8/6 Tiger Amps 400

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-2-tiger-amps-381.292763/#post-3197924

I increased to 1u a couple days ago. Still can’t get his appetite right. He’s been extremely picky in what little he will eat. This is concerning even more so in that he doesn’t drink water separately, only in his food.
Today I put some appetite meds in his ear and he cries every hour or so for food. One extreme or the other. He has been getting cerenia and zofran all week too. He hasn’t slept at all today and has been a bit feisty and playful, which is good but unlike him too. Do the appetite meds (mirataz sp?) have these side effects, I wonder? I use very little of it since I have found it really over stimulates him using a full dose. Always a balancing act, isn’t it….

Hope everyone is having a great day!
 
I found the pill form of that appetite stimulant, mirtazapine, made my cat quite hyper and vocal. I tried mirataz with another cat and it didn’t seem to do that for her but she wasn’t feeling well and it didn’t work. Ondansetron for nausea was what she needed.
 
Hi Deb, I am sorry that eating is still such an issue for Tiger! Binie also got mirazapine in may. I used also very little and did not experience anything extreme but the first question of my vet was, if she already behaves "a bit psychotic". I asked what she means and she told me, that many cats get very vocal and be unusually active. So what you experience might be a side-effect. Hope everything normalizes soon and you all can get some rest! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Mirataz can definitely have the same side effects as the pill version. It just depends on how each cat reacts to it. If you give 1/8 of a 15 mg Mirtazapine pill thats 1.88mg. The strip of Mirataz is 2mg, but it can vary depending on how long you make the strip and how thick it is. Transdermal generally isnt as strong as the pills. Have you considered adding Buprenophine? Pancreatitis can be quite painful and if he isnt eating as well, that could be the issue.
 
1.0 units is still too low a dose, he hasn't earned a reduction to that level. Maybe he's not feeling as well because his blood sugars are high all the time. Keep on testing regularly for ketones.
 
Thanks everyone for confirming what I thought. He’s acting antsy and does a pitiful cry. It is finally starting to wear off a bit and he took a nap. The first time I used it, I did the recommended dose and he almost drove me crazy…I’ve only used it a few times and really just use a dab which is more than enough but I guess I used too much today.

1.0 units is still too low a dose, he hasn't earned a reduction to that level. Maybe he's not feeling as well because his blood sugars are high all the time. Keep on testing regularly for ketones.
I decided when he had the teeth pulled to lower his dose while that was going on and he still went under 90. He couldn’t eat his mc or HC food so there we were giving him syrup with those sore gums. I decided I would rather work the dose up than work down with reductions. I may have been wrong but I had to do what I thought was best for him. He has always been happy and playful when his numbers were high so I don’t think that is it. It seems like he his having a hard time adjusting to having no upper teeth to chew on. He eats pate grudgingly but has a hard time with the food he likes. He also has a problem with his bottom canines catching his lip since the uppers were taken out. Another he has to get used to and we have to watch. So it’s a process. We are upping his dose now that the gums are pretty much healed. His weight is down a bit from not eating normally too.
 
Thanks everyone for confirming what I thought. He’s acting antsy and does a pitiful cry. It is finally starting to wear off a bit and he took a nap. The first time I used it, I did the recommended dose and he almost drove me crazy…I’ve only used it a few times and really just use a dab which is more than enough but I guess I used too much today.


I decided when he had the teeth pulled to lower his dose while that was going on and he still went under 90. He couldn’t eat his mc or HC food so there we were giving him syrup with those sore gums. I decided I would rather work the dose up than work down with reductions. I may have been wrong but I had to do what I thought was best for him. He has always been happy and playful when his numbers were high so I don’t think that is it. It seems like he his having a hard time adjusting to having no upper teeth to chew on. He eats pate grudgingly but has a hard time with the food he likes. He also has a problem with his bottom canines catching his lip since the uppers were taken out. Another he has to get used to and we have to watch. So it’s a process. We are upping his dose now that the gums are pretty much healed. His weight is down a bit from not eating normally too.
Poor baby. Tiger is so sensitive to all the changes he’s had to adjust to. You’re so observant to every nuance of his behavior and feelings, Deb.
I’m always in awe at how you are able to adjust every nuance so skillfully for Tiger.
I hope he will quickly adjust so he eats better and will then feel better as a result.
Sending you and Tiger big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top