8/6 Xander AMPS 183 +2 116 +3 99 +4 118 +6 114 PMPS 134 +2 76

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Good morning! Last night didn't go very great even with the turkey introduced. He ended up getting very close to target though.
I brought his ondansetron back down this morning and introduced 30mg gaba for the first time. He just had a "big" 2nd and third offering (keep in mind big for Xander lol) now that the gaba has had time to start working so i'm hoping it is having an effect. Too early to tell but im hopeful this will help! 🤞

Also I weighed him last night and he is up another 2 oz despite taking his target down 10g. I'll give it another week or 2 to see if its just a fluctuation or not and likely reduce again.

Safe surfs!
 
It was much easier to feed him today and he got to his AM target. I'm just a little concerned as he is a bit sleepy and not his normal self, kind of spacey. He can walk fine and is purring when I pet him, but just less social and active and can't really pay attention to following a toy. Maybe over time he will adjust to the dose and be less sedated?
 
It was much easier to feed him today and he got to his AM target. I'm just a little concerned as he is a bit sleepy and not his normal self, kind of spacey. He can walk fine and is purring when I pet him, but just less social and active and can't really pay attention to following a toy. Maybe over time he will adjust to the dose and be less sedated?
So glad to hear the eating went better today!! I hope it continues 🤞

Sorry if I missed how you landed on the dose amount for the gaba, but any chance you could try at a lower amount and see how low the dose can go while still encouraging eating?
 
So glad to hear the eating went better today!! I hope it continues 🤞

Sorry if I missed how you landed on the dose amount for the gaba, but any chance you could try at a lower amount and see how low the dose can go while still encouraging eating?
I just spoke with the vets nurse. She says the vet said 30mg is on the low end for pain for his size so she wouldn't go lower. She also said that shes seen cats improve with the lethargy as they get used to the med. Hopefully tonight's dose doesn't make him too tired and he adjusts to it well.
 
His favorite is to make me sit on the floor, scoot his butt against me until he's totally surrounded by my leg, and lift his arm demanding chest rubs

20260806_181140.jpg
 
Back
Top