8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128; +4=69; +5=98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
8/6 condo

Good Tuesday Morning LL,

I'm gonna say it, I really don't like these pretty blue pre-shots in the AM! UGH! Where's the big chicken icon!?!?! I should be super happy to see these numbers, but man, oh man...ANXIETY is NOT my friend. :sad:

Last night, I finally decided that I would NOT come home today to check on her...give myself a taste of what was to come. Well, I'll most likely run home after our faculty meeting. ugh! Ok, off to get ready for work...although, I'd rather just stay here on my couch with my furry girl.

Best wishes to the rest of you in LL!

Deborah & blue pre-shot Shasta

AMPS=166
+1=202
+4.75=53
+5=50
+5.25=52
+5.5=65
+11=265
PMPS=264
+2=182
+3=128
+4=69
+4.5=76
+5=98
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166

That's a very nice AMPS to start your day with, Shasta.

I know what you mean. I'd rather J.D. show me his lower numbers at night time, when I can stay up all night with him, and go to work tired but worry free.

Have a good day, you two.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166; +1=202

Thank you! Her numbers look a lot like yesterday...it's just those blank spots on her SS that worry me! :YMSIGH:

Time to put on my big girl pants and go to work. Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166; +1=202

Hi guys .. I know it's hard leaving our kitties, especially with these "lower" numbers .. but shasta will be ok, you have to keep telling yourself that .. hang in there!!
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166; +1=202

It is hard to leave, that's for sure. Is Shasta using the feeder? Does she free feed pretty well? You can also leave several bowls out with food in various places. Try not to worry too much. (yeah, right :roll: )
Liz
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166; +1=202

Well, this isn't working out very well. Need advice...

I leave out food, she kind of nibbles on some, doesn't nibble on others. She sleeps through the day (duh!) and doesn't get her lazy hiney up to eat when she needs. Should I shoot low in the mornings? or should I leave out small portions mid-carbs (13%)?

Today is the last day I can run home during lunch and I came home to a BG of 53, that dropped to 50 in 20 minutes time. I broke out the 13% carbs and she scarfed it down like she hasn't eaten in weeks...she loves Friskies, btw! About to test again.

Any suggestions or advice? I know I ought to be sticking with the Strict Protocol, but the last thing I want to do is come home to a dead cat. :cry:

Thank you!
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

Hi,
50 is a magic number.
That's a dose reduction. Maybe Shasta is just giving you a present .

Make sure the others agree in case I'm incorrect. :?

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Sounds like good timing to me?! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

Well, and not to be overly technical but it's BELOW 50 that's dose reduction territory. You could argue that you were working to keep the numbers up but, as you aptly point out, Shasta is a smidge past the first year of her diagnosis.

Dyana had mentioned in someone else's condo that she leaves food all around the house. What would happen if you left food closer to where Shasta is snoozing?
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

That's right, I leave a bowl with some food in it in the normal feeding area, and some more next to the places where J.D. lays, because he too will just sleep away the day (lucky kitty), so I'll leave some in his automatic feeder, some by his bed by the sliding glass door, and some in the bedroom close to where he likes to lay beside the bed. If I'm really worried, I'll add a dollop (1 teaspoon) of MC on top, or at least some crumbled up freeze dried chicken or salmon on top of the food to encourage the eating of the food.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

Shasta's safety has to come first. One suggestion I have is to ease up on the dose for a bit, while you figure out the food situation and what she'll eat, where and out of what, while you're at school.
Liz
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

I left tons of food out for her today. For breakfast she had some 6% tuna; didn't eat it all, so I just added some more and left it for a snack. I left her some 6% tuna in the kitchen, 5% chicken in the bedroom (which is where she naps while I'm gone and I never leave food in there, but she ate it...and still dropped.) I left her some 3% & 2%, but she never got to those by the time I got home and broke out the 13% Friskies Turkey. My house is super tiny...not too many places to leave food. :roll:

If I need to start adding the 13% to her food, I will. She LOVES it, but I just don't want to bump her up so high on carbs that she'll never come down out of the stratosphere.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta AMPS=166 +1=202 +4.75=53 +5=50 +5.25=52 +5.5=

How about trying some 8% or 10%? Wellness Core chicken, liver, turkey is 8% and their beef, venison is 10%; turkey/duck is 11%.

I've had really good luck. If Gracie is taking a freight train down and I give her the 11%, it stops her but it does not bump her way up. I do have a 10% that not only stops her but will send her up if she's too low. I wouldn't recommend it. But you might try those Wellness Core flavors above. You do not want the Core Indoor Cat one...it's about 23% carbs and the fish one is 13%.

Or....as Liz said, you can take the dose down a smidge.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128;

I'll pick up some wellness core tomorrow. In the meantime, I'll continue shooting on the low side in the mornings and adding a teaspoon of the 13% to her snacks. Of course, she couldn't do this a few weeks ago when I was home all day doing nothing. :roll:

Thanks everyone for the advice and help! Now, if only you all lived near by and could stop by every day to check in on my little snotty cat!! :smile:
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128;

Deborah & Shasta said:
I'll continue shooting on the low side in the mornings. Now, if only you all lived near by and could stop by every day to check in on my little snotty cat!! :smile:

I'm not sure shooting that skinny in the morning is getting you anywhere. It certainly didn't today. When you shoot a reduced dose, it's most likely going to affect a subsequent cycle, not the one you are on. And we don't normally recommend that you shoot two different doses.

Why not try .75sk all the time....both cycles? Or even f.5u and see what it does? But, truly, I wouldn't shoot a skinny in the morning and a flat .75 at night......IMHO.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128;

I agree with Marje. Shooting different doses in the AM and PM usually results in really wonky numbers.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128; +4=69

ohmygod_smile That makes sense. I'll try .75 sk / f.5u on both shots.

I wonder how much of this is being affected by the new syringes; Relion w/ half markings vs. Ulticare w/o half markings, but they slide so much better and I could expel excess drop by drop. hmmm.
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128; +4=69

I just started using Terumos from American Diabetes Wholesale and, overall, they are the best syringes I've used which includes Relion, BD, Walgreens, Monoject, and I ordered the UltiCare, took one look at how bizarrely they were marked, and sent them back. The Terumos glide like a dream.

terumo-thinpro-insulin-syringe_5891.htm
 
Re: 8/7 Shasta PMPS=264; +2=182; +3=128; +4=69

OH! Those look nice! :smile: I will order some asap! :-D

Thank you for all of your help...every day and every night for every bounce, highs and lows, eating issues, syringe problems, etc.! LL is a wonderful place to be!!!

Tomorrow is the official first day of school. It's funny to say that I am more worried about my cat's well-being versus a new flock of high schoolers! :lol:

Good night, all! and thank you again!

Sleepy Deborah and Snoring Shasta!
 
i've used the terumos for a long time - in fact, almost the entire 20 months that punkin's been on insulin. i really like them and you can get them with 1/2 unit markings and they also glide nicely.

enjoy your first day back at school tomorrow! i work in an elementary and go back 8/29, which will be here before we know it. have fun with your new students.

oh - if shasta likes the mc, do you have a timed feeder that could open the mc at a particular time? perhaps that would help your situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top