8/9 Shooter 502 before dental this am, pmps 360

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Having faith and giving things to God is so hard sometimes. I seem to especially struggle with this when it comes to my pets (I don’t have kids). If you are a believer please pray for my Shooter this morning. He is an old, diabetic and the thought of him being put under makes me very nervous.
 
Hi Heather I'm glad Shooter is home and everything went well. Please keep us posted on how he is doing :cat:
You might want to add Dental on the salmon colored line where you have vet on your SS sometimes members don't go all the way to the remarks column , just a suggestion :cat:
 
Last edited:
I'm sure his numbers will stay high all day since he didn't have insulin this morning. Assuming I shoot the normal 2u tonight?
Thanks for adding the Dental on your SS
Has he eaten anything yet since he's been home?
Have you tested him yet since he's been home
I think his numbers might stay high since no insulin this morning and having the dental. I hope having the dental will bring his numbers down.
Don't panic if his numbers might be high for a day or so due to having the dental
You can post his PMPS and ask about it
If I'm wrong I'm sure someone will say other wise
I can tag
@Wendy&Neko for you to see if she's around and
@Marje and Gracie

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

Thank you ladies in advance
 
That is so great. And only one resorptive lesion! I’ve seen worse. I was getting worried, but I had to remind myself that I had looked at his labs and thought it was all good for a dental. I stopped by really just to check up on Shooter. I hope he will soon be seeing better BGs! Look at Tiger for example! Paws crossed.
 
I'm sure his numbers will stay high all day since he didn't have insulin this morning. Assuming I shoot the normal 2u tonight?
See where he is. Depending on the anesthesia they used, we’ve seen the BG drop drastically at the end of the cycle to where the CG could not shoot especially if the mouth was sore and the kitty didn’t want to eat. The best anesthesia to use to prevent this is alfaxalone. You can look at his discharge sheet and it should state what anesthesia they used.
 
Thanks for adding the Dental on your SS
Has he eaten anything yet since he's been home?
Have you tested him yet since he's been home

Ha! Yes! He has been eating ever since he walked in the door! Well, the 2 times I put food out since we've been home. He seems to be his normal ravenous self. lol I just did his pmps at he was 360, so I gave his normal 2 units. Then I gave him his liquid Clavamox but I'm hesitant on giving him the pill Onsior. I don't know if it doesn't come in liquid or what. I don't want to have to pry his mouth open to try to get a pill down his throat. If he's acting fine and eating fine does he need it? I know cats mask pain pretty well though. I have liquid gaba maybe I could mix with a little wet food and syringe in his cheek?
 
See where he is. Depending on the anesthesia they used, we’ve seen the BG drop drastically at the end of the cycle to where the CG could not shoot especially if the mouth was sore and the kitty didn’t want to eat. The best anesthesia to use to prevent this is alfaxalone. You can look at his discharge sheet and it should state what anesthesia they used.

He started out this morning before the vet at 502 (7:30am). When I brought him home 7 hours later (2:30) he was 481 then I fed him. Now at 7:00pm he's at 360 then I gave his shot and fed again right away. As far as anesthesia, it says preanesthetic and anesthetic agents: buprenorphine, ampicillin and propofol. Inhalant anesthesia: isoflurane
 
That is so great. And only one resorptive lesion! I’ve seen worse. I was getting worried, but I had to remind myself that I had looked at his labs and thought it was all good for a dental. I stopped by really just to check up on Shooter. I hope he will soon be seeing better BGs! Look at Tiger for example! Paws crossed.

Thank you so much for stopping in to check on Shooter. :kiss::cat:
 
I've never used gabapentin with my kitties. It's more for nerve pain than anything else. It may take a while for the remains of the anesthesia and the buprenorphine to work their way out of Shooter's system. Generally, you want to try to stay ahead of the pain. I'm surprised that if they were using bupe in the clinic that they sent you home with a pill vs a liquid.
 
I've never used gabapentin with my kitties. It's more for nerve pain than anything else. It may take a while for the remains of the anesthesia and the buprenorphine to work their way out of Shooter's system. Generally, you want to try to stay ahead of the pain. I'm surprised that if they were using bupe in the clinic that they sent you home with a pill vs a liquid.

Ya, I don't know what their deal is. I mentioned buprenorphine to them before for my pancreatic kitty and they just kind of beat around the bush about it. I have another vet I use sometimes. He's much further away but I could probably get a script from him for it. Thankfully tonight I was able to get the Onsior down Shooter pretty easily. We'll see how tomorrow goes. ;)
 
Ya, I don't know what their deal is. I mentioned buprenorphine to them before for my pancreatic kitty and they just kind of beat around the bush about it. I have another vet I use sometimes. He's much further away but I could probably get a script from him for it. Thankfully tonight I was able to get the Onsior down Shooter pretty easily. We'll see how tomorrow goes. ;)
I don’t like Onsior because of potential kidney problems since it is an NSAID. A lot of vets do not want to give out Bupe anymore because of it being a controlled substance.
 
Last edited:
Ha! Yes! He has been eating ever since he walked in the door! Well, the 2 times I put food out since we've been home. He seems to be his normal ravenous self. lol I just did his pmps at he was 360, so I gave his normal 2 units. Then I gave him his liquid Clavamox but I'm hesitant on giving him the pill Onsior. I don't know if it doesn't come in liquid or what. I don't want to have to pry his mouth open to try to get a pill down his throat. If he's acting fine and eating fine does he need it? I know cats mask pain pretty well though. I have liquid gaba maybe I could mix with a little wet food and syringe in his cheek?
That's great to hear he's eating like a little piggy :p
Keep us updated ok, he's such a cutie :cat::bighug:
 
@Suzanne & Darcy - Onsior is very specific with regard to the instructions for it's use. It's not supposed to be prescribed for more than 3 days.
Yes. I know. Thanks. I still won’t use it in my older cats though - maybe younger ones (in fact I have used Onsior my younger ones in the past for orthopedic surgery recovery or orthopedic injury.) I used Onsior on Darcy and his kidneys failed. I can never know if it played a role in that since “correlation does not imply causation.” I have just made a personal decision to try to avoid all NSAIDs in my cats at this point since they can be so problematic for the kidneys and liver due to the way cats metabolize them. I will always ask for Buperenorphine instead. I was just reading a very good article on cats and NSAIDS in Today’s Veterinary Practice. I know vets wish they had more options in treating cat pain! Me too. Thanks!!
 
Yes. I know. Thanks. I still won’t use it in my older cats though - maybe younger ones (in fact I have used Onsior my younger ones in the past for orthopedic surgery recovery or orthopedic injury.) I used Onsior on Darcy and his kidneys failed. I can never know if it played a role in that since “correlation does not imply causation.” I have just made a personal decision to try to avoid all NSAIDs in my cats at this point since they can be so problematic for the kidneys and liver due to the way cats metabolize them. I will always ask for Buperenorphine instead. I was just reading a very good article on cats and NSAIDS in Today’s Veterinary Practice. I know vets wish they had more options in treating cat pain! Me too. Thanks!!

Because he is eating, drinking, cuddling and acting fine I just gave him an Onsior the first night, not last night. My question now is his bg's being higher. Wondering if it's because of the Clavamox. When I tasted it just to see what it was going to be like for him, it was very sweet. I'm assuming it has sugar in it.
 
Because he is eating, drinking, cuddling and acting fine I just gave him an Onsior the first night, not last night. My question now is his bg's being higher. Wondering if it's because of the Clavamox. When I tasted it just to see what it was going to be like for him, it was very sweet. I'm assuming it has sugar in it.
Oh no. I forgot they gave you liquid clavamox! That will raise BG. Can you pill him? Can you sub it out for a different antibiotic that is sugar free. I would ask the vet about it. Or you could tough it out and deal with the BG for a little longer.
 
Oh no. I forgot they gave you liquid clavamox! That will raise BG. Can you pill him? Can you sub it out for a different antibiotic that is sugar free. I would ask the vet about it. Or you could tough it out and deal with the BG for a little longer.

Because he is being such a good boy taking the syringe in the cheek (I think a lot has to do with the fact that it IS sweet because he does/did like sweets) I'm just going to tough it out. Right now it's hard to tell if he's bouncing from hitting 90 yesterday or if he's up because of the Clav. However, I just checked him at +9 and he's at 174. It's high blue's but at least it's blue! :) Oh, I just got his urinalysis results today. I will post them in the lab tab.
 
So in going over his urinalysis, it looks to me like everything is good except the glucose (of course). I'm a little surprised that he didn't have any ketones with as high as his blood sugar was that day and had been in the prior days. Do high bg's and ketones not go hand in hand?
 
High numbers don't necessarily predict ketones. Ketones may develop if there's an infection/inflammation, the kitty isn't eating (getting enough calories), and there's not enough insulin. Because there's a bounce, doesn't mean there will be ketones. If your cat is prone to ketones, it can be worrisome but if this isn't the case for your cat, I wouldn't worry.
 
Back
Top