8/9 Callie PMPS 250, 219 +2, 79 +2:40, diff results @ + 3:49

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-5-130-3-75-75-5-70-8-5-176-9-206-10.251083/

Good morning - the libre is giving errors again at +1 so we will keep trying and if we can't get a good libre reading*, we will do a manual test at +2 to see where we are.

*editing to say we just got a libre reading of 261 at + 1.5

Callie had a great morning, running around and playing like a kitten :) and now she's snoring away. I kept her up most of the night between the libre alarm going off, me trying to adjust her to get good readings and then trying to get her to eat when I got low numbers. Hopefully, we'll have a less exciting day and she and I will both get some good rest in. Stay tuned...

Have a good Monday everyone! :bighug:
 
We are in the yellows so far since the AMPS (really since +10 last cycle.) I assumed that there would be a bounce from Callie's low numbers last night/ early am - am I correct that that is what this is? (If so, I am very glad to be in the yellows instead of the pinks!) Also, if this is a bounce, is there any way to guesstimate how long it will last by looking at Callie's SS ? Assuming not since she hasn't been on Lantus long enough to establish a bounce "pattern" but just double-checking in case there is something I am missing...

No rush on this -- I am actually going to go grab a nap while we are in the yellows. My partner will be scanning Callie hourly and I'll enter BGs into the spreadsheet when I get up. He'll wake me up if anything goes haywire while I'm sleeping... Thanks!
 
Hope you had some sleep during the day :)

yeah, in my opinion this cycle looks like handbook bounce (if there were something like that :D), it is nice to see her bounce in yellow for a change :)

bounces can last from 1 to 6 cycles, no way to really know beforehand how long will this one last. If the +2 is lower or the same as the preshot you will know that it is an active cycle, so mothing keft to do than just test and wait :)

have a nice day :bighug:
 
Hope you had some sleep during the day :)

yeah, in my opinion this cycle looks like handbook bounce (if there were something like that :D), it is nice to see her bounce in yellow for a change :)

bounces can last from 1 to 6 cycles, no way to really know beforehand how long will this one last. If the +2 is lower or the same as the preshot you will know that it is an active cycle, so mothing keft to do than just test and wait :)

have a nice day :bighug:

Thank you! I did get some sleep :) which is especially good because, despite the bounce today, it looks like we might be off to the races again tonight. +2 was lower than looking at Callie's PMPS and would probably have been even lower if we had not brought Callie's food dish over to her when we got the +1.5 reading (210 with a downward sloping arrow.)

Hope you had a good evening and are having a good day so far today. I am going to make some coffee and we'll keep scanning the libre every 30 mins to see where we are at. I'm sure I will be back shortly with an update ...
 
Update: we got an error message from the libre at +2.5 so were waiting to scan again when we got a low alert (80 or lower.) Reading = 79 at +2:40. She dropped from 219 at +2! We are going to try to get a manual BG at +4 or +5 to check against the libre.

We gave her LC food and she ate a good amount. Libre error +3. Will try to scan again in 10 mins.
 
Update: another low alarm on libre and when scanned, BG =65 @ +3:49 BUT we did a manual test on the one touch and got 165 @ +3:51 (2 mins later.)

We should assume the one touch is more accurate, correct? And if so, what should our manual testing schedule look like tonight? (I will stay up with Callie again but if I can't get manuals on my own, will need to figure out when to wake my partner to help.) Or should I just work with the libre and understand that it is likely 100 points wrong at those lower numbers??
 
It is recommended here to only use one meter and not compare two different ones, in my opinion the 70 and the 65 are just off, the rest seem to fit a pattern. BUT i would NOT ignore them. when you out 3:50 does it mean almost +4? Do you do you shots at 12am and pm?
When did you last feed. I’ll tag Bhooma to see if she is around @Bandit's Mom
 
The Libre is known to give the occasional low wonky numbers. For this cycle, it seems like the numbers you got on the OneTouch are more reliable.

244 to 219 to 79 to 143 to 65 in half hour intervals with just LC food doesn't make sense.

I think you may be staying up for numbers that are incorrrect. Even that 70 at +8 last night looked off to me.
Based on the 165 at +3.5 with the One Touch, I think it may be safe to go bed. Get one more read off the Libre and call it a night.
 
It is recommended here to only use one meter and not compare two different ones, in my opinion the 70 and the 65 are just off, the rest seem to fit a pattern. BUT i would NOT ignore them. when you out 3:50 does it mean almost +4? Do you do you shots at 12am and pm?
When did you last feed. I’ll tag Bhooma to see if she is around @Bandit's Mom

Oh, I may have misunderstood something yesterday -- Callie has a freestyle libre sensor (that is nearing the end of its life for sure) and I thought that when we were getting lower readings/ alarms on it yesterday, you guys wanted us to get manual readings to confirm the numbers because it was possible the libre was giving wonky readings at lower numbers. That's why we did that tonight.

We do shots at 8a and 8p so we are not making shot decisions right now. Just decisions about whether I should stay up all night with her again given her bouncing numbers and how often to manually test the rest of tonight (if at all - we are still getting libre readings most of the time but are now not really sure about accuracy.) It is 1:15 am now and the libre +5 reading was 116.

Yes, +3:50 means almost +4 (should I calculate the decimal instead?) In our case where we gave the shot at 8pm, +3:50 was 11:50pm.

Callie is a grazer so she has wet food out and available a lot of the time. The last time she ate something was about an hour and a half ago when we gave her a treat to do the manual test.
 
The Libre is known to give the occasional low wonky numbers. For this cycle, it seems like the numbers you got on the OneTouch are more reliable.

244 to 219 to 79 to 143 to 65 in half hour intervals with just LC food doesn't make sense.

I think you may be staying up for numbers that are incorrrect. Even that 70 at +8 last night looked off to me.
Based on the 165 at +3.5 with the One Touch, I think it may be safe to go bed. Get one more read off the Libre and call it a night.

Got it, makes sense. The libre was 116 at +5. I'll do another at +6 just to be safe and then get some sleep. Thank you both!
 
Oh, I may have misunderstood something yesterday -- Callie has a freestyle libre sensor (that is nearing the end of its life for sure) and I thought that when we were getting lower readings/ alarms on it yesterday, you guys wanted us to get manual readings to confirm the numbers because it was possible the libre was giving wonky readings at lower numbers. That's why we did that tonight.
Yes, I remember this. Marina must have missed yesterday's post :)

Yes, +3:50 means almost +4 (should I calculate the decimal instead?) In our case where we gave the shot at 8pm, +3:50 was 11:50pm.
Oh I see. +3.5 here means 30 mins past +3. You could record 50 mins past 3 as +3.75

Just decisions about whether I should stay up all night with her again given her bouncing numbers and how often to manually test the rest of tonight (if at all - we are still getting libre readings most of the time but are now not really sure about accuracy.) It is 1:15 am now and the libre +5 reading was 116.
I would say it is very safe to go to bed if you got a 165 at nearly +4 on a human meter.

You needn't test every hour with a human meter. We normally ask the CG to get a test at +2. With Lantus, that is usually around when the onset is and a reasonable predictor of the cycle ahead. If +2 is flat or lower compared to the PS, we suggest another test later in the cycle (around +4/+5).

It's only in very active cycles with numbers below 100 that you have to stay up testing.
 
Oh, I may have misunderstood something yesterday -- Callie has a freestyle libre sensor (that is nearing the end of its life for sure) and I thought that when we were getting lower readings/ alarms on it yesterday, you guys wanted us to get manual readings to confirm the numbers because it was possible the libre was giving wonky readings at lower numbers. That's why we did that tonight.

We do shots at 8a and 8p so we are not making shot decisions right now. Just decisions about whether I should stay up all night with her again given her bouncing numbers and how often to manually test the rest of tonight (if at all - we are still getting libre readings most of the time but are now not really sure about accuracy.) It is 1:15 am now and the libre +5 reading was 116.

Yes, +3:50 means almost +4 (should I calculate the decimal instead?) In our case where we gave the shot at 8pm, +3:50 was 11:50pm.

Callie is a grazer so she has wet food out and available a lot of the time. The last time she ate something was about an hour and a half ago when we gave her a treat to do the manual test.
Haha, you are definitely correct about us asking you to take another reading just to be sure, sorry for sounding conflicting. Most of us don’t use libre (i dont because they don’t sell it Czechia :D) because they are short lived and then you will anyway have to go back to manual testing but it introduces this uncertainty. Even when testing manually, if we get a read that doesn’t make sense we retest it just to make sure.
I asked about the shot times because from your notes i had the feeling your +2 is 2 AM :) but i probably just misread something on the SS
 
I would say it is very safe to go to bed if you got a 165 at nearly +4 on a human meter.

You needn't test every hour with a human meter. We normally ask the CG to get a test at +2. With Lantus, that is usually around when the onset is and a reasonable predictor of the cycle ahead. If +2 is flat or lower compared to the PS, we suggest another test later in the cycle (around +4/+5).

It's only in very active cycles with numbers below 100 that you have to stay up testing.

Great! I am happy to be able to get some sleep tonight. I think most of my confusion/fear came from the fact that last night and earlier tonight, the libre made it look like Callie's BG does these random freefalls. Good to know that it is very unlikely that is happening and that we can rely on the one touch #s.

I will adjust my odd spreadsheet numbers to decimals tomorrow so they are less confusing. Hope you both have a good rest of day!
 
Back
Top