8/8 Dallas AMPS 403. Switching to TR

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
After putting in some thoughts we've decided to switch from SLGS to TR. I feel like Dallas could benefit from the switch. I wish we would have made the decision yesterday, so my boyfriend could watch him today with a dose increase, but after reading some posts about it we finally agreed last night that we should try it out. A little nervous as we both work full time Mon-Friday and both have unpredictable jobs, but I feel like this is when his auto feeder will come in handy. I'm not too sure when to start as I'm away for work and my boyfriend works Mon-Fri and will be gone for 7-8 hours. Would it be safe to start mid week or should we wait till next weekend so he can keep an eye on Dallas?

last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ake-sense-of-his-numbers.250983/#post-2831826
 
If you stay on SLGS and he doesn't get any green numbers between now and Tuesday he would be due for an increase on Wednesday anyway, I think. I would just take the plunge and start it, but it's all about how comfortable you are with it. With TR you need to stay on a dose for 6 cycles or three days to evaluate a dose, and that never overlaps neatly with a weekend so I'm not sure it matters whether it is now or next week. Tagging @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee to chime in here.
 
It's fine to switch methods whenever it's comfortable and convenient for you.

FWIW, I was Gabby's solo caregiver. I work a full time job. I likely had more flexibility than you -- well, that and I live within 15-20 min of my office which made a lunch time run home easy if necessary. One of the things I have much consideration to was shot time. Gabby had an early onset and nadir. As a result, my shot time was at 5:00. It gave me time in the morning to be attentive to her numbers and get a few tests in before I left the house. If I needed to schedule a late meeting, it was at 5 or 6 so I could run home, test, feed, and shoot and go back to the office.

You may also want to consider the 5-compartment version of a timed feeder. It will give you more flexibility than the 2-compartment version.
 
It's fine to switch methods whenever it's comfortable and convenient for you.

FWIW, I was Gabby's solo caregiver. I work a full time job. I likely had more flexibility than you -- well, that and I live within 15-20 min of my office which made a lunch time run home easy if necessary. One of the things I have much consideration to was shot time. Gabby had an early onset and nadir. As a result, my shot time was at 5:00. It gave me time in the morning to be attentive to her numbers and get a few tests in before I left the house. If I needed to schedule a late meeting, it was at 5 or 6 so I could run home, test, feed, and shoot and go back to the office.

You may also want to consider the 5-compartment version of a timed feeder. It will give you more flexibility than the 2-compartment version.
The only thing I'm worried about is that he is unpredictable. I see no pattern on his SS. We give insulin and somedays it goes down very slowly, somedays he gets a perfect bowl like shape throughout the day and somedays his BG goes up.

What are your thoughts on the Freestyle Libre? We have a 2 day camping trip booked for the end of August and I was thinking if we use it just for those 2 days my mom, who will be taking care of him could just scan it and keep us updated on his number (she is unable to test). We do have a pet sitter booked to come in and check/poke at 6:30am and 6:30pm.

I haven't been able to find a 5-compartment auto feeder that comes with icepacks, but I will keep looking! The one we have now came with an ice pack to keep his food fresh.
 
I never used the 5-compartment version so I don't know if you could fit an ice pack (or even ice cubes in a baggie) underneath.

The Libre would likely need to be on for 2 weeks which wouldn't be a problem. It's way expensive for just 2 days of testing (the sensor costs about $60) and it's glued in place for 2 weeks.
 
I never used the 5-compartment version so I don't know if you could fit an ice pack (or even ice cubes in a baggie) underneath.

The Libre would likely need to be on for 2 weeks which wouldn't be a problem. It's way expensive for just 2 days of testing (the sensor costs about $60) and it's glued in place for 2 weeks.
I'm just going to buy another auto feeder like the one he has, that way we can leave 4 meals if need be :)

Do you know if the Libre is accurate enough that if the pet sitter isn't successful checking he could just go by that number and shoot?
 
There is a discussion of the early version of the Libre in the Think Tank forum. I think for your purposes, it will be fine. The biggest headache is that some cats are not amused and will decide to remove it.

If it's any consolation, Gabby would NOT (and I do mean that in capital letters) allow anyone except me to test her. The first time a feline specialist vet tech who was my cat sitter attempted to test her she growled. It happened that the vet from the practice lived a couple of blocks away and they both came the next time. Gabby lost bladder and bowel control and they gave up. Needless to say, I opted to not torture my cat (well, especially since a different cat sitter refused to come back because she thought my cat would kill her or at least rip her arm off). I had wonderful cat sitters thereafter but I reduced Gabby's dose and they didn't test. She was OK with them giving her a shot because she had her head in her food but testing was an entirely different story. My point -- you could always drop the dose if the Libre stops working.
 
There is a discussion of the early version of the Libre in the Think Tank forum. I think for your purposes, it will be fine. The biggest headache is that some cats are not amused and will decide to remove it.

If it's any consolation, Gabby would NOT (and I do mean that in capital letters) allow anyone except me to test her. The first time a feline specialist vet tech who was my cat sitter attempted to test her she growled. It happened that the vet from the practice lived a couple of blocks away and they both came the next time. Gabby lost bladder and bowel control and they gave up. Needless to say, I opted to not torture my cat (well, especially since a different cat sitter refused to come back because she thought my cat would kill her or at least rip her arm off). I had wonderful cat sitters thereafter but I reduced Gabby's dose and they didn't test. She was OK with them giving her a shot because she had her head in her food but testing was an entirely different story. My point -- you could always drop the dose if the Libre stops working.
That's what I'm afraid of too. We're meeting the pet sitter the weekend before we head out to see if Dallas will allow him to test. Dallas is an absolute nightmare at the vet. We have to give him Gabapentin before each appointment, but he is the sweetest boy at home. Anytime he see's us grab his testing supplies he'll go sit in his "testing spot" and wait. When we sit next to him, he'll lay down because he knows it's testing time. But when it comes to a stranger testing, it could be a different story.
 
The Libre comes in two versions: the Libre 14-day and the Libre2. There are one-time coupons on the Freestyle Libre site to get either version for free. The Libre 14 day has had some accuracy issues, but is only $35 and you can scan with a smartphone. Because you have sitters coming you can't use an iPhone because it can only be linked to one phone and you'd need to get the Reader to scan and that is a bit more expensive, about $65 the last time I checked. The Libre 2 is more accurate but it's about $75 and you can only scan it using a standalone reader. There are lots of good condo about the Libre on Think Tank.

I like using it but Ruby does not like it stuck to her. I applied it myself this last time after the vet shaved a good clean patch on her neck and put a Kitty Kollar over it to protect it from getting kicked or scratched off.

I'm having a vet tech come tomorrow to test Ruby while I am at work. He's come in the past to give her fluids and she is really afraid of him so we shall see how that goes!
 
The Libre comes in two versions: the Libre 14-day and the Libre2. There are one-time coupons on the Freestyle Libre site to get either version for free. The Libre 14 day has had some accuracy issues, but is only $35 and you can scan with a smartphone. Because you have sitters coming you can't use an iPhone because it can only be linked to one phone and you'd need to get the Reader to scan and that is a bit more expensive, about $65 the last time I checked. The Libre 2 is more accurate but it's about $75 and you can only scan it using a standalone reader. There are lots of good condo about the Libre on Think Tank.

I like using it but Ruby does not like it stuck to her. I applied it myself this last time after the vet shaved a good clean patch on her neck and put a Kitty Kollar over it to protect it from getting kicked or scratched off.

I'm having a vet tech come tomorrow to test Ruby while I am at work. He's come in the past to give her fluids and she is really afraid of him so we shall see how that goes!
I live in Canada, so those prices are most likely higher here lol. I was able to find a coupon for a free Libre for Canadian residents. I'm just waiting for the email (have been waiting awhile) and hopefully my pharmacy will accept it.

I wish I could find a vet tech to come check, but haven't had any luck. This pet sitter was recommended to me by a friend who has a diabetic kitty though.

Good luck tomorrow!!
 
I haven't been able to find a 5-compartment auto feeder that comes with icepacks, but I will keep looking! The one we have now came with an ice pack to keep his food fresh[/QUOTE



https://www.chewy.com/cat-mate-c500-digital-5-meal/dp/154
555

It comes with 2 ice packs and you can buy replacement packs
upload_2021-8-8_13-35-25-jpeg.62097
 
Last edited:
Oh shoot I just realized I signed up for a free meter not a free Libre lol. Not sure if it's offered for Canadian residents.
 
@Roxy450 lives in Montreal and she has a Libre on her kitty Money right now. Maybe she can tell you about costs but she's not on often.
Sorry guys I know I haven’t been on in a while ..!!! I do have the libre and unfortunetly I have not been able to find a coupon for the libre and trust ne I looked !!! Lolol !!! In Montréal I have called every pharmacy Costco … and the price is 115$With tax for 14days !!! Not cheap but I think it would be sooo handy for u since u work and are switching over to TR ! The good thing about it is as long as u scan every 8hrs it’s able to show u her graph of rates in between time so I would know how she is doing during the time ur not home and even at night … !!!also the coupon u got is for the monitor which is free so when u go in the pharmacie the will give it to u for free when u ours have the libre . I install at home .. just shave a patch ( I do mine on her side after shoulder blade ) disinfect , and I also add a couple of drops of glue for extra hold ! And I also put I t-shirt on for extra protection !!there are plenty of videos on YouTube that explain how to install … it’s pretty simple ! Only down side is if removed or installed incorrectly the devise is no longer good ! I contacted libre and they do offer a replacement but takes 2 weeks for delievery. @Dallas boy
 
Last edited:
Back
Top