8/6 Hoot PMPS 215, +2/221, +5/185 Thanks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
8/5 Condo

AMPS - 183
+2 - 204
+4 - 179
PMPS - 182
+3.5 - 144

:mrgreen: Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)
We are hanging out at the Lagoon today. It's a beautiful day for it :-D Hoot is feeling frisky this morning dancing_cat
He hates when I have to poke him so much, he gets grumpy :-x (I don't blame him) But I try to tell him it's for his own good. He doesn't care :roll:
He hasn't hit below 50 but I'm sure thats because I'm keeping him up with food. Do I still keep him at this dose? He has to go below 50 one more time for a reducie. Just wondering? We are leaving for our trip Thursday until Tuesday and thinking his Bg will be elevated with all the stress of his 1st camping trip nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
So I'm just a little curious about his current dose. If you think it's ok, great, if not I'll reduce.I need somebody more experienced than me to help please ;-)
Sending ♥Vines♥ to all in need :YMHUG:
Thanks for all the visits yesterday!! I've been so busy getting ready for this trip I haven't been visiting much, Sorry!
Have a Great Day LL :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

Oh my heart is just breaking for Ann ♥♥♥
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

No dose advice from me, but wanted to bump it up! Hoot is looking lovely (or handsome) in these numbers :-D So where are you taking Hoot camping? and are there kitty playgounds? :-D

My heart is breaking for Ann too :sad:

Jane
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

Morning, No advise
just a bump Hoot will have fun, watch out for owls :lol:
have a good day
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

Here are my thoughts and other input would be appreciated.

Hoot is back from the Falls. We typically make it tougher for a kitty who's on a return visit. However, Hoot is still within a year of diagnosis which makes things less clear.

Ordinarily, to reduce the dose a cat would need to drop below 40 if we're making it tougher. Alternatively, if Hoot drops between 40 - 49 three times or is largely in green numbers for a week, that would also qualify for a reduction. So the question in my mind is if the tough love approach is what we need to implement.
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

Thanks Sienne, hopefully someone else will weigh in.
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

Cleo & Jane said:
No dose advice from me, but wanted to bump it up! Hoot is looking lovely (or handsome) in these numbers :-D So where are you taking Hoot camping? and are there kitty playgounds? :-D

My heart is breaking for Ann too :sad:

Jane

We are going to an Rv park on the river in Homosassa. It's our favorite place to go. We take our jon boat and fish some. It's also scallop season, but were not the best scallopers :lol: :lol:
Thanks for the bump Jane.
Have a good night!
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+.5/78,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose???

mtncat58 said:
Morning, No advise
just a bump Hoot will have fun, watch out for owls :lol:
have a good day

He's such a chicken, he probably won't ever come out of the trailer :lol: :lol:
Thanks for the bump and the visit!!
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose Advice Please!

Hi Pam, looks like Hoot is really keeping you busy. Your vacation sounds so nice, and I hope Hoot enjoys it and will come out of the trailor. I hope you get some more advise on your dose. Hoot, keep working that juice. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thanks for thinking of Maggie and me here and your kind message of condolence with her loss. It means a lot.
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot AMPS 62,+2/54,+3.5/59,+4/84 Dose Advice Please!

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Pam, looks like Hoot is really keeping you busy. Your vacation sounds so nice, and I hope Hoot enjoys it and will come out of the trailor. I hope you get some more advise on your dose. Hoot, keep working that juice. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thanks for thinking of Maggie and me here and your kind message of condolence with her loss. It means a lot.

(((Ann)))
Thanks for stopping by :-D It means alot you took the time today to visit us. I hope your heart starts to heal soon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot PMPS 215 Dose Advice Please!!??

I'm bumping my own condo. Was hoping for some more dosing advice ;-)
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot PMPS 215 Dose Advice Please!!??

I think I would stick with the 0.50 for a few more cycles.
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot PMPS 215 Dose Advice Please!!??

Sorry, I'm of no help, either...but Hoot is looking pretty good there!!
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot PMPS 215 Dose Advice Please!!??

He hasn't hit below 50 but I'm sure thats because I'm keeping him up with food. Do I still keep him at this dose?

This has me a little confused. He went below 50 on this dose in the a.m. cycle of 7/30.

But you then say:
He has to go below 50 one more time for a reducie

Does that mean you are waiting for him to go between 40-50 twice more on this dose or below 40 once? I see on the last dose, you held it until he dropped below 40 which tells me you were using the more aggressive methods of reduction (vs under 50 once for a newly dx cat).

I don't think he will be using the third method of a reduction soon (normal numbers for a week) but sometimes all of a sudden they pass LTS. Keep in mind that, if he hasn't been between 40-50 three times or below 40 once on a dose, you can also reduce if you are just having to constantly feed him and work to keep him out of the 30s.

If you weren't going on the trip, I'd be tempted to hold the dose until he drops between 40-50 twice more or below 40 once and,if he were my kitty, I'd hold the dose until the trip unless he earns a reduction between now and Thursday.

Because of the trip, I'd be asking myself how much time do I want to spend testing my kitty so he doesn't go too low? If you don't mind doing it instead of fishing, then I'd hold the dose. But if you want more time to do what you want while you are camping, you might want to reduce it while you are gone. Or....see what he does while you are traveling and if it doesn't go high like you expect, reduce.

Remember if you reduce him and he doesn't hold it, take him right back up.

Does that help? :-D
 
Re: 8/6 Hoot PMPS 215 Dose Advice Please!!??

Yes Marje, it does help.
I'm just obviously not sure of what the heck I'm doing. I thought that he had to go below 50, 3 times for a dose reduction, or once under 40, whatever came first. He has gone under 50 on this dose on 7/30 and he hit 50 on 8/2. I was counting the 50 on 8/2 which I shouldn't have (it isn't under 50) So I was thinking he had one more time under 50 to go. When I said he hasn't hit below 50...I meant today, sorry I didn't specify. Also is Hoot considered a newly Dx kitty, meaning does he have to go under 50 once or three times? You know he went into remission so fast I really didn't learn much last time I was here. It certainly is much more confusing this time around. And I guess I really don't know what it means to be aggressive the second time around. I really try hard to figure things out on my own, but the dosing thing has really got me confused. And if you keep your kitty above 50 with food, does that still count as above 50 and not below 50 when you know they would've gone below 50 without food @-) Did that make any sense? So I will take your advice and keep him on this dose until we leave and then reduce him. I really do want to do some fishing :lol: Thanks so much for your advice. It is really appreciated!!
 
You're welcome.

He is newly dx because he's been FD less than a year. Normally, newly dx cats get a reduction with one BG below 50. But, there are some newly dx cats that are not holding reductions so even though it hasn't been a year for them, they use three times between 40-50 or once below 40. As Sienne said, it's much more aggressive.

Also as she said, with kitties returning from the falls, we want to be aggressive and get them back. So I think it's ok if you use the more aggressive methods for reduction but don't shave. give the full .25u reduction.

I think the answer to your other question is knowing your cat. I know I can feed Gracies curve to keep her above 40 to a certain extent. But, if she's ready for a reduction, she will find a way to earn a reduction regardless of my feeding her to keep numbers up. I will take the hint. And if I'm working like a dog to keep the numbers up and am barely succeeding, I reduce.

Likewise, if I am feeding her normal food at 50 or even 45 and she comes up, I know she's not ready.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
You're welcome.

He is newly dx because he's been FD less than a year. Normally, newly dx cats get a reduction with one BG below 50. But, there are some newly dx cats that are not holding reductions so even though it hasn't been a year for them, they use three times between 40-50 or once below 40. As Sienne said, it's much more aggressive.

Also as she said, with kitties returning from the falls, we want to be aggressive and get them back. So I think it's ok if you use the more aggressive methods for reduction but don't shave. give the full .25u reduction.

I think the answer to your other question is knowing your cat. I know I can feed Gracies curve to keep her above 40 to a certain extent. But, if she's ready for a reduction, she will find a way to earn a reduction regardless of my feeding her to keep numbers up. I will take the hint. And if I'm working like a dog to keep the numbers up and am barely succeeding, I reduce.

Likewise, if I am feeding her normal food at 50 or even 45 and she comes up, I know she's not ready.

Thank you again!! That really clears up some confusion. You have been a great help :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top