8/5 Punkin PMPS 163, +1 156, +2 164, +3 183, +4 218

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +4 218

Well here's how I see it. I made the choice to shoot and you guys were kind enough to stay with Punkin and I through this so having said that we two, Punkin and myself will do whatever you two tell us to do. She is getting a little po'd getting stuck so many times in a row, but she'll understand. She seems fine, maybe a little tired, it is after midnight here but by the time I get this long winded thing typed out it'll almost be time for another go round.


So I'm in the backseat on this ride, you're driving. You tell us
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

the thing is that even if tonight is a nonevent - which i kinda think it's gonna be and is a good thing! - you are gathering information which tells you how punkin's doing. each cat is so different and the more you learn how your own cat responds to insulin the better equipped you are for predicting the future.

having this is essential no matter what, so your loss of sleep is for a good cause.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

there's no way for us to know. that's the hard part.

if this were my punkin i'd be headed for bed, cuz he doesn't move. you can look at his spreadsheet. but marjorie's gracie, she moves and marjorie can't relax.

it's been 45 more minutes - why don't you test now and if it's not moved much call it a night? how does that sound?

and the reason we're putting it on you is because nobody wants the burden of making the wrong call on someone else's cat. we can tell you what we'd do, but speaking for myself, i don't know your cat and i don't want to make a mistake at your cat's expense. i'm sure you can appreciate that.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

Sounds good. I'd feel better about going to sleep knowing if Punkin is coming up. I'm sure PUnkin says "thanks, bean. It ain't your ears getting poked so much". cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

btw, neosporin ointment with pain relief is a blessing to kitter ears at the end of the day. it really heals them overnight - you might pick some up tomorrow to soothe her ears.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

I'm good with that, I'll do it in 13 minutes so well have a exact PMPS +4 be back in a juffy, sorry that should read jiffy
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

One last question before I go to thanking you both again. Why was it such a wild ride tonight? Why did she start out low and go high when it looks like she should have started out high and gone low then back up. Seems like her low part of her cycle was in the beginning? Didn't it seem strange?
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

hard to say. forgot to ask you if you fed her any food in the past 3 hours. i know you fed her with the shot - how about after?
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

sometimes you can get a weird curve if they are bouncing - so for example, if punkin went too low earlier today - if a cat's bg drops lower than it's been used to the liver can release a stored form of glucose. that sends the BG soaring, but it's a mechanism that would keep a cat alive if its BG dropped too low.

can be too high of a dose of insulin and you get an inverted curve like that.

all of it sorts out once you have more data. an experienced person can look at it and see what it occurs. i don't have enough experience to know - and really, without more test data i'm not sure anyone can just know.

what's your home/testing situation like normally? are you around during the day or is someone else around who can test, or are you gone during the days?

oh, and is punkin completely on low carb canned food?
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

I quit my job to take care of Punkin. I didn't much like it anyway.
All of Punkins food is low carb FF. I have the list of all the wet foods, when I go to the store they think I'm a cat food rep because of all the papers I carry. Since she was diagnosed with this 2 and a half weeks ago (bg 369 and showing all the pu/pd signs) I think I have that right, I've been with her. She's the only family I have. Spouse passed in 06 so it's just us.


Too much info huh?
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

I'm not one of those who can pick out exactly when an inverted curve is due to too much insulin but I dont think Punkin has an inverted curve. Punkin is still probably filling her shed to some extent. I think Julie may be right that Punkin is just reacting to some lower numbers than she is used to and so her liver has released counterregulatory hormones. It can do that on any numbers lower than it is used to...it doesn't have to be really low numbers. It can also be from a quick drop like my girl had today. If you look at her SS, you'll see she came down fast (new insulin, fairly new dose), surfed green all day, and is now bouncing and headed up.

One thing that is very important is a feeding schedule. Many of us feed minimeals at PS, +1, +2, +3. Some of us go a step further and front load those meals. For instance, Gracie gets 1.3 oz of food each cycle. I give her .25 oz at PS and +1 and then .2 oz at +2 and +3; she is frontloaded with food so at onset at +2 or +3, she's had a great deal of her calories. This is to help offset the quick drops. The only reason it didn't work today was because I had increased her dose thinking the insulin was ok, and when I realized it wasn't, I gave her new juice so she got a double whammy. But that's ok...we knew how to handle it.

Punkin needs to have food on board to work with the insulin or she can drop like crazy.

Glad this was a nonevent. You learned how to shoot a lower number and got in some good data.

If you have any questions, I'll be back in a few....I'm going to start shutting things down here and then I'll check in before I hit the sack. Great job, Jerry.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

not at all. i hear a lotta love for that girl! she's very, very lucky!!!! i feel the same way about my punkin!

it says that you're going to be able to manage her - which is super. that's my prime job right now too - some people have to juggle with their jobs and that's a little harder, although do-able.

about the testing - you do want to give her a low/no carb treat after testing her. i give boiled chicken - just cut it in little bits, like 1" or smaller, freeze most of it and keep some in your fridge for pokey treats. she'll take the testing a lot better if every time brings her a treat. some people use tuna flakes, i'm not sure what else. if you want ideas just ask - i just stick with the chicken.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

I'm so sorry for your loss, Jerry. It says alot about you that you quit your job to care for her. They really wrap themselves around our hearts. I'm getting ready to retire to be able to stay with Gracie more.

Good job tonight. Sleep well. See you tomorrow in LL.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

I'm going to cook her up a bunch of treats. The ones you can buy are off limits. OK, seeing that it so early I think I'll put her to bed and dig around under the counter and see if Johnny Walker is still living back there some where and make myself a drink. By the time I get wound down it'll be dawn.


Thanks again and sorry to have kept you up. Shooting that number scared me and I honestly just didn't know what to do.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

Jerry...no worries. We all do it for each other. We've been there; it's so wonderful to have someone go through it with you. I know one day you'll pay it forward.

Have a shot for me!!!! Good night.
 
Re: 8/5 Punkin PMPS 163 +3 183

you did everything exactly right. no worries. it won't always be nervewracking, promise!

punkin absolutely loves his boiled chicken. couldn't be easier. if i'm baking some, i do one plain for him - and with little treats it lasts for quite a while.

i'm off to bed too. don't forget to get some sleep - you get to keep track of her tomorrow too! good job tonight!
 
Hey Jerry- My Stella's nadir hits at 6, or 8. So, in the future when you have data...you can fall asleep and wake at Punkin's nadir. You definitely have to start filling in your PM. Someone told me that right off the bat as well.

Don't forget, don't answer on this condo...start a new topic for the new day and link this 'condo' at the top of your new day. Great job with Punkin! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top