8/9 Bobby AMPS 275 +3 215 +5 218 +7 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

jucova30

Member Since 2014
Yesterday Condo?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123166

I know I should have tested more last night but I fell asleep and woke up at midnight to feed a very hungry kitty.
Today 8/9/
AMPS 275
+3 215 (he ate 1 hour before this test)
+5 218
We are thinking to change the shot schedule to 1 hour earlier, we have 2 days for that, that will give me time to test +2 before going to work and this momma will have a bit more peace of mind (not too much) and I will be back for next shot time ( Mon, Tue, Wed) the other days DH will be home and he will be monitoring during AMPS.
How can we start doing this? only AMPS ?

Thanks wonderful people
Judy
 
Re: 8/9 Bobby AMPS 275 +3 215

Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O) :cool:

Regarding safely changing the schedule, you can either shoot 15 mins early each of the next 4 cycles or shoot 30 mins early once each 24 hrs (so 30 mins tonight and 30 mins tomorrow night). Either way will bring you to the desired shot time by Monday AM
 
Re: 8/9 Bobby AMPS 275 +3 215

being able to get a +2, combined with a timed feeder that you can customize to open when you want it to, goes a long ways towards peace of mind when you're working.

do you have a timed feeder yet? you want to get him used to eating from it before you're gone to work and really NEED him to eat from it.
 
Oh My, I don't have the timed feeder and there is no guarantee that he will eat before the 7 other cats eat it all (they probably will finish before he gets to eat and I can't afford to buy 8 of them at one time. What to do now :?
 
food is the first strategy in dealing with blood sugar. is he alone all day while you're at work? if so, you might want to consider isolating him (sorry bobby!) in a bedroom with a litter box and leave him food.

some people mix canned food with water and freeze in muffin tins or ice cube trays. different sizes will thaw at different speeds. then you can leave the food out. you're going to want to experiment with this to make sure he'll eat it. some will it it frozen, some won't want their food soupy, some won't eat cold food. the ideal situation is if he'll graze on food. mine wouldn't - he'd eat everything at once. that's where a timed feeder comes in handy.

we had a recent discussion on timed feeders. Perhaps something in here will be helpful to you. they really are fantastic for helping when you work.
 
Thank you Julie, you all guys are fantastic! Tomorrow I'll check with my local pet store, actually I Have to start work this Wednesday, but I want to set up a schedule and cover as much I can.
This is how it looks today.
AMPS 271
+2.5 215
+5 218
+7.5 240
PMPS 298
 
it's a great idea to make sure he'll eat from it before you are really counting on it.

my husband and i used to shoot punkin at 7am. we always fed him at +3 (10am) so the timed feeder always went off at that point. if he had a lower preshot, we'd add settings for it to open at +3.5, +4 and +4.5 (11:30am). then either DH or I would jet home, test him and reset the feeder to keep opening if we thought it needed to. My lunch was at 11 at that time - just 30 minutes, and i'd eat in the car while i was driving, test him, reset the feeder if necessary & hop back in the car to drive back to work.

it was a bit crazy, but we did it for a couple of years and survived it. i work in a school, so at least there were plenty of vacations.
 
That is why I want to get it tomorrow I hope my local petstore has it and I can start tomorrow using it. I will be shooting at 4 am and I will be leaving home 645 am that give me a chance to test +2 . From now on Bobby is sleeping in the bedroom, I moved his favorite chair to the bedroom, he gets very agitated when I lock him in the bedroom by himself I will be leaving him and Momma (cat ) in the bedroom, he feels more calm with her in the bedroom.
Question: Do you test from inside ( no hair side) or outside (hair) of the ears?
 
Hi Judy!!

I haven't had a chance to welcome you and Bobby to Lantus Land. I hope you are getting a bit settled in here with our little family :-D

You are doing a great job of grabbing those tests!! I test inside or outside depending on what position my little princess is in :-D if she's sleeping and I have a better angle of the I side, that's where I poke. If Bobby has long hair on his ears, the inside might be easier.

We're glad you found us and ask any questions you have. We've all been where you are and everyone is very helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top