8/5 Harley PMPS 453, +2.75/257 - suggestions please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
A nice number for Friday. Harley did fall last night but came right back up to nice numbers. I am keeping the dose the same and will wait for a second fall before I change.

Have a nice day

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49156
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135

I just read your condo from last night. Doesn't that 30 earn him a dosecrease? I mean 30 is right there next to 29 ...

Have a great day, both of you :-D
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135

Somehow I feel that I change dose too quickly. Yes, 30 should be a dose decrease but with Harley, it seems like he goes low, I lower the dose but he never recovers after the bounce and I go back up anyway. Does this make sense. This time, it's almost like I want to make sure that he really deserves the decrease.

He is such a strange little cat when it comes to FB. Wish he would have read the book and then follow it.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135

Harley and Pattie said:
He is such a strange little cat when it comes to FB. Wish he would have read the book and then follow it.

Pattie
I feel the same way with J.D. :roll: I don't think J.D. knows how to read and just can not pay attention in LTS.
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135

Harley! Whoa!

Dyana said:
Doesn't that 30 earn him a dosecrease? I mean 30 is right there next to 29 ...

I have not yet had ~O) ~O) ~O) and so am foggy, but agree with Dyana. 30 is very low. I don't think you have to wait for a repeat performance. I'm thinking shave the dose to a skinny 3.75 tonight...
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135

Great numbers for Harley last night and again this morning! I would probably decrease tonight as well, but you know your kitty.

Hope you have a great Friday Pattie!
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135, +2.5/308

Ok, so obviously Harley is in a bounce. Why would I not ride out the bounce at the 3.75 dose (wouldn't it get him over it quicker) and then lower it to the skinny 3.75 (or 3.5)? In my mind, you need a bit more insulin to ride it out.

Pat
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135, +2.5/308

I agree with Sandy. You need to skinny the dose. Harley told you that the 3.75u is too much insulin. It was a great catch last night but I really do wonder what Harley's numbers were at +6 -- could have been under 30.

Shooting the "old" dose to help Harley recover through the bounce is fine. Continuing to shoot a dose that dropped him into the 30s could be dangerous -- it's clearly too large of a dose. Remember, even for the long term FD cats, a number below 40 is an automatic dose reduction.
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135, +2.5/308

If Harley would listen to me and drop during the day, I could catch things much quicker, but nooooo. He waits until mom wants to sleep to do the drama thing.

Yes, Sienne, I agree that he dropped lower than the 30, and I will do the skinny 3.75 tonight. I was just posing a question about getting him over the bounce. My thought was - do the full 3.75 until he gets into the 200's (or a noticeable number that would be him getting out of the bounce) then go to the skinny 3.75.

Thank you for your help.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135, +2.5/308

I think the 3.75u this morninig will help him with the bounce. But I agree with Sienne is is clearly too much to continue right now, even once more.

You've made great progress with him Pattie - I think I remember you saying 3.75u was the lowest dose he''s had in quite a long time. It's definately out of "High Dose" territory. ..And he's become so sensitive to R .. That all makes me think the antibodies may be, for the most part, giving up the ghost.

He's just in a weird place right now...3.5u was not enough, 3.75u is too much. Hopefully it won't last too long. But in the mean time -break out that magnifying glass!

BTW - how are you doing with implementing a feeding plan? It could make a positive difference right about now. . .
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 135, +2.5/308

Today, the new schedule is ok. Of course I have not been home t be tempted to feed when he cries. Timed feeder is ok and I have set it for the times I will not be around. I'll see what happens over the weekend with that.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/5 Harley PMPS 453

Ouch!

He'll come back down.

Wasn't there a saying...something along the lines of - better a day high than an hour too low...
 
Harley has dropped 196 points in approx 3 hours. I do not want to go through another night like last night, so does anyone have any suggestions as to slowing down this drop?

Pattie
 
marjorie & gracie, michelle & mannie, and ann & tess all manage their cat's with changing medium or high carb food - you might want to ask if one of them can suggest something.
 
is he carb sensitive? I usually feed my guys a tsp or so to slow down the drop. I use regular lo carb. but if cat is not food sensitive, then go for a little higher carb
 
Gracie fell from 314 to 149 at +2. I gave her a few drops of honey in her regular LC food and retested in 30 and she dropped more. I finally got her to level off and then surf by giving her some MC (10%) and a drop of honey which is where I should have started. It does depend on how Harley reacts to carbs but I find it better to slow them down then it is to be fighting them all night. If he's carb sensitive...just give food that is higher carb than you normally do and then recheck. If he is not carb sensitive, you might want to add a little honey or karo.

I know Ann does the same with Tess and Michelle did with Mannie when he used to dive. Good luck Pattie.
 
Jeepers!

You've got some serious experienced advice from the moms of fast divers here. When I caught up on the latest posts I felt like the cavalry had arrived ! !
The couple times it happened to BK, I pretty much followed the "if it's early in the cycle feed HC, if it's later in the cycle feed LC " rule of thumb. Always 1 tsp at a time and then retest in 20-30 mins. Then it was lather,rinse,repeat.

ETA -BBL
 
I'm not sure how you feed Harley. I front load Gabby's cycle with food since she tend to be a fast, early drop kitty. I generally don't add higher carb until she's in lower ranges than where Harley is now. (Look at Gabby's SS from last night and tonight.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top