8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMBG 45-skipped shot tonight +4.5 ~116

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 47- time for decrease?

This is Napoleon second LOW pmps for the week under 50. Should I decrease dose to 2.75?
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 47- time for decrease?

it's also his 2nd time under 50 on this dose, so a reduction is worth a try. You can either go with a skinny 3 units, or with 2.75.

I would test again to see if he's rising first, just because this has been one of those cycles where he kept dropping the whole cycle and he might still be going down.
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 47- time for decrease?

That's not really going down, he's surfing, but I don't know that I would shoot 40's. Other people do, if they know their cat really well. You can feed just a couple of bites of his dinner to help hold him here. I know we say not to feed if we're stalling, but we also say "feed the 40's" and I think he might just keep dropping if he doesn't get a nibble.
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 47- time for decrease?

Just fed him. Worst night for this to happen - although it is good cause he earned a decrease! I am running low on test strips ( ordered 2 boxes from Amazon but won't be here till Tuesday) and have gotten very little sleep this past week. All things considered how bad would it be to skip a shot tonight? He recovered quickly from the BCS on Friday and we have never skipped a shot since beginning Lantus. I am just not comfortable considering all circumstances shooting him in the 40s tonight. Thank you as always for jumping in with some advice :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 45- time for decrease?

My heart stopped when I saw PMPS 45... yikes! I'm not one to shoot the 40s either.
Congrats on the dosecrease!

So did you decide to skip?
If you did, it's OK, but let me mention a couple of things... with all due respect.

I understand that you are low on strips - that's VERY important.... safety 1st ALWAYS.
However, you could toss a little something in the shed (as opposed to a total skip) - even 1/2 the dose would have been better than none.
Speaking of the shed, yeah... cannot forget about the shed. You may still want to get a +13 or a +bed time spot check.
You can always abort cycles with HC mix when you have to go to sleep.

Tomorrow is another day.
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 45- time for decrease?

Hi Helene,

My heart stopped too - was not expecting that one!! I just checked his BG after eating and it is 63.
I did decide to skip tonight. I am exhausted and so is he. I hope I will not live to regret it, but I just feel like it is the right thing to do. On another night - I am sure I would have given a BCS dose.In the future I am sure I will give a BCS dose or even the full dose. We had the same thing happen on Friday - he was 49 for his PMPS. He went up to 54 and I shot 1.5U. He did bounce but recovered after a day. Just something tugging me to just let this one be tonight. Like you said, tomorrow is another day. Thank you for your advice :smile: Should we stumble upon this situation again I am sure I will handle it by at least shooting something.
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 45- time for decrease?

No problem... now could i trouble you to change the subject line as to not cause further heart failures please.

Thanks and see you tomorrow... get some rest ( after you get a bed time spot check of course).
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 45- time for decrease?

:lol: You read my mind Helene. Just jumped back on to change it and I saw your post to us.

Thank you so much! You too. See you tomorrow ~O)
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMPS 45-skipped shot tonight

Guess it is actually called PMBG since it wasn't a preshot, know what I mean?
What a time! Hope you get a good night's sleep! :mrgreen:
Rest now Napoleon!
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMBG 45-skipped shot tonight

Hi Pat,

Thanks!

Just changed my title. I guess I could have afforded to shoot something, I will know for next time. But that 45 was the lowest he has ever been at a pre shot. I think he is one of those kitties that hits his nadir around 12 sometimes and it moves around. We'll see. Doscrease tomorrow....

Have a good night ;-)
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMBG 45-skipped shot tonight

just a suggestion, you might want to shoot the old dose one more time if he's high in the morning. That would give him a little head start on shed refilling.
 
Re: 8/8 Napoleon AMPS 232 PMBG 45-skipped shot tonight

Thank you Libby. I was thinking the same thing. If he is high tomorrow 3u it is ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top