8/9 Dexter Meowgan AMBG 152 +5 107 +10 121 PMBG 91 +1.25 93

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
Using a new Contour meter today, started comparing results last night to the PetTest Advocate Meter.

This was taken pre-meal, and he didn't have an insulin shot last night. We skipped it because he was 116 and not sure how low 1U would take him.

Would you recommend giving 1U?

Should I do a glucose curve with the new meter? How often should he be tested?
 
Using a new Contour meter today, started comparing results last night to the PetTest Advocate Meter.

This was taken pre-meal, and he didn't have an insulin shot last night. We skipped it because he was 116 and not sure how low 1U would take him.

Would you recommend giving 1U?

Should I do a glucose curve with the new meter? How often should he be tested?
Hi
I was looking at Dexter's SS and see you are following Tight Regulation where dosage adjustments are done more often, as needed, rather than holding a dose for several cycles.
You have a notation that you are feeding Purina ProPlan DM dry food. Is that an old notation? I believe TR requires all wet food.
Hugs to you and Dexter,
 
Hi
I was looking at Dexter's SS and see you are following Tight Regulation where dosage adjustments are done more often, as needed, rather than holding a dose for several cycles.
You have a notation that you are feeding Purina ProPlan DM dry food. Is that an old notation? I believe TR requires all wet food.
Hugs to you and Dexter,
I skimmed the differences when I signed up sadly.

I thought we were doing TR, we're more closely following SLGS.

We monitor his BG before & after meals, at least twice a day, and give insulin depending on his #s.
 
Using a new Contour meter today, started comparing results last night to the PetTest Advocate Meter.

This was taken pre-meal, and he didn't have an insulin shot last night. We skipped it because he was 116 and not sure how low 1U would take him.

Would you recommend giving 1U?

Should I do a glucose curve with the new meter? How often should he be tested?
Can you post in the Lantus Forum? You'll have great support there with plenty of eyes on the forum and tons of support. As far as the glucose curve - every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours is good.
 
Gave 1U insulin, skipped dosage last night because he dropped after eating.

This was after 12 hours fasting between meals.

We'll do a curve when my fiance can stay home for the day, sadly, he just won't let me test him. He constantly tries to move or turn his head, meanwhile just goes limp when she's here LOL.
 
Hi, I don't see any tests on the SS after PMPS last night?

Wanted to confirm that you've switched to a human meter from today? There are some formatting changes to be made to the SS for a switch from pet to human meter. I can help you with that.

You may want to look at gettting syringes so you can dose less than 1U. That way you can give a smaller dose twice a day. Cats don't get enough duration if insulin is given once a day.


Link to today's post in Health Forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-9-dexter-meowgan-ambg-152.251130/
(Requesting @Marje and Gracie and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to merge the condos)

Previous post on Health:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-08-2021-dexter-m-ambg-224-pmbg-205-116.251101/
 
Hi Bandit,

So it was pointed out to me that it could be confusing to use two different meters for one day so I only listed the results from the PetTest meter on the SS.

In the remarks column on the right I did two readings with the new meter we purchased yesterday.

Today, after getting the exact same reading twice last night, we'll be sticking with the Contour NEXT One human meter from here on out.
 
OK. Going to send you a PM for the format change of the SS :)

Thank you. We've also ordered and are awaiting the Dr. Elsey's CleanProtein Chicken from Amazon.

I have a feeling just the food change over the next week should bring him to levels he might not need insulin? 10%+ reduction in carbs and higher quality ingredients.

(The one initial complaint I had about Purina was the "chicken byproduct" listed as it's first ingredient lol.)
 
Done. Post on Health with above address moved into this post.

@DexterMeowgan Welcome to the LBL Land Forum. Could we please get your name as we are a close knit community here. Also, could you please remove your location from your signature block? It should go in your user profile but not your signature block for security reasons. We also don’t need “100 ml prefilled pen” but we do need food info.

Here’s the signature block info needed, please:
  • Caregiver & kitty's name
  • DX: Date
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Thanks very much.
 
I updated Sig with I believe the correct info, my names' Joseph. The real person the cat loves is Kristina, his fur momma lol.
 
PMBG was 91, falling from 121 taken 2 hours beforehand. Should he be dosed 1U or is it time to withhold and get syringes?

We're going to be switching him to CleanProtein dry food over the course of the week and suspect he might stay in normal ranges after that.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. Next time change your title to add the '?' prefix and add a part of the question to the title for eg "Can I shoot?"
That will help people scanning the board know that there is a question that needs answering in a thread :-)

It's good you didn't shoot 1U at night. That may have been too much. He probably needs 0.5U twice a day - just a guess. Could be more or less. Won't know unless you shoot and get tests.

You could get a box of ReliOn syringes from Walmart - $12.58 for a box of 100.

We're going to be switching him to CleanProtein dry food over the course of the week and suspect he might stay in normal ranges after that.
Some cats go into remission soon after a diet change. Some need small amounts of insulin for a short while after as well.
 
Back
Top