8/9 Minnie AMPS 187 +3 86 +5 60 +6 62 + 7 83 +11 192 / PMPS 259 +10 188

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Yesterday Minnie played pincushion and we reduced. Hurrah for the 0.5 again.

Just a little bounce last night! Was a relief though, I went straight to bed and didn't even bother with a +3... probably not 100% advisable but it was ok. They had plenty of food available.

8/8 Minnie AMPS 53 (PM+13.75) +1 77 +3.5 41 +3.75 33 +4.25 52 +5 61 +6 60 +7 70 +8 65 +9 110 +10 165
8/8 Minnie PMPS 244 +9 182
It was very weird getting a +10 at breakfast :)

Happy Monday and thanks again @Marje and Gracie. You all had a lot of divers to keep an eye on yesterday!
 
Yesterday Minnie played pincushion and we reduced. Hurrah for the 0.5 again.

Just a little bounce last night! Was a relief though, I went straight to bed and didn't even bother with a +3... probably not 100% advisable but it was ok. They had plenty of food available.

8/8 Minnie AMPS 53 (PM+13.75) +1 77 +3.5 41 +3.75 33 +4.25 52 +5 61 +6 60 +7 70 +8 65 +9 110 +10 165
8/8 Minnie PMPS 244 +9 182
It was very weird getting a +10 at breakfast :)

Happy Monday and thanks again @Marje and Gracie. You all had a lot of divers to keep an eye on yesterday!
You’re welcome. But i don’t want to take alot of accolades. See below.

I’m going to throw an iron in the fire here. :woot: See how she zoomed up from 64 to 110 and did not come back down until, probably, after onset from her next shot that night. That looks more like loss of duration than a bounce. Why? Because how fast she went up and that she is already coming back down. Of course, to know for sure, we’d have to know what she was at onset last night. I wouldn’t be surprised to see her come back down today. If she does, it was absolutely loss of duration yesterday that caused the BG to go up so suddenly.

What causes it? Lots of higher carb food. Sometimes we see loss of duration + a bounce. If she does not come back down today and she goes up more, then that’s what we are seeing. Bounces don’t usually initiate as quickly as many think so any time the BG goes up fast, it’s almost always loss of duration.

Thanks for the update to the SS. Much clearer!!! Great job. Enjoy the sailing.
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the explanation. I've read through a few times already (I'm a fast reader) and will need to read a few more to digest properly.

I understand what you're saying about loss of duration vs bounce, that makes sense. If I'm understanding correctly, you're saying her dose was less effective/started to run out at +9 because she had lots of higher carb food during that cycle? We 'used up' the insulin faster? So if she'd had lower carb food instead, the dose would have worked longer and her numbers stayed lower longer? And can this happen in back to back cycles?

And if she's going to bounce I might not see it til today or tonight? And of course the depot is still in play today, tonight and possibly tomorrow (I'm not entirely sure how long she takes to drain her depot but I think it's ~6 cycles).

Thanks again. This is fascinating. You've also inspired me to go and entice madam to eat some more. I don't want her dropping just before I go out!!
 
I think I’m gonna have to start paying more attention to minnie’s SS… with all the bouncing and “guess the nadir”’that I do I could probably learn from you guys!
 
:joyful: While we just boing boing boing sliiide to the greens, boing boing boing sliiide to the blues … a pink now, now a red… :eek:
sounds like a dance - let's. do. the. sugar bounce. aga-in.
I wouldn’t be surprised to see her come back down today. If she does, it was absolutely loss of duration yesterday that caused the BG to go up so suddenly.
You called it! and now I am shamelessly giving her some MC food to try and keep her up later/early evening. Probably overkill, and I am sure you will let me know :) and thank you in advance for doing so!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Ooh I like that version of the sugar song even better! :kiss: (IF Frank N Furter was an emoji hahah)

its just a bounce to the pinks… and then a slide thru the bluuuuuues…
 
I understand what you're saying about loss of duration vs bounce, that makes sense. If I'm understanding correctly, you're saying her dose was less effective/started to run out at +9 because she had lots of higher carb food during that cycle? We 'used up' the insulin faster? So if she'd had lower carb food instead, the dose would have worked longer and her numbers stayed lower longer? And can this happen in back to back cycles?
Not less effective, although some duration is lessened because of less absorption even though the dose is fine. Quite often, if alot of food is fed, especially MC or HC, and especially if it’s fed a little later in the cycle, it can really shorten duration. I know hers was not fed especially late in a Lev cycle but she probably had enough of it to affect the duration. The problem is, if the BG is really low, unless the kitty is really carb sensitive, you often don’t have any choice but to feed a higher carb food. It can happen in back-to-back cycles.

And if she's going to bounce I might not see it til today or tonight? And of course the depot is still in play today, tonight and possibly tomorrow (I'm not entirely sure how long she takes to drain her depot but I think it's ~6 cycles).
Possibly or you might not see it at all. Depends on how much she likes this dose, how much the depot is in play, etc.

You called it! and now I am shamelessly giving her some MC food to try and keep her up later/early evening. Probably overkill, and I am sure you will let me know :) and thank you in advance for doing so!
I try not to interfere with what a CG feeds in terms of carbs unless they are brand new and handling low numbers for the first time. This is because, at this point, you know your cat and how she responds to food much better than I do.

When I saw “sailing” on your agenda, I felt pretty sure that might be a non-starter :rolleyes::smuggrin:
 
Back
Top