? 8/6 Bubbas AMPS 364,+2 335,+4 300,+6 250, +8 298,+10 310,PMPS 317,+2 321-curve day

Good luck with the curve.
Any more puking since starting the cerenia?
Thank you!! I have a feeling I will probably have to increase his dose back up to 1.50 starting tomorrow. And nope! I only gave him 1/2 pill yesterday and no puking at all since! I haven’t given him any today tho. I am very weird about medication in general for myself, and especially for bubbas. So I’m not too hot in given him constant medication unless he needs it’s. No puking threw out the night or this morning which is a change! So I’m hoping that 1/2 the pill yesterday did the trick. I wonder of I can keep the pills and just give it to him if I notice he starts puking again.
 
Oh that's great that he hasn't puked today :cat:.
You're probably right on the increase but a cat needs as much insulin as s/he needs. I've been going up and down in dose with Cleo for awhile now and I can say that the amount of insulin in the syringe doesn't bother me as long as she's behaving her "normal" self.
Like I said yesterday I'm not too familiar with cerenia having only used it once for two days on my cat almost 2 years ago. Let's see what others say.
 
Oh that's great that he hasn't puked today :cat:.
You're probably right on the increase but a cat needs as much insulin as s/he needs. I've been going up and down in dose with Cleo for awhile now and I can say that the amount of insulin in the syringe doesn't bother me as long as she's behaving her "normal" self.
Like I said yesterday I'm not too familiar with cerenia having only used it once for two days on my cat almost 2 years ago. Let's see what others say.
Yeah it’s amazing! He’s been puking every day for about 2 weeks now, I’m so glad he’s having a break from that. And yeah, it’s like the 1.50 dropped him down to a scary number a week ago, that’s when I decreased to 1.25 , but 1.25 is too low and not really doing anything so I feel a little stuck
 
It's actually quite typical for a ney diagnosed kitty to go up and down in dose. Your job is to just follow the numbers to help the pancreas and get enough insulin so the body can use it properly. An oversimplifying way of looking at it but that is what helps me ;). (I'm a control freak type-A personality and this disease was not easy for me because I had to follow not lead o_O)
 
It's actually quite typical for a ney diagnosed kitty to go up and down in dose. Your job is to just follow the numbers to help the pancreas and get enough insulin so the body can use it properly. An oversimplifying way of looking at it but that is what helps me ;). (I'm a control freak type-A personality and this disease was not easy for me because I had to follow not lead o_O)
Yes I am trying to learn patients but I am the most not patient person on this planet lol so it’s been hard. I just want him to be regulated. I hope sometime soon he can start being in the 100-200 range constantly instead of this 300-400 range.
 
Thank you!! I have a feeling I will probably have to increase his dose back up to 1.50 starting tomorrow. And nope! I only gave him 1/2 pill yesterday and no puking at all since! I haven’t given him any today tho. I am very weird about medication in general for myself, and especially for bubbas. So I’m not too hot in given him constant medication unless he needs it’s. No puking threw out the night or this morning which is a change! So I’m hoping that 1/2 the pill yesterday did the trick. I wonder of I can keep the pills and just give it to him if I notice he starts puking again.
I keep the cerenia on hand for Jack and only use a dose or two as needed for him, so I would definitely keep them on hand for Bubbas. Gypsy generally gets at least 5 days when her stomach flares up. Both Jack & Gypsy are chubby monkeys so they get the 1/2 pill being 17 &15 pounds respectively. At 13.2 pounds, with a 16mg pill, my vet would have prescribed Bubbas 1/2 pill, not a whole, so I suggest speaking with them about why the high dose. Unless they felt the severity and duration of his vomiting warranted it.....I don't know the toxicology involved, just what my vet does, and how my cats react. I'm VERY happy Bubbas is doing better, and his numbers are looking better today too! :bighug:
 
I keep the cerenia on hand for Jack and only use a dose or two as needed for him, so I would definitely keep them on hand for Bubbas. Gypsy generally gets at least 5 days when her stomach flares up. Both Jack & Gypsy are chubby monkeys so they get the 1/2 pill being 17 &15 pounds respectively. At 13.2 pounds, with a 16mg pill, my vet would have prescribed Bubbas 1/2 pill, not a whole, so I suggest speaking with them about why the high dose. Unless they felt the severity and duration of his vomiting warranted it.....I don't know the toxicology involved, just what my vet does, and how my cats react. I'm VERY happy Bubbas is doing better, and his numbers are looking better today too! :bighug:


Honestly I just went with your advice on only giving him 1/2 the pill, it made more sense lol his vets are kind of idiots so at this point I don’t even pay attention to them. I’m going to start looking for another vet this week lol

and yeah his numbers have been in the 200’s the last 4 hours! Still not a good number but better than high 400’s! Def going to up his dose to 1.5 tomorrow at this rate.
 
Last edited:
Can anyone by chance tell me that these could be? I already suspected that he had feline dermatitis, on his back and stomach, but those sores from a couple weeks ago are completely gone. But now he’s getting bad sores on his sides and foot. I’m starting to get really really worried these aren’t just dermatitis scabs. At this point I’m debating on taking him to the ER. His vet appt isn’t until august 17th but I don’t think I should wait that long.I read that you could put coconut oil on the scabs, but I also heard to not. He’s also starting to limp on that leg where all the scabs are. :/

upload_2023-8-6_16-36-10.jpeg

upload_2023-8-6_16-36-26.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-6_16-36-10.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-6_16-36-10.jpeg
    58.3 KB · Views: 116
  • upload_2023-8-6_16-36-26.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-6_16-36-26.jpeg
    46.4 KB · Views: 121
Last edited:
+ 10 310 and PMPS 317. He puked :/ he was doing soo good not puking at all yesterday and for the majority of the day today. Gotta give him another 1/2 tablet of that Cerenia today :/
 
Back
Top