8/7 Tableau first shot given PMPS 267 +1 250 +2 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Tableau's first shot of Lantus was administered this evening, and although I've read the sticky's repeatedly, I still have a couple of questions.

His PMPS was 267. Gave him 1 unit (although the dr. prescribed 2). +1 is 250.

It may have been a fur shot, as it's been years since I've done this. Guess time will tell. I'm a little concerned about monitoring...tomorrow I won't be able to come home and test during the day, so I will only do a preshot and then shoot him and leave for work and will not be back for about 10 hours. Concerned...But, since there is a cumulative effect and this is only going to be the 2nd shot, will it take a couple days for the numbers to really change?

I know when I used to get PZI I had to roll the vial before administering. I didn't see any directions indicating I need to do this with the Lantus. Do I?

THanks so much. I will be checking him again @+2 and +3 tonight, although if anyone thinks this isn't necessary as it's the first night, let me know.

I will do a spreadsheet. I've had trouble getting the one from Google dos, but will keep trying.

THanks so much!
 
Re: 8/7 Tableau first shot given

Good evening!! Glad you shot the 1u. FIrst, we do not roll lantus...neither the vial nor the pens.

Is there any way at all to get a +1 tomorrow? Can you move his shot time back a little so you can get a test before you leave? You can move the shot back in one-30 minute period per day or two 15-minute periods (one in am and one in pm). So if you shot at 7 tonight, you could shoot at 6:30 tomorrow morning and tomorrow night.

Theoretically, yes, it should take a few cycles for him to fill his shed...esp if you gave a fur shot tonight.
 
Re: 8/7 Tableau first shot given

Yes, I could get a +1 in the morning. Here's a question - are you rigid about shooting every 12 hours exactly? I was hoping I could should every 11-13 hours. Is this too much of a range? It's hard for me to be consistent every single day...

Thanks.
 
Re: 8/7 Tableau first shot given

Tableau' +2 is 220, so I think it wasn't a fur shot. Yeah.
 
Re: 8/7 Tableau first shot given

Lantus does best for your kitty if you shoot the 12s....if you start hopping around, you'll have problems. An early shot in Lantus is like giving a dose increase and a late shot is a reduction so if you shoot at +11 one day and +13 another, it's like you are giving different doses all the time....not the best way to work this insulin.

It's best to find the time that you can stick the closest to every 12 hours.
 
Re: 8/7 Tableau first shot given

If it's feasible for you to try to shoot within +30 minutes, that would be best. An hour early could be problematic -- an early shot can act like a dose increase. In addition, if you shift the time, your next shot needs to be 12 hours from your previous shot (although you could make up 30 min. the next shot).

Google docs has been cranky lately. See if this version will work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top