right after the +2 test. If I saw a huge drop like that just before bedtime, what would I do? I don't think I could or should go to bed then. I could easily stay up another two hours. But if he was at 60 at +4, like today, I couldn't go to bed then, either. So then I'd stay up until +6. Uh oh, still 61. By that time it is four hours past my bed time and I am pretty tired. And I am unable to cope very well with an issue when I am that tired. Plus the next day is going to be grim because I am sleep deprived.

Hmm, a bounce would be nice tonight IF it is short lived enough not to make Ozy feel bad.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+2.5-72,+3-68,+4-60,+6-61

If Furball is going really low at night and I have to get sleep because I have to work the next day, I give her HC food because I know it will bring her up. I set an alarm and test once a couple of hours later just to make sure she is safe. Then if she is safe, I go back to sleep until I have to get up to get ready for work. I've learned the HC will bring Furball up. It does give her higher numbers in the morning though. It is a trade off in order to get some sleep.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+4-60,+6-61,+10-119

119 at +10.... so, I fed him because I'd rather shoot an hour late than shoot too low. That means, as I see it, that he has three hours from now till PMPS and so it is okay to feed him. Comments on my strategy are welcome.
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+4-60,+6-61,+10-119

Maybe the bounce has started.

If it does you can start to see look for patterns which will help you manage this for next time... Thoughts to consider are.. How long does he take to bounce, how long does a normal bounce last on average, Do you need to give syrup early in the cycle or can you wait a little longer, can you test hourly instead of every 30minutes when he seems to be surfing?

Patterns are useful to keep you sane but sometimes they will throw a curve ball and do what you don't expect too!!

Wendy
 
Re: 9/09 Ozy AMPS-177,+2-85,+4-60,+6-61,+10-119

You bet I will get a +2. I will be fine tonight. I have had TWO good nights of sleep. I can handle whatever happens, I think.

I will also get a +5, no matter what +2 says.

Thanks for checking in with me.
 
You did a great job today. I'm sorry I couldn't hang around for the excitement!

One of the best examples for slowing the drop using LC with a drop of honey or syrup is Gabbys SS. Sienne has it down to an art.

I think you are getting it regarding the +2 and I think Ozy gives you some pretty good clues.
9/5 AMPS 165. +2 168 and he came down to 121
9/6 PMPS 155 +2.5 114 and down he went into green

Interestingly, it seems in many cases that if his PS is yellow and his +2 is yellow, he doesn't come down much but that can change. Also, he doesn't seem to be the kind of diver like some cats that are pink at PS and blue by +2. In fact, I don't see any time that he was pink at PS and came down to blue that cycle. Again, just an observation for now.

So I'd concentrate on the +2. For Ozy, if it is the same or lower then the PS, I'd get another test. If its a lot lower, I'd probably test sooner than later and perhaps try and slow the drop so he doesn't bounce hard.

I hope this helps. :-D

And I understand how hard it is to do this at night and work. I think Carla's suggestion is a good one. Sometimes you just have to abort the cycle by feeding HC so you can rest.
 
I think if you can stay awake for a +4 or take a nap and get up and check it, that will work.

BTW, I also don't get too caught up in trying to figure out exactly when Gracies nadir is because it changes. If she has really good duration, her nadir will be later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top