8/5 S'mores AMPS 263, PMPS 86(!); +14 135; +15 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and S'mores

Member Since 2011
S'mores just dropped like a rock with his PMPS. You can see all of my notes in the SS linked in the footer.

You'll see that I don't have any nadir numbers in the last week. I just don't have any way to be home during the day. I was planning on running full curves on Sat and Sun since we'll be home, but I was not expecting an 86 this evening (I retested just to make sure).

I have not given him his shot (normal time is 8 o'clock), and it seems like a bad idea given my very limited data set. I was planning to monitor him every hour this evening until I see the numbers comming back up.

Condo from 7/31
 
Re: 8/5 S'mores AMPS 263, PMPS 86(!)

yep, I agree, you don't yet have the data to shoot this. Will you be able to get any spot checks this weekend to get a better idea of what is going on in mid-cycle?
 
Re: 8/5 S'mores AMPS 263, PMPS 86(!); +14 135

Of course tonight he is not bleeding easily... I ended up giving up on the +13 measurement.

2hrs after his normal shot time he is at 135 still. Seems like an OK rise. I may get another measurement in before I go to sleep, we'll see.

I am planning on doing as many measurements as possible tomorrow and Sunday, so I'll start to get some idea of his curve. However, with this skipped shot, I expect he will be gyrating arround, and it will not be very representitive of his normal curve.

I just hope he is not through the roof tomorrow morning.

I know it's premature, but I can't help being excited that he dropped so quickly on a relatively low dose. I'm hoping that means that his body is ready and willing to make it's own insulin...
 
Re: 8/5 S'mores AMPS 263, PMPS 86(!); +14 135

The more data you're able to get, the more you'll understand what these numbers mean. One suggestion -- if work has to be a priority during the day, could you get some tests in during the PM cycle?
 
Re: 8/5 S'mores AMPS 263, PMPS 86(!); +14 135

Both parents work full days (and then some) and we have 2 very little kids as well, so it gets a bit crazy around here. We can definately get some +2's and +3's, and maybe even +4's in the PM cycle. We just on day 5 at home, so I'm still pretty bad at getting a good blood drop, and the couple times so far that I've tried to get the late shots have been complete failures. I make sure to get the reading, whatever it takes, for the PS's, but for the extra readings, if it's just not working, I've been letting it go. We're getting better fast, but there is a long way to go.

My plan was to use the weekends to get extra readings, and otherwise I'll need to be a bit more conservative than ideal. I just need to find a way to work with what I can get.
 
+15 is drifting up at 144, so I'm pretty happy with not shooting anything. I'm sure it will be some high number in the morning, but that's better than a hypo number now. Bed time.
 
hi sam - i haven't said welcome to lantus land yet!

i think you can take a break on testing tonight - if i understand correctly you didn't shoot tonight, right? if that's right, then you don't have to worry about s'mores going too low. catch a good night's sleep while you can.

the testing gets SO much easier. after about 2 weeks ears start bleeding a lot better and you'll be able to get blood every time. they grow more capillaries from being poked. in the meantime, if you want more ideas, post and ask and everyone will bombard you with ideas that have helped them. we've all been there. after a while they bleed from every poke and you'll say *whew*!

the reasons why we test pre-shot is to make sure that it's high enough to be safe to shoot. we test mid-cycle to make sure they don't get hypoglycemic. as you test more and record them on your spreadsheet you'll see patterns on how s'mores reacts to insulin begin to emerge.

nearly all dosing decisions on lantus are based upon the lowest number that a cat gets to in the cycle. so those mid-cycle tests are critical for determining if a dose is good or needs to be adjusted. since s'more was at 86 at shot time tonight, the question would come up - how low did he go today? that's why sienne was suggesting evening tests. i can only imagine how your house is with 2 little ones - been there, but not with a diabetic cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top