8/8 Star AMPS 93 +2 77 PMPS 77 +2 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

beccalecca

Member Since 2011
last condo
Less than a week until we move. I think we're halfway packed, so we'll be keeping busy this week. And I think we have a temp (2 mth) housing solution on the other side.

Here's my questions. Star's been holding nice greens/low blues. Is it good to wait till we move to try new doses out, or is this a dose we hold to for awhile? My more pressing question is this weekend. We are driving a moving truck and our car on Saturday/Sunday. Does Star get the usual dose, reduced, or none? What are the factors we should consider in deciding?
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

A little more info may help to answer your questions...

How long is the drive?
How well does Star travel?

I also gotta tell you, you can reduce Star's dose to 0.1u. A dose reduction can be earned with 7 days of mostly green numbers. Which then raises the issue of whether this drive is going to be stressful and mess with Star's numbers.

Rusty's bean, Ella, has traveled with both Rusty and Stu. You might want to drop her a PM asking about travel-related issues if she doesn't stop by.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

So it's a 14 hour drive that we're taking in two days. That means we'll be stopped at our home/hotel/in-laws at the usual dose times. We're traveling with two little girls strapped in car seats, and want to minimize the crazies.

Star has had some trips where she's fine and others that stressed her. She'll be in the truck with DH and not the car with the little beans.

You drop to .1 from a .5s?
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

Sorry. Not enough coffee. Dose would be 0.25u unless you think you can measure a skinny 0.5u.

Will you (or DH) be able to test when you're on the road? If you're going to shoot, thinking about getting tests when you stop will be important. I would hate to see Star lose this momentum.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

Hi guys .. wow, you have a lot going on don't you? Glad to see Sienne is here to help you figure out what the best thing to do for star is .. she certainly is looking good! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

Yeah, we will have to stop every so often for all our sakes, so I imagine we could test periodically. I mean, at a minimum we have to get gas, though I think the girls would go crazy if we didn't let them out to stretch once in awhile too.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 +2 77 Travel Questions

I'm planning a 6 1/2 drive in a couple of days, with my cats. I stop a couple of times to test, feed, and open their carriers in case they feel the urge to use the litter box which is behind the front seat on the floor. Also, consider having Star micro-chipped, just in case of an escape, either on the road or at your new residence.
I also use Rescue Remedy for long trips.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 +2 77 PMPS 77

Thanks for the suggestions. I went ahead with a .25 dose tonight so we'll see how that goes.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 +2 77 PMPS 77

Wow, these are great numbers today Star! I really don't know how you do it -- toddlers, sugar kitty, and a move. I barely remember to feed my cat sometimes.
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 dosing/travel questions

beccalecca said:
So it's a 14 hour drive that we're taking in two days. That means we'll be stopped at our home/hotel/in-laws at the usual dose times. We're traveling with two little girls strapped in car seats, and want to minimize the crazies.

Star has had some trips where she's fine and others that stressed her. She'll be in the truck with DH and not the car with the little beans.
another option is to skip the morning shots on the two travel days, but shoot at pmps time.

you never know what will happen when traveling. some kitties numbers rise from stress. others drop. sometimes they'll get car sick. most don't eat normally. many don't use the litterbox as often as they would at home. star is tightly regulated on a very low dose. a couple of missed shots will not matter in the general scheme of things. you'll have her back on track in no time. besides, you'll have your hands full as it is. why worry about a cat who's not eating or possibly upchucks dropping into numbers that are too low while you're on the road? skipping the two day time cycles would give you one less thing to worry about.

fwiw, jmo.

ps --- good luck with your move!
 
Re: 8/8 Star AMPS 93 +2 77 PMPS 77

Star's numbers are looking lovely. Good luck with the rest of your packing and the move. With the little ones (including Star), you sound so organized and well-planned!!
 
Thanks guys. I certainly hope we're prepared! :) And thanks for voicing another option Jill. I'm not decided one way or another. We'll have to transport all the insulin either way, so I can change my mind all the way up to shooting time! Great for the indecisive side in me, right?
 
you're right to see how things go and then decide. i only wanted to present another option because we've traveled 12 - 13 hours with cats and young grandchildren at the same time. i also know from first hand experience it's easy to get a tightly controlled cat back on track after skipping a shot.
and... i've been stressed when making a long distance move. who needs more! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top