8/7 Karamelle AMPS 241 +1 234 +2 266 +3 233 +4 222 +7 150 +9 110 +10 91 PMPS 97 +1 141 +4 112 +7 56 +9 80 +10 75 +11 67

JoM

Member Since 2023
8/6 Karamelle AMBG 77 +1 50 +3 201 +4 269 +9 420 PMPS 486 +3 364 +6 246 +9 149 +10 97 +11 268

Theres still something screwy going on. Not sure what to make of it really. Back in Dec/Jan she kept going below 50 and I kept lowering the dose till I was at 0.1. I took her into the vet and had a GI panel run along with blood work and urinalysis. Turned out her B12 was really low, but she also had a UTI. So with the antibiotics and starting the B12, everything returned to normal (her normal). She been on B12 ever since, once a month now. Last one was July 20.
Anyway fast forward to now, she had no shot yesterday morning again. The 3rd shot Ive skipped in the last 6 days. She shot up to 400's which was expected, I gave her the reduced shot last night and decided to check her at 3 hour intervals. Her PMPS last night was 486. At +3 she had already started to drop. After that the drop rate was quite a bit until at +10 she was at 97. I gave her some honey even tho she wasnt under 50 because I just didnt want her to drop there. And hour later shes at 268. I did expect a spike with the honey, but this one seems excessive. She was headed downward again at AMPS this morning (241). So I made the decision to reduce the dose to 0.75 and see what happens.
 
Last edited:
Oh wow, Karamelle really is keeping you on a rollercoaster ride.

I hope she flattens out a bit with more days of depot accumulated with shots around the lipomas!
Im trying my best to avoid those big lumps. Im sure I havent injected into them. Shes flat at the moment but we havent hit onset yet. We'll see what today brings. Problem is I have a standing appt on Fridays at 2pm and I go to my weekly grocery store run afterwards. Im usually gone from the house for a little under 2 hours. Not long but who knows what could happen in that time with whats going on lately. Im going to test every hour thru +5, then I probably wont get another test till +7.
 
Im trying my best to avoid those big lumps. Im sure I havent injected into them. Shes flat at the moment but we havent hit onset yet. We'll see what today brings. Problem is I have a standing appt on Fridays at 2pm and I go to my weekly grocery store run afterwards. Im usually gone from the house for a little under 2 hours. Not long but who knows what could happen in that time with whats going on lately. Im going to test every hour thru +5, then I probably wont get another test till +7.
I hope she'll stay good for you today - so far, so good since she seems to be pretty flat!
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
@Marje and Gracie are you around today? Or another helper? @Wendy&Neko ? I took a chance and reduced to 0.75 this morning because of the fast drop in the middle of the night last night. But even on 0.75, it appears to be falling. Im worried it will fall too low at PMPS. Im going to do a +10 to see whats happening. As you might be aware, she wont eat any of the high carb foods because none of them are pate, so Ive had to resort back to giving honey. Believe me I tried, but it was hit or miss whether, one, she would eat it, or enough if it, or whether it would actually bring the BG up. It was just too stressful trying to find something. The honey works for about an hour and a half. Although early this morning when I gave it at +10 it seemed to work longer. That was unusual tho. So there could be some other reason it jumped up like that. But now its coming down again. I guess Im wondering if it drops lower if I should just lower the dose, give honey or what? I certainly dont want it to go below 50 again if I can help it. And it may not. Its always hard to know when to intervene and when not to.
 
It's not uncommon for a cat to see a strong reaction in the cycle or two after a missed shot. Not sure I'd reduce again. The reduction down to 1.0 was definitely earned. Not so much to 0.75. But if you want to hang out at 0.75 units and give the depot time to rebuild, then decide what to do, that could work.

Can you get FirstMate foods near you? They have a lot of potato in them, are pate, and some of the flavours are over 20%.
 
It's not uncommon for a cat to see a strong reaction in the cycle or two after a missed shot. Not sure I'd reduce again. The reduction down to 1.0 was definitely earned. Not so much to 0.75. But if you want to hang out at 0.75 units and give the depot time to rebuild, then decide what to do, that could work.

Can you get FirstMate foods near you? They have a lot of potato in them, are pate, and some of the flavours are over 20%.
Ive been scouring the internet for some high carb smooth pates. This is great if she will eat it. I have to buy a whole case tho. They have them on Chewy. I found this when I did a search. Does this seem right? Ithought Id buy the chicken since she seems to like chicken the best. Thanks so much!

Carbohydrate and Caloric Breakdown
Users on Feline Diabetes Message Board agree that the estimated percentage of calories coming from carbohydrates varies by recipe: [1]
    • Canned Salmon: ~11.2% calories from carbs (~10%–12% dry matter)
    • Canned Tuna: ~17.1% calories from carbs
    • Canned Chicken: ~18.0% calories from carbs (~23.6% dry matter)
    • Canned Turkey: ~17.8% calories from carbs [1, 2]

      As far as the dose, ok, Ill try and stick with this one. She is still coming down. Was 91 at +10. I just hope it can hold out for another 2 hours. I think I will stick with the 0.75 dose for a bit. Unless she shoots up high and doesnt come down, I need a break. Its been a rough last few days.

      Thanks again.
To add, wow its expensive!! I cant find anywhere local to get a few cans. Nevermind I found one. I will go this weekend.
 
Last edited:
Ive been scouring the internet for some high carb smooth pates. This is great if she will eat it. I have to buy a whole case tho. They have them on Chewy. I found this when I did a search. Does this seem right? Ithought Id buy the chicken since she seems to like chicken the best. Thanks so much!

Carbohydrate and Caloric Breakdown
Users on Feline Diabetes Message Board agree that the estimated percentage of calories coming from carbohydrates varies by recipe: [1]
    • Canned Salmon: ~11.2% calories from carbs (~10%–12% dry matter)
    • Canned Tuna: ~17.1% calories from carbs
    • Canned Chicken: ~18.0% calories from carbs (~23.6% dry matter)
    • Canned Turkey: ~17.8% calories from carbs [1, 2]

      As far as the dose, ok, Ill try and stick with this one. She is still coming down. Was 91 at +10. I just hope it can hold out for another 2 hours. I think I will stick with the 0.75 dose for a bit. Unless she shoots up high and doesnt come down, I need a break. Its been a rough last few days.

      Thanks again.
To add, wow its expensive!! I cant find anywhere local to get a few cans. Nevermind I found one. I will go this weekend.
Sorry I missed you today and I won’t be around until later tomorrow. I’m glad Wendy was here to help you. It will be interesting to see what she does with 0.75u.

I hope you were able to get out today.
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Sorry I missed you today and I won’t be around until later tomorrow. I’m glad Wendy was here to help you. It will be interesting to see what she does with 0.75u.

I hope you were able to get out today.
I wish I could say I got to do something fun today. But no such luck. I missed my standing appointment and didn't make it to the grocery store like I normally do. My husband wasn't feeling well and he doesn't drive, so I took him to my urgent care. He had a regular Dr. but she seems to have retired and didn't tell anyone. So hopefully I can get some stuff done tomorrow. Have fun with the elephants.
 
I wish I could say I got to do something fun today. But no such luck. I missed my standing appointment and didn't make it to the grocery store like I normally do. My husband wasn't feeling well and he doesn't drive, so I took him to my urgent care. He had a regular Dr. but she seems to have retired and didn't tell anyone. So hopefully I can get some stuff done tomorrow. Have fun with the elephants.
I hope your husband is ok. 🫂🫂
 
  • Care
Reactions: JoM
I hope your husband is ok. 🫂🫂
I think so. He thought cutting back on his meds was a good idea. But it clearly wasn't. The Dr. was very insistent he take them all as prescribed and keep a record of his blood pressure and come back in two weeks for a fasting blood test. I think he will do as told. He had a stroke 4 years ago. He will be 81 this year.
 
I hope your husband feels better soon Jo! Sending you lots and lots of healing vines 🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃

And this might be too desperate but have you tried just putting the gravy part all over the pate? It’s where most of the carb is anyway. Or will she let you mix the HC with the LC at all as long as it remains pate consistency?
 
Back
Top