8/8 Mickey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Very Active Member
+7 after PMPS last night at 10p tested at 5am 360

gave between 1.5 and 1.6 if that is possible. eyeballed it. Should I up it to just 1.6 or shoot for 1.8? We appear to be stuck in the three hundreds most of the time. Although if I had more data, (im trying) it would be easier :oops:
 
How much does Mickey eat?

I wouldn't worry about making .1 unit increments until you start seeing preshots in the low 200s. As you are home testing regularly (don't know if you are and not recording in spreadsheet) and getting spot checks in between, you can raise the dose .2 units every 3-4 days until your start seeing preshots in the low 200s and peaks in the 80s to 90s.
 
He usually eats he eats 3x day either ff chicken or liver and chicken- by nature 95% chicken/liver 2-3 oz per serving.
I am trying to test regularly what I have on my spread sheet is it. All of the x's were failed attempts. :-|
 
He is overweight and big. He was perfect at 18-20 lbs. However he did loose 1.8 lbs since dx with the food change so far. Have to weigh him again.
 
Maybe you should feed him twice a day or cut back on the food a bit. The more food he gets, the harder it's going to be to regulate him. Dr. Lisa says the average cat needs between 4-6 ounces of food a day. Since Mickey is a big boy and still relatively young, he can probably get a bit more but 9 ounces (or more) is obviously too much.

I know it's hard to cut back on food when they are unregulated and demanding more, but this is a case where some short term pain for both of you may leader to a long-term gain.
 
Hi Peggy!

I agree you can move in bigger increments since his #s don't seem to budge much. I know he is a bear to test, so with limited testing I would say tests in the +4 - +7 range, like this last one, are the way to go. If you can get one every few days to try to see what lows he may be getting, that with PSs is how you can judge the dose.

Although it's ideal to get tests in the other parts of the cycle, until he gets easier to test, I just don't see that happening, and for most of the time, I think a +5 or +6 combined with PSs will give you the best data you can get for now. If you start seeing wonky PSs that may change, but for now it just looks like not enough insulin to me, and the nadir tests every few days if you can will help confirm if that is really the case.

I saw someone on Health suggest the burrito technique for testing. I figure you've tried just about everything so have probably tried that as well, but thought I'd mention it just in case. I don't know the details, but I gather it's the wrapping them in a towel concept.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top