8/5 Karamelle AMPS 464 +4 403 +8 294 PMPS 246 +3 153 +6 37 +7 128 +8 78 +9 86 +10 44 +11 100

Karamelle isn't too happy about being at the vet again. Right after I showed the Dr her lump I found one on the other side. I wonder if it has anything to do with the insulin injections. I give them in both those general areas. They are doing a fna and will send it out for a cytology if anything looks abnormal. Dr said they might be abcesses.
1000006149.jpg
 
So they did end up sending the samples to cytology, but the Dr. came out to talk to me and said he thinks they just lipomas. The slide showed fatty tissue. I asked about the location of the insulin shots moving forward and he did indeed say to make sure I dont inject into the lump, because the insulin will just get stuck in there. He suggested I just inject right in the middle below the nape of her neck, in between the lumps. Although so far I must have been missing the lumps as she built up quite the depot. The Dr. said the insulin would just get stuck in there but Im wondering if it would seep out. I will avoid them. Plus the other not so great news is they are here to stay and will probably get bigger, joy.
 
I'm really glad you were able to get her appointment so quickly and that it's nothing serious.

I think @Sara & Khloe had asked about a similar soft lump too, with the best guess being that it was insulin injection related.

We all try to rotate injection sites but unfortunately with enough time, it just builds up. We have to avoid scruff shots for Moonie for this reason too. I hope Karamelle's lumps stay put as is as much as possible, now that you're consciously avoiding them!
 
Hey Jo, Khloe’s lump fortunately went away after I avoided the area all together for a week or so. Hopefully Karamelle’s does the same! I moved to the sides and was eventually able to rotate the shoulders back in after the lump was completely gone. Now that I rotate all over, I haven’t noticed any lumps coming back.
Best of luck 🍀🍀🍀🍀
 
Hey Jo, Khloe’s lump fortunately went away after I avoided the area all together for a week or so. Hopefully Karamelle’s does the same! I moved to the sides and was eventually able to rotate the shoulders back in after the lump was completely gone. Now that I rotate all over, I haven’t noticed any lumps coming back.
Best of luck 🍀🍀🍀🍀
That's interesting!! How big was the lump? Karamelle 's are quite big and on either side. I've attached photos of my holding on to each lump, where they are located and what I do when I give insulin. I basically grab hold of the fur and part it, the pul up a bit an inject in that part area.
1000006151.jpg
1000006152.jpg
1000006153.jpg
1000006154.jpg
 
I'm really glad you were able to get her appointment so quickly and that it's nothing serious.

I think @Sara & Khloe had asked about a similar soft lump too, with the best guess being that it was insulin injection related.

We all try to rotate injection sites but unfortunately with enough time, it just builds up. We have to avoid scruff shots for Moonie for this reason too. I hope Karamelle's lumps stay put as is as much as possible, now that you're consciously avoiding them!
The vet was basically telling me to put the shot in the scruff. I think I will just work around the lumps. I can feel them, so just wont stick the needle near them.
 
That's interesting!! How big was the lump? Karamelle 's are quite big and on either side. I've attached photos of my holding on to each lump, where they are located and what I do when I give insulin. I basically grab hold of the fur and part it, the pul up a bit an inject in that part area. View attachment 79784View attachment 79785View attachment 79786View attachment 79787
I couldn’t see Khloe’s, I could only feel it. It was about as big as the circle in the photo below but wasn’t super thick just slightly raised compared to her lower back. The only example I can think of how it felt is a water balloon filled 1/4 full. Very squishy and that area was where I was rotating around to give insulin. Hopefully Karamelle is experiencing the same thing but glad you’re getting it checked out!
IMG_7963.jpeg
 
Karamelle isn't too happy about being at the vet again. Right after I showed the Dr her lump I found one on the other side. I wonder if it has anything to do with the insulin injections. I give them in both those general areas. They are doing a fna and will send it out for a cytology if anything looks abnormal. Dr said they might be abcesses. View attachment 79780
Sorry to hear they may not go away 😘
Yay for the empty depot, go Karamelle 🏄‍♂🌊🏄‍♀️
But I just have to say how gorgeous she is. It’s rare to see a full front shot of her face like this. Her coloring and markings are just stunning. Such a beauty 🐈‍⬛💕💞
 
I couldn’t see Khloe’s, I could only feel it. It was about as big as the circle in the photo below but wasn’t super thick just slightly raised compared to her lower back. The only example I can think of how it felt is a water balloon filled 1/4 full. Very squishy and that area was where I was rotating around to give insulin. Hopefully Karamelle is experiencing the same thing but glad you’re getting it checked out!
View attachment 79788
Thanks for the photo Sara. Wow that was a big area! Karamelle's is below the skin as well. I can sort of see the left one as you are looking down on her, its a bit raised. But the right one is much deeper. They feel soft, kind of like you describe. I hope Karamelle's disappear as well if I can figure out what im doing to have caused them in the first place.
 
Sorry to hear they may not go away 😘
Yay for the empty depot, go Karamelle 🏄‍♂🌊🏄‍♀️
But I just have to say how gorgeous she is. It’s rare to see a full front shot of her face like this. Her coloring and markings are just stunning. Such a beauty 🐈‍⬛💕💞
Thanks so much Staci. Karamelle definitely knows shes a good looking girl! Probably because I tell her all the time.
 
Thanks so much Seth. She certainly is very sweet. But being a tortie, her tortitude occasionally leaks out, usually around my other two females, who she doesnt like at all!
I am glad those are just lipomas and Gracie had a very small one. I haven’t seen them that size and I wonder if that has been an issue with her insulin. Thanks for posting the photos.

I am 😳 by her BGs last night. I would reduce her dose again this morning if you read this first. It really has me wondering about that lipoma and injecting somewhere else’s.

Sorry I didn’t check in yesterday but as soon as I got home from the zoo, my vet called and Livia (from visit day before) had WBCs but no bacteria in her urine so I had to take her right back over so they could do a cysto just to be sure. I was out early last night.
 
I am glad those are just lipomas and Gracie had a very small one. I haven’t seen them that size and I wonder if that has been an issue with her insulin. Thanks for posting the photos.

I am 😳 by her BGs last night. I would reduce her dose again this morning if you read this first. It really has me wondering about that lipoma and injecting somewhere else’s.

Sorry I didn’t check in yesterday but as soon as I got home from the zoo, my vet called and Livia (from visit day before) had WBCs but no bacteria in her urine so I had to take her right back over so they could do a cysto just to be sure. I was out early last night.
I hope Livia's cysto came back ok!
 
After rushing her over, they looked on ultrasound first and she didn’t have any urine so I have to have her there at 0730 tomorrow morning so they can try again.

I honestly think it was just a contaminated free catch as she has no symptoms. Our vet agrees but it’s best just to be sure.
Makes sense for peace of mind! Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow and please give Livia extra cuddles and treats for being such a good girl doing multiple trips :)
 
After rushing her over, they looked on ultrasound first and she didn’t have any urine so I have to have her there at 0730 tomorrow morning so they can try again.

I honestly think it was just a contaminated free catch as she has no symptoms. Our vet agrees but it’s best just to be sure.
Sending lots of good wishes and hope it's all fine and easy for sweet Livia! (and you too, Mom!) 💝 💝
 
Back
Top