8/9Zener PMPS 340;+1 352;+2 290;+3 260 bean stress? ATrk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
It's another pink sunrise, but not for long..

Zener's condo 8/8/11

Yesterday's summary
08/08/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 338, 6th cycle @ 1.5 u, fed FDCK, 2 t. 11%
+1 fed 2t 10%
+3 229, fed 2t. 10%
+5, fed 3t 10%
+6 171, fed 2t 10%
+10 168, fed 2t 10%
PMPS 221, 7th cycle @ 1.5 u, fed 3t. 10%
+2.5 261, fed 2t 10%
+4, 2t. 10%
Left out 2t 10% overnight, gone by +11
+11 363, FDCK

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs

Today looks a lot like yesterday so far. We moved his shot forward this morning so did not increase his dose. Will see how he does tonight and if numbers stay high, will move forward a little bit again and may try a fat 1.5 u as Jill suggested rather than a full 0.25. We're almost to get back on our work schedule.

Hope everyone has a calm day!
 
Re: 08/09 Zener AMPS 342;+2 290 A Trak

Anne & Zener said:
Will see how he does tonight and if numbers stay high, will move forward a little bit again and may try a fat 1.5 u as Jill suggested rather than a full 0.25.
from yesterday --- "or you could take the dose up a quarter unit if your schedule allows you to monitor carefully over the next few days." :-D

per our discussion last night...
if you haven't had a chance, please review the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS (formerly known as the "becoming data ready" sticky). i've recently revised it in an effort to clarify how to deal with shooting on and dealing with low numbers when using the tight regulation protocol with lantus or levemir.

hope you have a good day!
 
Re: 08/09 Zener AMPS 342;+2 290 A Trak

Jill & Alex said:
Anne & Zener said:
Will see how he does tonight and if numbers stay high, will move forward a little bit again and may try a fat 1.5 u as Jill suggested rather than a full 0.25.
from yesterday --- "or you could take the dose up a quarter unit if your schedule allows you to monitor carefully over the next few days." :-D

per our discussion last night...
if you haven't had a chance, please review the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS (formerly known as the "becoming data ready" sticky). i've recently revised it in an effort to clarify how to deal with shooting on and dealing with low numbers when using the tight regulation protocol with lantus or levemir.

hope you have a good day!

Thanks Jill!

We have read the revised document and are around to monitor, but both of us are having some health issues right now and not sleeping through the night is only making it worse. We can monitor during the day but not through the night. We are just not able to do all the monitoring necessary at night and take care of ourselves. The stress is taking its toll and we are doing the very best we can. I'll post his numbers and we'll see how the day goes.
 
Re: 08/09 Zener AMPS 342;+2 290 A Trak

Thanks Jill, we may have to keep moving a little slowly for a little bit with Zener, while we deal with all our recent stresses! We so appreciate all the help from the list and couldn't be doing it at all without the information, education and support we get from you and everyone on the board.
 
Re: 08/09 Zener AMPS 342;+2 290;+6.5 331 A Trak

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs

Looks like we're back on the pink floor. I'm off to the pet store to get the foods we were mixing to get a 10% that Zener would eat, must in case it is the little big higher carb having an effect today. We're planning to move his shot forward 15 minutes tonight and give a fat 1.5u.

How does everyone cope with the stress? We are so afraid when he drops and then we worry when he is too high. We need to be able to do this but manage our stress so OUR health is not also affected. Between the BG, urination in the house, and finding something Zener will eat, we are really struggling.
 
Re: 08/09ZenerAMPS 342;+2 290;+6.5 331;+9 313 bean stress? A

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs

Not been eating well today, maybe the higher numbers? We're going forward 10 minutes tonight and a increase to a fat 1.5 tonight, unless numbers tell us otherwise. We are both exhausted.
 
Re: 08/09ZenerAMPS342;2 290;6.5 331;9 313;11 347 bean stress

It's a pink day.... :YMSIGH:

I don't know why I write down my plans before shot times, it rarely ends up that way ;-)

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs
+11 347, freeze dried chicken treat

We are going to increase 0.25 tonight, as he is just about back to his AMPS and has been relatively flat and high all day. we were at 1.5u for 8 cycles and are still not in numbers we had hoped for.
 
Re: 08/09Zener PMPS 340 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

A high, flat day.
Because we went with a dose increase tonight, 0.25u, we didn't change his shot time. Still have 1 1/2 weeks to move him forward by an hour, so should be plenty of time....depending on all the many variables of Zener's numbers. ;-)

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs
+11 347, freeze dried chicken treat
PMPS 340 1st cycle at 1.75u, fed 3 t 11% carbs

This is our second go-round at 1.75u dose. We are getting Zener to eat much better now than then, although we have had to use higher carb foods (8-11%). We think this has gotten him eating better, stabilized his weight, and are hoping that by keeping the level of carbs consistent this will help us keep his doses consistent too. I also think my measurement of the 1.75 previously was not the most accurate and I may have been giving him more than that, which might explain why we were seeing different numbers in the morning (when Liz shoots) and dropping low in the evening when I shoot.

Both beans are really stressing and having health issues because of the stress. How do you all manage to keep this up? The lack of sleep issue at night is a huge one for us, and we are very worried about how we will manage when we are back at work. Any advice would be great!
 
Re: 8/9Zener PMPS 340;+1 352 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs
+11 347, freeze dried chicken treat
PMPS 340 1st cycle at 1.75u, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+1 352, fed 1 oz 11% carbs

We are grateful not to see the express elevator at +1 on the new dose. :thumbup
 
Re: 08/09Zener PMPS 340 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

Anne & Zener said:
Both beans are really stressing and having health issues because of the stress. How do you all manage to keep this up? The lack of sleep issue at night is a huge one for us, and we are very worried about how we will manage when we are back at work. Any advice would be great!

First off, you have to care of yourselves. Without you guys Zener would be in deep trouble.

You have some time before your back to work. This is the time to do some soul searching. You have a taste of what it can be like. It's a big sacrifice.

What is your goal with Mr. Zs FD?
If you go with the "take no prisoners" tight regulation in hopes of remission route, there could be crazy spells from time to time. How long you will have to keep at it is an unknown..
Maybe it would be better be lass aggressive and focus on getting the Z man into a nice groove in a safe BG range, at least for a while. So you guys can recharge and settle into some sort of rhythm that will work; a place where there is some sort of balance where Zener is healthy and safe and you guys are better rested.

We were lucky in that DBF (aka the nightwatchman) is a night owl . Even at that, I spent my share of nights sleeping (sleep-testing really) in my office (in the cottage out back where BK lives).

I'm sure there are others who have a similar situation as yours, 2, or even 1 bean working and managing.

I wish I had a magic wand I could wave and make all the stress of treating FD melt away for everyone...
 
Re: 08/09Zener PMPS 340 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Anne & Zener said:
Both beans are really stressing and having health issues because of the stress. How do you all manage to keep this up? The lack of sleep issue at night is a huge one for us, and we are very worried about how we will manage when we are back at work. Any advice would be great!

First off, you have to care of yourselves. Without you guys Zener would be in deep trouble.

Thanks Sandy, it always helps to be reminded of what is the most important!

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
You have some time before your back to work. This is the time to do some soul searching. You have a taste of what it can be like. It's a big sacrifice.
Having had a couple of health scares recently has made us take a good look at what we are capable of managing. And we really appreciate the sacrifice. We didn't think that would be so difficult, but the stresses causing health issues is a wake-up call.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
What is your goal with Mr. Zs FD?
If you go with the "take no prisoners" tight regulation in hopes of remission route, there could be crazy spells from time to time. How long you will have to keep at it is an unknown..

Maybe it would be better be lass aggressive and focus on getting the Z man into a nice groove in a safe BG range, at least for a while. So you guys can recharge and settle into some sort of rhythm that will work; a place where there is some sort of balance where Zener is healthy and safe and you guys are better rested.

Our goal with Mr Z is to be in a nice groove with safe BG ranges and have him feeling good and doing what he likes to do. Definitely balance is our goal. If we achieved remission it would be great, but I'm not sure the "take no prisoners' approach is possible for us right now.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
We were lucky in that DBF (aka the nightwatchman) is a night owl . Even at that, I spent my share of nights sleeping (sleep-testing really) in my office (in the cottage out back where BK lives).
I am more of the night owl than Liz and usually do the evening early cycle checks. But since I had to have emergency surgery, my energy is quite low and my night owl ways are curtailed while I am recovering. Just about the time I hit my stride, we will be back at work, so weekends I can "night owl" but not during the week.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I'm sure there are others who have a similar situation as yours, 2, or even 1 bean working and managing.
I am sure there are others doing this and managing and would love to hear any tricks or wisdom to help us with being able to relax a little through this journey.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I wish I had a magic wand I could wave and make all the stress of treating FD melt away for everyone...
Wouldn't that be wonderful? If I find a magic wand and can make it work, I'll be sure and post to the board! :lol:

Thanks so much for responding and for the tips, it helps so very much.
 
Re: 8/9Zener PMPS 340;+1 352;+2 290 bean stress? ATrk

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs
+11 347, freeze dried chicken treat
PMPS 340 1st cycle at 1.75u, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+1 352, fed 1 oz 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 1 oz 11% carbs

Exactly where he was @ +2 this morning, always surprises me when I see the exact same numbers. Will get a +3 and see how the numbers are looking. Zener is eating tonight without too much prompting, that helps us a lot!
 
Re: 8/9Zener PMPS 340;+1 352 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

There really aren't any great answers to managing the stress other than what Sandy suggested -- what are your goals. I'm probably not the best person to ask about how to do this. Since it's just me, I do burn the candle at both ends. I've been known to point out that sleep is vastly over-rated. Tight regulation is not for everyone. That said, what I have learned is that Gabby tends to drop fast and early in the cycle. Given her pattern, I've arranged my shot times and work schedule so I'm around to deal with Gabby's numbers.
 
Re: 8/9Zener PMPS 340;+1 352 dosecrease & bean stress? ATrk

Sienne and Gabby said:
There really aren't any great answers to managing the stress other than what Sandy suggested -- what are your goals. I'm probably not the best person to ask about how to do this. Since it's just me, I do burn the candle at both ends. I've been known to point out that sleep is vastly over-rated. Tight regulation is not for everyone. That said, what I have learned is that Gabby tends to drop fast and early in the cycle. Given her pattern, I've arranged my shot times and work schedule so I'm around to deal with Gabby's numbers.

Oh, it helps to get many perspectives, it really does! I use to be able to do with much less sleep, but after hitting 55 something happened. Maybe I burned up all my candles! We are still trying to get more data to recognize pattern in Zener. Sometimes it seems as if he has a late nadir, then others he drops like a rocket early in his cycle. I am hoping his more consistent eating with the 8-11% carbs, set feeding times and consistent dozing will help. We have our work schedules set for me to be home most mornings for at least a +2, one of us to come home mid cycle, and also one of us will be home for his pm testing and shot. Thanks for sharing your strategies!
 
We're back in the yellow again.

Today
08/09/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 342 8th cycle at 1.5u, very picky this morning and not interested in eating, ate FDCK treat, after about 15 minutes, ate 2t 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+6.5 331, fed 2t 11% carbs
+9 313, fed 2t 10% carbs
+11 347, freeze dried chicken treat
PMPS 340 1st cycle at 1.75u, fed 3 t 11% carbs
+1 352, fed 1 oz 11% carbs
+2 290, fed 1 oz 11% carbs
+3 260, fed 3t. 11 % carbs

Well, we've had almost 100 point drop in the first 3 hours, but he still is in our comfort zone, so I'm off to bed soon. Liz will get a +11 in the morning.
I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top