8/9 Paisley AMPS~346, +9.75~248, PMPS~314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Will be going back into the monitor to get times checked & results. Paisley was on 3u when I got her from the shelter on 7/26. Her numbers then were in the 200 and 300s so we dropped down to 1u using new insulin pen. There were a lot of things going on - new home, change of food 3 times, went AWOL for a few hours and missed a shot, and other "getting used to the new home" stuff. She's getting used to being here. Is meeting other cats and the droolers. She's eating Wellness for the past several days with one meal of Fancy Feast. She had started eating raw but changed her mind.

Numbers have not changed since decreasing insulin from 3u to 1u and starting a new insulin pen. I'm thinking it's time to increase her dose. Any thoughts?

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreads ... utput=html
(signature link isn't working properly)
 
Lylene:

There's not enough data to really draw any conclusions based on what's on Paisley's SS. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot values. While you've gotten a sporadic test during the AM cycle, there's no testing in the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers over night so it's important to get at the minimum, a before bed test.

I'm not sure what the rationale was for dropping Paisley's dose. With the stresses that you mentioned, it's likely that more, rather than less, insulin was needed. At this point, I'm reticent to make any recommendations until you are able to get more tests. Please take a look at this post.
 
hi Lylene,

ditto on the evening checks, just as important as preshot numbers.
does your schedule allow you to be around in the evening?
maybe a curve on a day off if you're home, give it a try, hopefully Paisley will show you some interesting numbers.
that info, any info during a cycle can help you see how Lantus is working on Paisley.

Welcome to you and Paisley, let us know how LL can help. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top