9/08 Biggie PMPS 129 +20mins 134 +1.75 248 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/08 Biggie PMPS 129 +20mins 134 +1.75 248

Should I shoot PM since he is going back up? With TR I’m not sure if I’m ready to shoot under 150?

ETA Retested after 20 mins and he was 134, basically the same. I decided to shoot b/c he is going back up. Would like advice on whether you think I am ready to shoot low (for me that is under 150) when he is trending up?

@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Won’t answer your question, but replying to bump this up so a more experienced member will see it.

But… I used to be scared of shooting in the 100’s… now, I’m sad to see anything below 95 at PS time! It’s all anxiety-provoking. Take each day and ‘first lowest shot’ at a time and keep tracking. The more data you have the more confident you will get for how Biggie and his little pancreas will respond.
 
Won’t answer your question, but replying to bump this up so a more experienced member will see it.

But… I used to be scared of shooting in the 100’s… now, I’m sad to see anything below 95 at PS time! It’s all anxiety-provoking. Take each day and ‘first lowest shot’ at a time and keep tracking. The more data you have the more confident you will get for how Biggie and his little pancreas will respond.

Thanks for your support, Jen! I feel like I have a good amount of data on him now but still want to be very cautious and I don’t want to assume I know when I’m still so new at this.

He shot back up to 248 almost 2 hours later…so he definitely needed that shot. I think he gets worn out with all the fluctuating numbers. He’s having a nice snooze now in his laundry basket bed.
upload_2022-9-8_23-0-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-9-8_23-0-38.jpeg
    upload_2022-9-8_23-0-38.jpeg
    84.3 KB · Views: 61
The little paw hanging out!!! He looks so content and comfy! Is this his specific basket or did he just claim it today?

You are totally killing it on the testing/data collection front!
 
I work from home, so it helps…you guys get tons of readings for Sugar, too!

I just made that basket up for him with a blanket and soft bed inside to try to encourage him to not sleep under the bed where it’s dusty and he has allergies..and it also makes it hard for me to get him to poke his ear. He used to sleep in an old chewy box that I had to throw away b/c it got gross. So I’m happy this basket seems to be a hit with him…
 
Sorry for the late response. Just getting online today. If you can test, you can shoot any number over 50 with TR. Almost everyone here has freaked out at shooting lower numbers initially, but with time you realize that shooting low gives you flatter cycles than bounce clearing cycles where there is more downward momentum.

Till a cat gets used to lower numbers, you can almost count on them bouncing from lower numbers. If you can monitor, just shoot. Sometimes stalling can cause numbers to drop without food - making the shooting decision even more difficult!

Lovely pic! What is it about their paws that are so edible! I want to gobble them.
 
Back
Top