8/8 Pumbaa AMPS/299 +6/195 +8/184 PMPS/244

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I'm not happy that we didn't hit a green this morning, and hope that Pumbaa doesn't make up for it in spades tonight with a dive. I still don't understand his nadirs all over the place, but will be posting a question in Health that may answer that. Hopefully!

I feel like I'm jinxing myself by typing how happy I am that Pumbaa didn't have a huge, ugly bounce after his greens yesterday. <--insert anti-jinx here 'cause I really want the little guy to stop bouncing and diving. (He was walking across my desk as I typed that, and is now sitting on the top level of his kitty condo reading over my shoulder, so I have to be careful what I type! *LOL*)

Depending on what he does tonight, I am thinking about moving him up to a full 2.50U in the morning, since he's been on a skinny 2.50 for 8 cycles now. I would love to nudge him down a tad and have more blues than yellows. I truly believe that increasing in such small amounts (fats and skinnies) is helping how he reacts to the insulin, and helping decrease/calm down his bounces and dives.

I have to thank Beck, the Border Collie, for nailing Pumbaa for me, a couple of times in the last 24 hours, when I was trying to catch the little guy for a test. *LOL* "Nailing" doesn't always mean trapping Pumbaa with one of her paws. Frequently, when Beck looms over Pumbaa, Pumbaa will go into belly-up submissive mode on the floor, which gives me enough time to swoop him up without having to chase him around the house. Good girl, Beck! If this sounds cruel, don't forget that Beck pretty much raised Pumbaa from the time he was about 8 weeks old. And, sometimes, when I call Beck off of her efforts to herd Pumbaa, Pumbaa looks up at me like, "We were PLAYING, Mom. Why did you stop the fun???" Pumbaa also does a good job of instigating playtime with Beck. So all is good!

Suze

ADDENDUM: It's almost 5 am and I need sleep but Pumbaa is still dropping. Now I understand where yesterday's AMPS of 66 came from.
Tonight's numbers:
PMPS: 244
+3: 250
+7.5: 143
+8.5: 135
+9: 93
+9.5: 87
+10: 93

What is causing his body to react like this? He's been eating his LC food...I make sure that they always have LC food available and I have seen him graze a bit after testing. If I go to bed now, I'll get 1-1/2 hours of sleep before I have to get up and test/feed/shoot. Even if I skip his morning shot, I still want to test him in another 2 hours to make sure he hasn't dropped any further. Zzzzzzzzz.......
 
Pumbaa said:
...Depending on what he does tonight, I am thinking about moving him up to a full 2.50U in the morning, since he's been on a skinny 2.50 for 8 cycles now. I would love to nudge him down a tad and have more blues than yellows. I truly believe that increasing in such small amounts (fats and skinnies) is helping how he reacts to the insulin, and helping decrease/calm down his bounces and dives...


ADDENDUM: It's almost 5 am and I need sleep but Pumbaa is still dropping. Now I understand where yesterday's AMPS of 66 came from.
Tonight's numbers:
PMPS: 244
+3: 250
+7.5: 143
+8.5: 135
+9: 93
+9.5: 87
+10: 93

What is causing his body to react like this? He's been eating his LC food...I make sure that they always have LC food available and I have seen him graze a bit after testing. If I go to bed now, I'll get 1-1/2 hours of sleep before I have to get up and test/feed/shoot. Even if I skip his morning shot, I still want to test him in another 2 hours to make sure he hasn't dropped any further. Zzzzzzzzz.......
I think the full 2.5 is a good move today or tomorrow, unless he actually earns a reduction or a hold the dose. Looks like the nadir is still shifted/shifting. Why does that happen? Good question. :smile:
 
After one hour of sleep, I just bumped him up to a flat 2.50U. Now maybe I can get a 2-hour nap in before testing him again.

His morning nadirs haven't been too far off. Not like the in the PM cycles a few times lately. And, he's had 4 cycles of not going up beyond a yellow. <--insert anti-jinx here.

Yeah, I have lots of good questions...just no good answers. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top