8/9CharlieAMPS457+3 356+6 351+9 401PMPS400+3 382+6 400

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Another day in the no fly red zone.

Vet on Monday to do a urine culture and sensitivity test and hopefully get an antibiotic that will work.

In the meantime, I know people have indicated that lots of cats new to insulin bounce a lot, but I can't believe it's good for Charlie to bounce THIS MUCH.

I will call the vet tomorrow to see what she thinks, and if there's anything different that we could try over the weekend. In the meantime, if you have any thoughts on her chart and things we could be doing differently to improve the situation, let us know.

Thanks,
Jill
 
Re: 8/9 Charlie AMPS 457 +3 356 +6 351 +9 401 PMPS 400

I would increase Charlie's dose to 0.75u. I suspect that Charlie was started on too low of a dose and you're playing catch up. Have you given any more thought to getting a test for pancreatitis?
 
Re: 8/9 Charlie AMPS 457 +3 356 +6 351 +9 401 PMPS 400

Hi Sienne,

A previous blood test confirmed that Charlie was likely to have pancreatitis. I think we need to do this again with our new vet as I's like to be more sure of that. I will ask her about this on Monday.

You may be right about the need for an increase to .75, but I don't know how I feel about doing that before ridding Charlie of whatever infection she may have. I think that something is driving Charlie to bounce so much, and I wonder if after the antibiotics are done, she will become more stable. Since there have been days recently where she has landed in the green zone (August 5, August 2), I think that may be a sign that the current dose has that effect at moments and doesn't ONLY drive her up into bounces.

Thus, before making another change, I'd like to reduce the 1 remaining major variable (the leukocytes that still appeared in her urine as of Monday).

Does this make sense?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top